We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our Thai vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #32 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great start to our Thai vacation!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

After traveling for over 24 hours to arrive in Phuket, Centara Villa is the perfect place to land. The hotel is located at the top of the hill overlooking Karon beach. Upon arriving we were welcomed with a refreshingly cold coconut drink and taken by tuk tuk to our villa. The villa was simple with small patio and well appointed bathroom. The room was clean and tidy, not that it mattered as we spent most of our time at the pool or the beach. Every morning we would enjoy the buffet breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the ocean. The buffet had a huge selection with a large variety of fruits, toasts, egg station as well as Thai and Western style breakfast options. Probably one of the best breakfast buffets we experienced during our month in Thailand. During the day we would lounge by the pool (which was empty...hardly anyone there) which was overlooking the ocean...it was fabulous. If we felt up to it, it was a very short walk (5-10 minutes) along a trail to the beach. The only slightly annoying thing was that the gate would be locked at 6pm and you would have to take a cab back to the hotel...though not that big of a deal. The staff were overall quite friendly and helpful....everyone always had a smile on their faces. We found Centara Villas to be one of the best places to relax and recover from the jet lag of long travel. We only ran into a small problem on our day of check out. We had missed the ferry to our next destination and were trying to inquire about taking a car/private taxi, when we asked the concierge we were told that all the taxis were booked and our only option was to see about spending another night and leaving in the morning. We chose to go down the tourist area by the beach and managed to find tourist agent who found us a taxi within an hour. It was a little disappointing that the hotel hadn't been able to make these arrangements for us. Overall we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend to friends!

Room Tip: We booked a day trip through the tour operator that works from the hotel, and were a disappointed, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the great review posted recently.
We appreciate the general recognition on the beautiful location of our resort, its proximity of one of the very best beach of Phuket, the friendly staff and best Breakfast buffet experienced during your month of holiday in Thailand. I have shared your appreciation with the staff.
We will review the time we lock the door to access the beach path keeping in mind the safety aspect of the resort.
It is disappointing to read the short fall of service on taxi booking, surely an area which needs improvement.
We all looking forward to welcoming you back soon and again thank you for recommending our resort.
Warmest regards,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    363
    124
    52
    30
See reviews for
119
727
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I along with five family members (inclusive of a 23 month old toddler) have just returned from a 6 night stay at Centara Villas and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The deluxe ocean facing villas we occupied (109, 115 and 116) offered stunning views of the Andaman Sea while the natural surroundings provided a level of privacy often lacking at many upscale resorts.

Our villas were spacious and clean with large bathrooms that allowed natural light to filter through. The villa balconies were a good size and provided a comfortable place to take in the natural beauty and sounds of the surrounding environment particularly in the early morning.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with a mix of Asian and Western options. We had dinner a number of times at the 'Cliff' restaurant and the staff were always accommodating particularly Khun Ti who was always attentive and consistently greeted us with the famously warm Thai smile.

As for the Cenvaree Spa, we all took advantage of the different treatments on offer on more than one occasion. The staff were extremely professional instilling a sense of tranquility after each visit. A special thanks to Ki, Nee and Nang for their kindness and professionalism.

Having been to Thailand on a number of occasions (1st time staying in Karon) my wife and I will certainly stay at Centara Villas in the future. A big thanks to all of the staff for making our stay a pleasant and memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We took great pleasure to look after your wife, yourself and 5 members of your family during your recent stay with us at Centara Villas Phuket.
We thank you for staying with us as well as for the great review posted April 03 including your appreciation for the staff who made your stay a memorable one.
Our mission has been accomplished, we are looking forward to make you experience more pleasant and memorable stays in the future.
Warmest regards,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Centara Villas is amazing. Most notably the grounds of the hotel. They're overflowing with lush foliage and beautiful flowers.

Pros:

1. The hotel is located at the top of a hill. It's pretty much secluded, which is nice if you're looking for that type of experience.

2. Villas themselves are spread apart and pretty secluded. There are some villas that are along the main path, like 112. I wouldn't personally want that one as people walk up and down and your deck is on the path. But the one we stayed in 307, was well isolated.

3. Breakfast is amazing. Great buffet, and a GORGEOUS view while you're eating.

4. A quick walk to Karon beach. They have a path to Karon beach that's a bit beat up, but easy access. We went there EVERY morning. The path isn't for the faint of heart, as it has some steep steps, but all-in-all, it's a great feature of the hotel.

5. Spa is ok, not great. We had a couples massage and milk bath, which was really cool.



Cons:

1. Staff wasn't overly friendly, especially in the restaurant. I had to repeatedly find someone to bring coffee and they seemed kind of put-out.

2. They do recycle the water to use on the grounds, which is super eco-friendly. With that, sometimes you'll walk on the path to the lobby or restaurant and catch a smell of something unpleasant. But it's rare.

3. STEPS. Lots of them. If you have mobility issues, this place is NOT for you. But for us, we found it great exercise to walk up and down. We loved it.

Room Tip: Don't choose 112 if you don't want to have people seeing you on your deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCrisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the very constructive review highlighting the Pros and Cons of our Resort .
The Restaurant Manager has been made aware of the staff who was not that friendly, perhaps due to language barrier with the youngest and will work on making them more attentive.
We appreciate the feed back and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in centara villas in Phuket for 8 days recently and whilst the location is great and the views are stunning the experience was left slightly soured by a few keys points.
We arrived to a lovely free fresh coconut drink and a warm reception and mòved to our room (301) were we were massively underwhelmed as the room was not set for our honeymoon arrival as promised. Additionally the room was fairly standard and whilst the resort is beautiful the room wasn't and the toilet was often blocked even after the Plummer fixed it it would only last a few hours.
I contacted the reception and they offered to move us to another room which would be set up for our honeymoon arrival and additionally we would be given a free bottle of sparking wine in way of an apology, however the room was not available until the following day so we spent our first night in room 301 which was somewhat disappointing for our honeymoon.
The next day I was contacted by the staff and told the room we were due to move to was occupied and we could go to a different room which we agreed and upon our arrival to room 121 there were some flowers on the bed and a bottle of sparking wine present however we were still missing honeymoon cake and the spa 500baht voucher which was also promised. I contacted the staff and was told this would be sorted however it never materialised.
The stay was nice and the staff generally are brilliant in the restaurant and around the resort. The view over karon is amazing and the location is truly to die for (a perfect place for a honeymoon)

The villas are set in amongst the trees and a short walk to karon beach (200 baht taxi ride) with a free bus to patong and karon offered from the resort which is brilliant.

We ate in the hotel restaurant (the cliff) which was lovely and nicely priced however the desserts need to be improved as they are not as good as the main dinners.

On the last day we organised with the reception for our spa voucher to be used for my wife's pedicure and booked it in for 2.30 however when we arrived in the spa we were told there was no booking and no voucher available which caused me to become somewhat upset as again I had to complain about the resort management, the voucher was made available but we were told you could not use it for a pedicure...fortunately max (restaurant manager) came to the spa and was exceptional. We explained the situation and he sorted it for my wife to have a pedicure at the time agreed using the voucher. He was excellent and the spa was brilliant we'll worth a visit.

Whilst I can not fault the resort in terms of beauty the management was awful and my honeymoon was tainted by the fact hat I was forced to chase the staff to try and get what should have been a magical time arranged. The hotel stated they were not told that we were on our honeymoon and therefore couldn't have been any more prepared but hat does not excuse their ability to correct the mistake once it was brought to heir attention. On three occasions I asked to see a manager and on all three I was told it was his day off and never once did anyone contact us to ensure everything had been sorted to our liking.

This resort has so much potentional and I'm sure on a different visit would have been perfect but for us it fell short of the mark...disappointingly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kempkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
May I thank you for having stayed with us during your Honeymoon and for the review posted March 29th with the overall good comment on the resort location, quality of service recovery and food at the restaurant.
We are very sorry to realize that no mention on your honeymoon was given by your travel agent prior your arrival.
We are used to handled this type of arrangement and have delighted a number of honeymooners recently.
What we just need is advanced information in order to prepare your stay.
This would have avoided unnecessary disappointment.
The chef promised to improve the desert.
Warm regards,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from this amazing beautiful hotel I would recommend to anyone. If you're thinking of booking then please do don't miss out on this lovely place the pools are amazing so relaxing we ate in the restaurant a few times which was lovely so worth it. you do have to get taxis to karen town in the evening which I didn't like too much the town i mean would not hesitate to go back to sentara villas karen was a bit 2 of us tourist place for us centara villas was like a little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolofur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for being with us at Centara Villas Phuket recently and for your review recommending others to stay mentioning the quality of the restaurant.
We appreciate your gesture hoping to see you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Wow, This place is SO beautiful, Weve just returned yesterday after spending 11 nights at Centara Villas celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. I couldn't have wished for anything more beautiful, we stayed in 311 which is almost beside the pools, we had great views of pools and andaman sea. Yes the walk up to the restaurant can be a bit of a trek when its so hot but if you do it at your own pace it is quite relaxing ( and also giving us a bit of exercise at the same time! ) but you dont have to walk the way at all if you didnt want to, the on site tuktuk is available to all and can be a welcome break if you dont fancy walking. The staff are so welcoming, ready to welcome you with smiles on arrival to leaving, everybody are so happy and calming which makes everybody else feel the same. Denis, it was so nice that you introduced yourself to us and made us feel so welcome, thank you. A nice touch, as was the invitation for drinks and canapes in the gardens. If i have to find a negative it might be that the bay view bar at the pool could stay open for food and drinks a little later than 5 as we were almost beside it we would without doubt have used it more in the evenings, but it didnt spoil a thing. We walked the path most days to the beach which literally takes 5 minutes, and there you an use the sister hotel, The Centara Grand which is fantastic. We will be coming back to Phuket next year and want to bring our family out with us, not sure if the Grand might be a little better for us then as our grandson will be 4 and it seems with all the p[ools etc that it may cater for children more so than the villas, pool wise! Thank you to everyone we met, we have had the most amazing holiday and have met the most amazing people. We cant wait to return. Cob Khun Ka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyF136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We appreciate the fact that you chose our resort for your important celebration, your 25th wedding anniversary. we are equally pleased to read the positive and candid review especially the mention of the staff being friendly. we all thank you for this and look forward to welcoming back at your convenience.
Kindest regards,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were here for our honeymoon after Krabi. We enjoyed the room, the seafacing view from our balcony, the pool infront of our room.

But we enjoyed more our 4hr ++ of honeymoon spa in Centara Villa itself!

What a polite, soft spoken masseurs this villa had! I simply loved them.
The spa session really worth our money.

All the treatments that we had was so fantastic.

We shall return to Centara Villa for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurdalilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on the very special occasion of your honeymoon and for the great review highlighting the value for price paid at our Centara Villas in Phuket. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back at each of your anniversaries.
Warm regards,
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
2.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#22 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush tropical greenery and overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea, the four-star Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway located steps away from the sweeping expanse of Phuket’s Karon Beach. Each romantic, private villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless and the quiet all-pervading. The minimum villa size is a generous 46 square metres and some come with the option of a plunge pool or a Jacuzzi. The large two-tiered swimming pool, with its fabulous ocean views and shady spots, is the epicentre of relaxation. For another form of relaxation, Spa Cenvaree is a refuge for the senses offering a choice of therapeutic treatments including traditional Ayurvedic methods and Thai foot and body massages. The resort also offers hands-on Thai cooking classes, and two restaurants and a bar that boast sublime ocean views. For those who wish to venture out of its oasis of serenity and tranquillity, the tour information desk will be delighted to arrange activities such as island-hopping, bungee jumping, and family treks. For a change of pace, a complimentary scheduled shuttle service connects the resort with the fabled nightspots of Patong and Karon. Centara Villas Phuket is just one hour's drive away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing