We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast buffet to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Ranked #33 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet to die for”
Reviewed June 30, 2009

This hotel is amazing by SE Asia standards. The room was quite large with very nice decor. Upon entering our room, the strong smell of essential oils would have been wonderful had I not been allergic...they place a scented burner in the room. After removing it and airing out the room, we were pleasantly suprised. We had a garden view with balcony and found we still had a view of the ocean so were glad we hadn't spent the extra $$ for ocean view. The bathroom was quite large and very nice excluding the worn bathtub that definately needed some updating. The toilet was unique as we spent quite a bit of time trying to figure out how to flush it as the knob was located on a wall, under shelf. This added to the charm however and gave us a story to tell.

The breakfast buffet, which was included, was absolutely amazing, the best I've ever had. It had table after table of fresh fruit, curries, pastries, eggs, fresh squeezed juice, etc., sure to please anyone no matter where they are from or like. We hit it just before it closed at 11:00 so we could skip lunch. The cafes located at the resort were a bit pricey but well worth it due to quality and convenience. We arrived just as the kitchen was closing the first night and they actually stayed open just to serve us which was quite nice.

This resort has three swimming pools, one that is in the sun with a diving board and deep end, and two other's that are shallower with water slides and a lot of shaded areas. One of the pools has a secluded back area for adults only which we found quite romantic and secluded.

The beach is incredible but you must cross a road to get to it. The hotel did provide a crossing guard to make the crossing a bit safer. But, due to the season, the seas were too high to swim in during our visit. Red flags were noticably posted up and down the beach which is a nice added precaution as there had been a drowning in the area recently.

The only downfall was the worn tub and the fact that the beach is located across the street but, even with that, I would definately recommend this motel. We were there off season so found it to be quiet and relaxing but I'm sure high season it is probably packed with people.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bk397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    1,040
    405
    156
    90
See reviews for
999
1,197
116
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Went to the Hilton in May 09, and decided to do it again in June.

There was a Hilton promotion of 1 nite free for each nite stayed, essentially 50% off their rate. I booked via hilton online and stayed 4 nites, and picked a deluxe room with breakfast for 2 for about 2400B per nite. I was offered a 199B upgrade to a deluxe plus room after making payment for my room, which I accepted.

Upon arrival and check-in, the reservations upgraded me for free to a Deluxe Plus room with seaview. One thing however, they got the 199B upgrade rate wrong (they wanted to bill me 798B per night, but that was easily sorted out).

The Deluxe plus with seaview room is large, with a extended balcony and comfortable sofa seating for 2. The bed was king sized with four bed posts that extended to the ceiling and hung with mosquito nets, a very nice touch. It came with plasma TV and welcome fruit, and daily newspapers. My room was on the 10th floor of the Lotus Wing. A bit of a walk to the restaurants, reception and beach, but it had a wonderful view of the Andaman sea.

One thing I noticed about this hotel is the air-condition is wonderfully cold. If you left a keycard in the slot (so the power will not turn off) and went out, when you come back from the hot and humid outdoors, the cold air in the room is wonderfully relaxing.

As a returning guest, they had the words WELCOME HOME stuck to the door upon arrival, which I thought was a very friendly touch.

My rate included the buffet breakfast, which was excellent. They had a fresh fruit station which blended all kinds of juices for you, and they had the regular egg stations, waffle stations, and various offerings of eggs, bacon, sasuages, cereal, fruit, breads and local fare.

I took up a muay thai boxing lesson at the hotel. Cost was 600B for a hour by a trainer that had been boxing since he was 7 (and boxed about 100 fights in Lumpini). Very affordable. I highly recommend this. He is at the fitness center.

One bad thing about this hotel is location. Its a 15min walk to the shops and restaurants on either kata or karon beach. A tutuk would want to rip you off for 150B for the extremely short journey, and a ride to Patong beach would cost about 250-350B depending on your negotiation skills.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

The traditional Thai service is well offered at the hotel. We were surrounded by willing and smiling local staff ready to assist. The staff in the restaurant and Bar were extremely nice and helpful. The housekeeping very polite and discreet. Nevertheless the amenities were very average and quite tired. We decided to stay as they were very accomodating of our daughter.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bdonholidayopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed for 5 days with our 2yr old which isn't normally relaxing for us, but this time round my husband & I actually did relax. This was due to the great facilities in the hotel especially for kids, the pools are magnificent, in parts it's quite shallow for the little ones and they provide little life jackets and toys for the kids around the pool. The weather was great even though it's low season we expected lots of rain but it we only had 1 light shower.
The only let down was we had arranged a hotel transfer but somehow the driver didn't show up so we ended up taking a metered taxi from the airport to the hotel. It cost THB 500 one way, whereas the hotel was gonna charge us THB1400, so it turned out to be in our favour. By the way the metered taxi don't actually have meteres in them, you still just negotiate the price. Taking a local taxi from Karon to airport cost us THB900. Still much cheaper than hotel rates.
The food is quite costly but we had the tex mex buffet one evening which cost THB850 ++ pp, but it was amazing food, so much choice, with desserts to die for and coffee & tea included. Needless to say we were stuffed. The breakfast buffet was also fantastic, lots of cooked food even sushi available for breakfast, anyone who complains about the breakfast is nuts!
We found the pizza restaurant & Two Chefs restaurant in Kata very good.
They did'nt charge extra for service & tax.
The kids club kept our little one entertained for a couple of hours every day, although if your child is younger than 4 yrs old a parent has to stay. There was plenty of games & toys, playstation, tv etc.
We loved our stay at this hotel, the staff were great, always friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watsoneast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Stayed here for 10 days. We were met by happy,smiling staff and this never changed for the whole of our stay. The staff were a credit to the Hilton brand. As we were in low season, there were not to many other guests and we virtually had the place to ourselves!
Rooms were big,we had a seaview and you get glorious sunsets over the Andaman Sea. Only had breakfast in the hotel which was fine, plenty of choice. Other meals we ate out as it was expensive to eat in. Great pool service, fresh fruit handed out from time to time, all in all an A1 holiday

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Very well located property - the beach in front of the property is absolutely awesome.....you practically need to just get out to access the beach and its awesome!

The property itself is huge - i dont even think we saw all parts of it, but the staff was very hospitable and courteous.

Fairly self sufficient property - good food options, great pool, away from the hustle bustle of Phuket but no real need to get out. If you looking for lots of variety to go out, then this is a bit far away from the action.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rbansal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This was a beautiful hotel and spa. There is really less to write more to see and experience... the food, the people...everything...
The rooms were fabulous especially facing the sea.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laxmilobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Karon
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#18 Family Hotel in Karon
#23 Spa Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on the island’s west coast and offers a range of fun and relaxation options for parents and children alike. The resort sprawls over 75-acres landscaped gardens, right on the golden sands of Karon Beach. The resort is conveniently located to four world-class golf courses, elephant riding, scuba diving, ancient golden temples and an abundance of shopping areas. It is the place that you’d rather be with your family for next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort And Spa
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Hotel Karon
Phuket Hilton
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing