We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 994 helpful votes
“Not great.”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

First impressions were not good. The "welcome area" is a bit odd as nobody tells you to stop off here. No notice, no sign, no help. We drove in an open bus to the real reception through what seemed to us to be a sprawling mass. Big, spread out and a bit overpowering. Check in was fast and friendly. Our room was a surprise. No way was it anywhere near a 5 star room....not even a 3 star room. Old furniture, cold and old fashioned floor tiles a big old TV. The shower didn't work and then we had no hot water. The sink was blocked as well. I smelt must off our mattress and felt damp at night. The problem was clear on the 2nd day. The ceiling was totally covered in water, now dripping down. We were sleeping in a dangerous humid, mouldy atmosphere. Jitlada on reception was really good, apologetic and moved us to a much nicer room. It was a pity this had happened as it could have been avoided. The charge for internet is a rip off. 250 baht for 1 hour on your own laptop! Why do some hotels still believe that internet is an added luxury to be charged for? Why not charge then for the TV? After all this is more expensive to buy and to run. Guys...check out the blinds in the reception area. Have you seen the dirt and filth of the blinds? The mould and dirt at the ends of these? I did. And I also saw the chipped table tops, the scratches everywhere, the scratched floors and varnish. Where is your maintenance?? Labour is so, so cheap in Thailand.The Thai buffet was dreadful and a total waste of money. DON'T BOTHER. The food was tasteless, cold, stale and not a single chef cooking as the poster promised. Terrible. We stayed 9 days and the resort grew on us, but it has too many faults for us to return.
ps...I have sent 3 emails to this hotel with NO reply to date.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    1,027
    400
    149
    85
See reviews for
971
1,178
111
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was my second stay and it was as good as the first time. Common areas and rooms are tastefully decorated, breakfast plentiful with good variety, and all staff friendly, attentive, and professional.

Only drawback is that on both occassions check-in took around 30 mins and there were no queues. I think this is a long time to keep guests waiting especially when the bookings were made so many months in advance.

Price was reasonable and during my Feb 2010 stay there were many places to relax quietly.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Hilton Phucket Arcadia is a large resort with many buildings and swimming pools that is all and all pretty relaxing. The rooms are spacious but albeit sometimes tricky to navigate at night when trying to use the bathroom..there are steps everywhere. The rooms are a bit older and could use some modernizing as well (ie get rid of the box tv's and get a flat panel and redesign the room to suit the decade we are living in).

The breakfast buffet is nice but does not exactly rise to the level of 5 star hotel breakfast buffet as the selection is smaller and sometimes food runs out and you have to wait to refill the tray.

My positive points about the hotel is the hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating, They have a very organized tour pick up and drop off system and the hotel is really in the center of it all, and finally Karon Beach is right next door

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My stay: Jan 6 until Jan 10th 2011 (I am writing this on my last day on the property):

Let's start with the good things about the hotel:
1. Beautifully landscaped property....vast property and feels vast, does not have the claustrophobic feel of the Movenpick...another similarly large property that has been segmented in such a way to feel small...prefer the Hilton's use of the space
2. Great breakfast and Sunday brunch in the breakfast area (ordering breakfast in the room is altogether a different matter)
3. Housekeeping efficient, friendly and do a good job in cleaning the rooms
4. Andaman Lounge and lobby lounge great
5. Check-in was relatively quick
6. Quiet location in Karon, away from the hustle and bustle of Patong...if that is what you prefer....but in defense of Patong, the hustle and bustle is not nearly even half as bad as Bangkok...
7. Transport to and from the hotel is relatively straightforward, with good availability of taxis and tuk tuks on the beach road side of the hotel.
8. Great

Now the negative things about the hotel, and many of these relate to basic services:
1. Ordering breakfast in your room is a disaster...ordered tea and two days in a row they did not bring me tea bags, and the hot water was rather cold...not a great recipe for making tea...extremely stingy on the sugar as well, i guess they figure it is not good for me, or could be part of some cost saving measure...croissants were rather cold and crusty
2. In-room pay tv, was not working for the 5 days i was there, although I made numerous attempts to have this resolved...i was informed this was a problem hotel-wide, and that the outside company that they use could not resolve the problem
3. One of the only hotels in the world that I have stayed at where guests get charged for wi-fi in the lobby....with most hotels, this is a basic service, and guests only have to be worried about whether there is free internet/wifi in the rooms, but one often does not have to think about whether wi-fi/internet will be available for guest use free of charge in the lobby...think again, here u get charged for wifi in the lobby and internet use in the lobby (the rooms do not have wi-fi only internet cable). And the charges are quite expensive. And the chargeable wifi is slow.
4. The deluxe rooms in the best wing in the hotel, the Lotus wing look rather dated....I had a seaview deluxe room and it was much smaller than the internet pictures imply and rather dated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed here for Christmas Break and I was initially excited as it was in a different location to where I stayed in Phuket previously. I like the fact the Hilton is away from all the bustle and hustle of Patong and across the road from Karon Beach and minutes away from Kata Beach.

Being a Hilton Hotel I had expectations of the place. I felt that the staff on hand when i checked in where slow and rude - there was about 20 staff members standing around doing nothing. We had no assistance from the bell hop we had to drag our luggage to the check in desk.

Our room was not ready and to add insult to injury, we did not get the room we paid for in advance and requested. This was very disappointing as it was not a good start to the holiday especially after a long haul flight. We were advised the Hilton was at capacity. This in my opinion is not sufficient. If it was booked and confirmed prior arrival then the Hilton has an obligation to honour their promise to their customer.

One of the pools were under construction therefore disappointing, but nevertheless life continues. There are 3 pools in total, one with a slide for children, another wading type pool for Kids and the under construction pool was opened and completed a few days later was opened and full of kids, doesn't make sense at it has a bar near the pool - why not make one of the pools "adults only"? to cater for the mature clientele and people who want to have a drink?

The rooms were OK but compared to other Hiltons around the world it is very dated and the beds uncomfortable.

The breakfast was chaotic, there was no order and people everywhere, the hot food wasn't hot but warm and bland. There was a line up to get a table. In my opinion since the Hilton has a few restaurants they should have served breakfast in 2 different restaurants.

The whole experience was too much in terms of bad service and bad quality, I ended up changing hotels.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for couples, or business travels or hilton honours members. Families yes because it caters for that low - middle range customer who are easy to please.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank POLARBEAR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Set amongst 75 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and across the street from Karon Beach, this resort is the perfect place to chill out. Being diamond members, we were upgraded so perhaps our experience was different from those who have complained, but our room was very large, clean,and super-comfortable, and we loved the daily orchids that came with cleaning and turn-down service. The staff we encountered everywhere were very friendly, helpful, and respectful (like most Thais we have met). We enjoyed each of the restaurants, but especially Thai Thai. We never had problems getting a lounge at the pool (there are three pools, one of which is on two levels, so effectively there are four), and the beach is one of the best we have seen anywhere.
My only complaint would be about some of the guests there - you know those who let their children scream and run around in the executive lounge, or persist in having their cell phone loundly ringing - or whatever ghastly music announces their self-perceived importance every two minutes, while others are trying to relax over breakfast or an evening drink. Fortunately not too many. If one could only get rid of such boors, the place would be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novascotiakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Edwin&Jessica, Jakarta

although the resort is impressive, the rooms dont meet up with the expectations one has of the Hilton chain. The rooms are dated and the balcony s leave you in the dark at night. The breakfast area near the lobby reminds you of a cheap overcrowded average buffet. The breakfast area in the front however offers a beautiful view. Young kids will enjoy the hotel due to the kiddiesclub and the pools with slide. The hotel doesnt offer a private beach. The beachfront is separated from the hotel by a busy road.
We stayed at high season so rates went up. I would recommend the hotel if rates were more attractive.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Karon
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#18 Family Hotel in Karon
#22 Spa Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on the island’s west coast and offers a range of fun and relaxation options for parents and children alike. The resort sprawls over 75-acres landscaped gardens, right on the golden sands of Karon Beach. The resort is conveniently located to four world-class golf courses, elephant riding, scuba diving, ancient golden temples and an abundance of shopping areas. It is the place that you’d rather be with your family for next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Hotel Karon
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort And Spa
Phuket Hilton
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing