We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shockingly bad. Save your money and stay somewhere else!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Villas Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #30 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad. Save your money and stay somewhere else!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I write this whilst still in the hotel. I've stayed at 6 hotels in Thailand in the last 3 weeks and this is by far the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. I've stayed in hostels with better staff and service than this place.

The receptionist is absolutely vile, and obviously hates her job and takes it out on everyone she comes into contact with. Checking in takes more than an hour. If you ask them to arrange a taxi for you, the concierge will get a cut of the taxi rate. The food is terrible - quantities little, taste horrendous. The shower is weak and barely any hot water. The internet is super slow - and you have to pay for it! You're a good couple miles from karon beach so the location is pretty unhelpful too.

The floor manager has no control over his staff and if you have a complaint, rather than fixing it he can only 'apologise'. There's a limit to how long you can accept apologies before you expect them to rectify the situation.

If you plan to come here and have time to change your reservation, then do so! Absolutely useless place to throw your money at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Villas.
I am sorry to read of your disappointment.
We will work harder as a team to improve and hope one day you would return.
Safe Travels and thank you for your feedback
from the Centara Villas Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    354
    117
    49
    27
See reviews for
109
700
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
leicester England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for the second time in 2 years and again found the hotel and the staff very good .I cannot agree with some of the poor comments on this site re this hotel .The manageress is recently appointed yes, but absolutely a delight ,her customer focus is as good as many 5*hotels.Food was great with the service in the resturant and bars acceptable for this grade of hotel. The food and beverage manager Jee is a really nice chap and always wants to ensure you are made to feel welcome.
We used the spa 3 times in 4 days and I have to say this is one of the best Centara spas I have used .Nanug the spa manageress is great ,very welcoming and focused on her customers ,the Thai massage was really supurb (and I have ha many over the years)We will certainly be coming back to this resort in the next few years and hope that many of the same staff are still there. Yes a small hotel ,with one restaurant and a quaint foyer ,but an idealic location with clean rooms and a great homely welcome from a small team of dedicated staff .

Room Tip: Lower pool villas are without doubt best located.use Tuk Tuk for transportation to the restaurant it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
238 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have booked this resort for November 2013. We've sent emails to the management and also contacted them thru website regarding some requests and questions. We have not received any response at all to any of our mails. Especially reading the bad reviews on tripadvisor + seeing the unresponsiveness of the management is making me very scared about going here. I had not expected that such an expensive hotel will be so customer unfriendly. I urge the hotel to look into this as well as the recent bad reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for.8 nights .. Overall the place and view was very nice but the bedding sheets and shower curtains had stains around .. Also there was some ants in the bathroom ... We only had breakfast there which was not bad but we never had lunch there..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Farou7a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We cut short our 6 night stay at the Villas because our experience was not 4*.We picked a frontline villa with own pool.The location was perfect-just a small strip of grass then the sea and very private.
However on closer inspection the villa was in need of attention,grouting missing,shower curtain stained,a plug hanging from the wall socket and the pool looked dirty,small items but not in keeping with the Centara brand.The lobby was unappealing too,with no welcome drink and no fruit in our room.
The management team were most apologetic,apparently some villas have been renovated and the manager had only been there for a short time.The main reason we moved was on the second day when the gardeners took over 6 hours to cut half the grass using a strimmer.The peace and quiet was ruined.Once again the team were apologetic,but we were not prepared to keeping paying out for a poor service
Be aware that the hotel is quite isolated,next door hotel looks to be abandoned and the path to the beach is uneven and takes you through a neglected part covered with empty bottles and cans

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated one.Also,although built on the hillside,some views will be hidden by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobnarowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Centara Villas Karon for 10 days around 2 weeks ago. As we checked in around 10pm we were not greeted with a complimentary drink like we thought and had to carry our luggage ourselves to our room. We found the room to be quite basic, air con didn't work properly, fridge never kept drinks cool and bed was very uncomfortable. We stayed right at the top of the hill in room 104, which probably had the best views in the resort. The biggest disappointment was the dining experiences and food. We had room service one night and was the worst two meals we have both ever eaten, pizza had no topping and the casear salad was a hand full of lettuce, with minimal ingredients. The daily buffet breakfast had no variety and we had the same options every day. Staff were friendly most of the time but I had much higher expectations, they didn't seem to go that extra effort to meet your needs. I would still recommended Centara Villas due to the great location, views and lovely tropical surrounds that nestle the villas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great room and admenities ,am currently staying for 10 nights ,first day we had to ring 3 times to get our in room safe fixed as it wasnt working ,then spoke to reception the next morning to get some action on fixing the safe,we didnt want to carry our passports and valuables all over phuket for 10 days ,3 people looked at it before they believed it never worked.
The food is fantastic from the restaurants,but room service is a big gamble ,ordered our meal ,it arrived ok ,then 15 min later another meal arrived ,room service said we order it but we didnt ,therefore we signed for it ,1100 baht for nothing ,thus we wont be using room service or anymore villa services on our remaining 8 days . But the place looks awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzaroon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
0.6 mi away
Pacific Club Resort
Pacific Club Resort
#1 of 5 in Karon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#20 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing