We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay but consider the following facts ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #33 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay but consider the following facts ...”
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We normally choose a high quality 4/5 star boutique hotel as our perfect choice and this was not far off the mark. It's located just outside Karon (1.5/2 km) up the hill but you cannot walk along the road as it's far too dangerous as there is no footpath. The options are to take a tuk tuk or taxi and prices are officially 200 THB but try to haggle for 150 THB to Karon and 250 to 300 THB to Patong.

All villas are sea facing but not necessarily with a sea view. We paid the extra to get a sea view villa but we don't think you will be disappointed with just taking potluck. There are about 75 villas all blending into the leafy tranquil hillside. Our villa was 104 at the top of the hill hence easy access to the restaurant and transportation. The numerous steps to the pool and beach walkway provided some regular exercise for us. There is a tuk tuk shuttle run by the hotel for free if you are feeling lazy.

You can take the hotel walkway by the pool during daylight hours to Karon beach (10 mins) or the central roundabout a further 10/15 mins along the beach. There is a huge new hotel being built as you walk along the beach but this does not detract from the relative pleasantness of this quieter section of Karon beach.

Hotel breakfast is excellent in a great location - high quality fresh fruit and juices plus usual choice of western or Thai cooked breakfast, we could not fault this in any way - it's as good as it gets !

We did not have dinner in the hotel as a typical price of 700 BHT ++ price per person seems a lot without overpriced drinks. Our favourite place in Karon was the Papaya Thai restaurant and we paid on average 800 BHT for the full works including drinks for two! The Red Onion (recommended in the guide books) we felt was not as good (service without a smile, very busy and poor location) but similarly priced.

We visited the Simon Cabaret in Patong, we'd probably rate it as 7/10 for entertainment, 9/10 for costumes but most performers were quite poor though 3/10, 800BHT each, book in advance, 1 hr show.

For a bit of local adventure take the blue local bus to Phuket town which stops near the roundabout in Karon on request, every 30 mins, 30BHT each. The ‘Central Festival’ shopping centre (2km) just outside Phuket centre is worth a visit and the blue bus stops close by, it more refined and enjoyable then the touristy Patong shopping centres.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henrykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    361
    124
    52
    30
See reviews for
118
726
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

What a beautiful resort and location!

My husband and I stayed at the Centara Villas Phuket whilst on our honeymoon earlier this month. We loved the resort - from its location, to the service and the quality of the villas.

The resort itself is situated about 2km outside of Karon and made up of individual villas dotted around an incredibly lush and expansive tropical garden setting. As the resort is built on a steep incline, each villa has wonderful views out to the ocean and coastline. Moreover, the lush gardens mean that you can never see more than a small number of villas from your own.

The resort has two restaurants, one used for breakfast and dinner and with some of the most amazing ocean views you will ever see, and the second restaurant, near the pools, used for lunches.

The resort also has two pools - one sitting above the other, and connected by a beautiful waterfall. Although neither pool is particularly large (if you are after an Olympic sized pool, this is not the place for you!), we never found the pools crowded and always managed to find a deck chair as well. The resort also has private access to the beach below, so you can walk the 2 minute walk to the beach and swim in the ocean if you prefer.

Finally, the resort has a lovely spa, where both my husband and I indulged in massages. The location itself is fantastic - at the bottom of the resort, just sitting above the beach with the sound of the ocean waves breaking on the rocks below!

We stayed in a Deluxe Sea-facing Villa (312) and found the views of the ocean breathtaking! The villa itself was quite large, with an especially large 'nature'-type bathroom. My understanding is that the resort has been renovated in the last few years and the villas certainly seemed modern. Each villa has a tv, bar fridge (with 2 bottles of water replenished each day), and all the bathroom amenities you would need. Cupboard space and clothes hangers were a little limited, but not so much that it caused us any problems. Each villa also has a very large balcony facing out to the coast - we spent quite a lot of time on ours, reading, eating and relaxing.

We found the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful, although the language barrier was sometimes a problem. As we were honeymooners, we were surprised by a lovely bottle of champagne on our first evening at the resort. The second night they surprised us with a yummy cake! A few days later it happened to be my bithday and this time I was surprised by a lovely card and bottle of Italian wine. Very nice touches! We also loved that we could order anything off the lunch and dinner restaurants' menues and have the meals brought to our villa at no additional cost! Not to mention the free fruit that was given to all guests around the pool mid-afternoon.

A few people on this site have mentioned the distance to Karon. We really did not find this a problem at all. The resort has private access to the beach below and you can walk into Karon in no more than 10-15 minutes. Alternatively, free buses travel from the resort to Karon several times a day, and you can also order a tuk-tuk/taxi for no more than 200 baht each way. Similarly, Patong is probably about 5km away, with taxis costing 300 baht and the hotel also dropping hotel guests off several times a day in their bus. Although we often travelled to Patong or Karon for dinner and lunch, we were very happy not to be staying in either place. There were some lovely looking resorts in both spots, but we were thankful for the serenity and quiet of our resort, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to offer us complete quiet, and yet close enough to mean easy access to restaurants and shops.

All in all, a fantastic spot and one that I would thoroughly recommend to others. I am a little surprised by it's 4 star rating and would expect to see this climb to 4.5 over time. If you are looking for a resort in the middle of things, or are travelling with a large family, then this is probably not the spot for you. However, if you are looking for a quiet spot, or are on your honeymoon, this is definitely the spot for you! Should we return to Phuket, we will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AetMenvacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We were greeted to the resort with a cold coconut drink and a cool towel, which was much appreciated after the 40 min trip from the airport. Our ocean view room was situated in the middle of the resort which is built on a steep hill. Although there are a lot of stairs to negotiate, the resort has a free mini bus which comes to your room, is only a call away and no more than a five min wait.

The Centara Baht Bonanza would be great if you choose to eat at the hotel most nights. We put down 10,000 Baht and the hotel gave us 5,000 Baht. Although I did take it up I found myself trying to spend it as there are no refunds, so the ladies in the spa saw me for many massages and treatments (not that I can complain about that!). My hubbie and I are foodies and found ourselves going out every night for more authentic Thai meals mostly venturing out to Patong. As for the food in the resort, it was OK, catering for tourists, not bad just nothing to rave about.

We choose this resort with the knowlege that it is located between Karon and Patong, the resort has a free bus to Karon & Patong twice a day (I think it leaves at 10am & 5pm) but you need to find your own way back. A tuk tuk or taxi will cost 300bt from Patong or 200bt from Karon. Aways agree on your fare before you get in. The Resort also has preferred taxis and will arrange for a airconditioned, comfortable car from the hotel.

The pool area is small and the sunbeds do fill quickly, which can be annoying, also grab a pool towel if you decide to come back in the quiet of the afternoon as the towels are in short supply as I found none available at 5pm.

The gardens are lush and beautifully maintained, the views are spectacular from most villas. If you dont mind the stairs (who needs a gym?!) and enjoy a peaceful setting you may enjoy a stay at Centara Villas.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmyNoosa_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Southerner in Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My partner and I have just returned from two weeks at the Centara Villas. The hotel is situated between Karon and Patong beaches, which are both very busy, but the hotel's location - built into the side of a hill - is an oasis of calm and quiet. To be honest, if you are looking for a 24-hour party location this probably isn't the hotel for you. If however, you want a lovely location which is only a beach-walk or short taxi ride to the bars and shops of Karon, then the Centara Villas is ideal.

We had booked a spa villa for our stay and after 3 flights and 26 hours of travel we arrived at the hotel feeling quite tired. This was when we found there was a problem with our room; it wasn't ready and wouldn't be ready for a further two hours. In fact, it still wasn't ready more than three hours later. We were also told that we couldn't have a spa villa as they were all taken. At this point I was starting to feel a little fractious and I would have settled for a tent on the beach but the receptionist informed us that we were being upgraded to a pool villa for the whole 2 weeks, free of charge. Our room (405) was lovely with a great view of the sea.

As there aren't lots of nearby restaurants, we took advantage of the Baht Bonanza offer; this reduced the prices we paid for meals and drinks by about a third so it is well worth doing if you plan to eat and drink in the hotel. Speaking of food; try the mussaman curry; it comes in a coconut and tastes like heaven! The hotel restaurant is perched high on the hill with a great view of the Andaman Sea and Karon Beach.

Speaking of heaven, you really should try the spa in the hotel. It is fabulous. We were so impressed that we ended up having three treatments each. These were also covered by the Baht Bonanza, reducing the cost.

A lot of people have commented on the amount of steps at the hotel and it is true that they are hard work especially in the heat but the buggys are available whenever you want them and will take you to your door.

It was my birthday during our stay at the Centara, although we hadn't mentioned this to anyone. We went out for the day and I was quite surprised when we returned to find a bottle of bubbly in our room, along with a card from the hotel. What a lovely touch. I still don't know how they knew!

About half way through our stay, our air conditioning broke down. Within 15 mins of phoning up to reception someone came out to have look, and it was repaired within an hour. Things do sometimes go wrong, but I was impressed with how quickly the problem was resolved.

We pre-arranged a few trips before arriving in Thailand; we visited Phi-Phi with Simba tours and Phang-Nga and the Kai Islands with Phuket Sailtours. All of these were great, and well-worth doing. We had also arranged a trip to Krabi with JC Tours, but they didn't turn up on the day.

Checkout on departure day is 11 A.M. but as we were not being picked up until 3.15 P.M. we asked about keeping our room later. After asking a couple of times we were told we could keep the room until 2 P.M. at no further cost another nice touch from the Centara Villas.

So, in conclusion, my first impression of the service at the Centara Villas wasn't brilliant but during our stay they totally changed my opinion. I really liked this hotel and if I was returning to Phuket I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reaching_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Me and my partner were extremely happy with here, after being quite worried about some reviews.
The villa's are on a steep hillside, however there are golf buggy type vehicles to use. You simply call reception and they come. Longest wait we had was 5 minutes, so this shouldn't really be a problem. The positive of being on the hillside is the views you get, we had an excellent view of the ocean and Karon Beach (Room 201).
The villa was a decent side and had a nice area we could sit and enjoy the view outside. Bed was very big. It only had a shower which was a shame, i do like my baths to help cool the sun burn! It had a mini bar, but unfortunately they didn't fill it every day. It was actually a positive for me as i would spend most evening raiding it, so i suppose the hotel lost out on revenue here.
The pool area is surrounded by trees, which we though gave it plenty of character. It does means that its not great for sunbathing, but the beach is only 10 minutes away for that. We would spend the morning getting burnt at the beach, they the afternoon cooling ourselves by the pool.
The staff were excellent, and very helpful. Everyone always had a smile on their face, which does help make your stay better.
There is a place you can book activities which we used for elephant trekking, this is HIGHLY recommended........ very cool.
We didn't use them for Phi Phi Island as we thought it was too expensive, and used a street vendor to book with a company called Anaruk (very good).
Overall this was excellent, and i will be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knocker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Having stayed at the bottom of the hill we caught the tuk tuk everyday to the top ( we said we would walk but it was too hot and sweaty!) If you are not too clever on you feet then just call the taxi tuk tuk they are there in minutes. We had the basic room and whilst a little tired it was very pleasant. Spacious room with nice shower room.Not masses of draw and cupboard space but we did fit all our stuff in,we took a couple of coat hangers after reading about it on here. Mozzy nets around the bed. Aircon that didn't work too well ,but after phoning reception they sent somone immediately to fix it , then it was freezing !(adjustable though) Pools were beautiful. We spent our 1st 3 days by it ! Clean towels provided. The gardeners do a great job tending to lovely tropical plants. Yes leaves do fall in the pool , but hey its not too difficult to whip them out and put them in the flower bed. The pools were not huge and are not particularly child friendly , that said the whole complex gives very little to children (bar a corner of the lower pool) which caused mass annoyance to the elder sun worshippers. It is more suited to adults.

money stuff:-
The taxis to town are a bit pricey £8 return to Karon and £12 to Patong. As mentioned a path leads down to the beach which then will take you to town. 20-25 minute walk. that is unless you stop at "happy thailand .. woo -who" Kai's beach restaurant (which is a great place to help your pocket for daily lunch) 2 drinks and 2 tuna sandwiches cost £6 or "sam roy" in bhat.(300 bht)The food is really nice here,great atmosphere.
Food back at the villas is pricey. £10-£12 for lunch . Dinner was £30. Bottle of house wine £20 and close to £10 for 2 beers. All prices are advertised without the 7% government tax and a 10% service charge. (this annoyed me immensely) The bhat bonanza seems a good deal .. if you put £200 on the bhat bonanza card they put £100 on it . This helps bring the prices down but be warned it doesnt include happy hour or special rates at the massage spa (that caught us out) the massage cost £64 for both of us for 2hrs 15. It was very nice but it should be for that much. On the beach would be £3 -6.
Other things to note: 2 complimentary bottles of water are in the fridge daily (though they didn't mention it) if you don't use it they don't give you another 2 so we just filled up a plastic bottle and took that to the pool!. They also don't mind if you empty their drinks out the fridge and put your own in. can of coke 40p and beer at 60p or bottled water 40p for 2ltrs in the supermarkets.
In a normal bar beer £1.20 coke 60p and water was 40p.
We got a decent moped for £4 a day (cheaper than a return taxi to town)
A car is £20 a day. The roads are safe to drive on and drive on our uk side.
Low grade moped fuel was 30 bhat (60p) a litre.

the currency exchange at the hotel was 46bhat when we could get 51.2 to the £ in town.

We had a lovely stay at the villas , it is a peace and haven between 2 loudish towns.
beach sun beds are 100bhat £2 each or free if you eat at kai's.
The beach was clean and tout hassle free . if you are feeling energetic it takes about 1hr 40 without stopping to walk it (far end and back) we did it twice and fried in the sun! The sea was warm and great for snorkelling
and at 36 oc we came home with a lovely tan.

Hope i have not bombarded you with too much info , just think these are the things i would want to know...

Enjoy...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CLEMOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Hello

I just booked this accomadation for our honeymoon. I wanted to surprise my new wife with something different. There is only one negative thing to write about this place and that is the stairs. Although you can get a van to pick up and drop you off, there are a number of stairs that have to be navigated. This did not bother me but my wife struggled at first.

Now to all the positives, all villas are facing the oceon as they are all situated in the cliffs. Stunning views and complete privacy for each individual villa. There are various villas, some with private swimming pools which I did not know about before hand!

The restaurant is at the top of the villas and what a stunning viw whilst eating breakfast and dinner. The staff could not have been more friendly. Saturday night is all you can eat fish and meat on bbq and must not be missed!!

The swimming pool was excellent and there is a place to eat lunch. There is also a path to the beach approx 5 minutes.

We went to Karon once but found no need to leave the place again, why leave paradise! I would so recommend going as you will not get any better in Thailand but be prepared for a few stairs, honestly its worth it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
2.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#23 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush tropical greenery and overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea, the four-star Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway located steps away from the sweeping expanse of Phuket’s Karon Beach. Each romantic, private villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless and the quiet all-pervading. The minimum villa size is a generous 46 square metres and some come with the option of a plunge pool or a Jacuzzi. The large two-tiered swimming pool, with its fabulous ocean views and shady spots, is the epicentre of relaxation. For another form of relaxation, Spa Cenvaree is a refuge for the senses offering a choice of therapeutic treatments including traditional Ayurvedic methods and Thai foot and body massages. The resort also offers hands-on Thai cooking classes, and two restaurants and a bar that boast sublime ocean views. For those who wish to venture out of its oasis of serenity and tranquillity, the tour information desk will be delighted to arrange activities such as island-hopping, bungee jumping, and family treks. For a change of pace, a complimentary scheduled shuttle service connects the resort with the fabled nightspots of Patong and Karon. Centara Villas Phuket is just one hour's drive away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing