We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #40 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, the rooms are great and the views are fantastic. Food and drink here are well prepared and for a foreigner, reasonably priced.

Unfortunately, the service in the hotel was greatly lacking. Our group of 7 spent about an hour in the lobby after a long flight and transfer before being led to our rooms. When my partner and I were shown our rooms, they were not what we had paid for and were told that the rest of the hotel was fully booked, despite us having a receipt showing that we had paid and booked six months in advance. After about 30 minutes of arguing with management, we were shown to another room, which was what we had booked, however the air conditioner was broken. Further complaints were made to management, and we then had to wait a further 3 hours before we could be moved to an upgraded room with a working air conditioner. Other members of our group were told that their rooms were too close to the lobby for a buggy to take them and they were made to carry their own suitcases down numerous staircases and steep hills in order to get to their rooms.

Another issue is the fact that the resort is quite large, and located on a fairly steep hill. The result of this being, it is fairly difficult to get around on foot. Buggies were required to take us to our rooms, however it seemed as though there was only one buggy running at a time, and sometimes we had to wait up to 15 minutes to be picked up from the lobby in order to be taken to our room.

In terms of dining options, the food was very good however there are periods between lunch and dinner where all of the restaurants in the resort including room service are closed, and again after 10pm where they do not reopen until the morning. Since the nearest food source is about a 10 minute drive away, this can be quite frustrating.

Overall this was a nice hotel, and the stay was reasonable, however do not stay with expectations of receiving any level of service whatsoever. Better options are available for your money. I will definitely not be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are staying close to the lobby, you will have to walk up and down many stairs to commute to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

I am disappointed to read on your review that you would not consider staying with us again.
May I apologize for the less than satisfactory level of service rendered on arrival. The fact that we were full could be an explanation to this let down, surely not an excuse.
May I thank you for the good comment on our food and also to rectify that easy access of dinning options are available 2 minutes away from our resort at The Centara Grand Beach resort Phuket located on Karon beach.
Your Sincerely,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in Feb for 8 nights. I would highly recommend! The staff are super friendly, the location is spectacular and you can really relax from the full on nature of Phuket!

The Spa is a MUST - it is just the most fantastic experience! I can't say enough about it!

Some reviews mentioned the hilly terrain of the resort - we found it ok where our villa was but can see how some people wouldn't like it, the mini car was great some days there was a bit of a wait but you are on holidays so who cares!

The restaurant is in a great spot with a good view, the cocktails with management was a great idea, western and thai menus and the cocktails were just superb!

The majority of the staff were great we only had 1 mishap with ordering food due to the language barrier.

Highly recommend the tour booking service - this was a great idea and an easy convenient service!

Room Tip: A room on the top side is walking distance to the lobby and bot too steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcoo9670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Our staff being super friendly is one of the greatest asset of our resort. Thank you to mentioning this on your review and also for staying with us 8 nights recently.
We are making efforts to persuade our staff to better master the English language.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon in Phuket.
Warmest regards,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Centara Villas for 10 nights from 27th February 2013.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a coconut drink (as in a drink in a coconut) which my husband liked but I hated.. It seemed an odd choice as coconut milk is quite an acquired taste. A fruit punch would have been much more refreshing after a 13 hour flight!!

We had a spa villa which was lovely and we made very good use of the spa on the balcony. Our villa (212) was very private and had a lovely view. However, there are 146 steps to climb to get to breakfast/lobby and we were approximately midway between the pool and the lobby.

The location of the villas means that there are lots and lots of mosquitos so if you want to use your balcony in the evening take plenty of insect repellent with DEET.

The beach is a 5-10 minute walk down an uneven path but it was a nice quiet but very long beach. I was surprised that we had to pay for sunbeds when they were all outside the Centara Grand (only 200 bhats).

We were apparently VIP status because we upgraded to a spa villa. According to the websire this entitled us to cocktail and canapes in the evening and also concierge service. There is no concierge service to speak of but we hired a car through the hotel and all staff were very helpful and polite.

The cocktail in the evening was disappointing because you couldn't choose you could only have the cocktail of the day and the cocktail was half the size of the regular cocktails you purchase. I am a vegetarian and there is not one vegetarian dish on the restaurant menu and it was hit and miss whether I could eat any of the canapes.

If you want good vegie food try the Two Chefs in Karon or Kata as they have a whole vegetarian menu to choose from and the food was lovely.

The swimming pools were very nice but there were very few sunbeds and not enough parasols for the sunbeds that are there. We always ended up spending a short time at the pool because unless you got there early tyou ended up with a sunbed in the direct sun and there was little chance of any shade.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and it is definitely a good time of year to go. Very hot and dry.

If we were to return to phuket we would consider staying at Centara Villas again if we were going to stay in the Karon area but we would probably prefer a hotel on the beach where we weren't reliant on transport to go everywhere.

Room Tip: Our villa (212) was very private however, a lot of the villas we passed had balconies that were full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Your recent patronage meant a lot to us as well well as the constructive comments mentioned on your review. May I thank you for this feed back.

Our Housekeeper is now making more effort in controlling the recent migration of the mosquitoes.
Our sister property down on the beach controls 80 meters of the North end part of beautiful Karon beach where the sun chairs are Free of charge for guests of both resorts, The Centara Villas Phuket as well as for the Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.
Our chef who is Thai has some expertise in cooking vegetarian dishes and will focus in enlarging his offering on our menus.

Should you wish to stay on a beach during a next stay in Phuket, Thank you to let me know as I believe we have a lot to offer at Centara Grand on Karon Beach.

Kindest regards,

Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for 12 nights in an ocean facing villa,109, and it was Heaven. So peaceful, yet so close to the madness that is Patong. We have been to Thailand 10 times now and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for the Thailand of old, where the staff smile to greet you (even the gardeners!) and the service is first class.
Okay there are a LOT of steps between the top of the property and the Spa and pool area, but you are very well warned about that, so if you have trouble walking stay at one of the other Centara properties in the area.
The villas are surrounded by trees, but we had no trouble with insects, and if anyone is going to get bitten - it's me!
Whilst sitting on our balcony we saw more varieties of birds than in any other part of Thailand, also a squirrel, it was wonderful.
The hotel was walking distance from Karon if you took the cliff path and walked along the beach, but the pathway closed in the early evening which meant having to take taxis/tuk tuks to and from the town. So budget for this if eating out, but the restaurants in Karon have a huge range of menus and prices.

All in all a really lovely hotel in a wonderful setting with truly memorable views. Wish I was there still!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jantosh0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, General Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

May I thank you for staying with us and the most positive review highlighting the the aspect of the legendary hospitality of Thailand coupled by the beautiful surrounding of our special resort.
We are all looking forward to welcome back here .
Warmest regards,
Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to Thailand and stayed at this hotel for 6 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is located at the top of a hill on the outskirts of Karon right next to the sea . Patong is also nearby. On arrival at the hotel we were met by lovely helpful staff who provided us with cold towels and a coconut. The towels were much appreciated but we left the warm coconut milk. As soon as we checked in we were taken to our villa by a friendly young man in one of the tuktuks. Our villa was fabulous, big bedroom, lovely bed, overlooked by no-one, incredible views out over the bay, beautiful bathroom and superb air conditioning. There are three bars, two restaurants and two pools.My wife likes Thai food for breakfast but I prefer something a little more traditional in the morning. We were both very satisfied as the buffet breakfast was huge and had Thai, british and continental items - a good start to the day. The food at the hotel was fantastic. We ate lunch by the pool several times and had three evening meals in the main restaurant, always superior Thai food including a delicious seafood platter. Its not as cheap as street or cafe food (which we both ate and loved) but you are paying for quality and the view is to die for. We didn't try the western menu but it looked good on other guests' plates. The bottom pool is gorgeous with a little waterfall and usually only a handful of people using it. The hotel has a path down to the sea and the local beach. This is one of the most relaxing places we have ever visited and we loved every minute of it. You feel like you are in a tropical paradise surrounded by beautiful plants and trees. Be aware that the hotel is on a fairly steep hill but if you don't want to walk just ring for a tuktuk and one will be there in seconds. A free shuttle service is available to Karon and Patong and a taxi to either is less than a fiver. Both towns are very busy and very touristy but there are loads of cheap bars restaurants and street food vendors. After the madness of Bangkok and the hustle and bustle of Phuket Centara Villas is like a beautiful oasis. I wish I were there now!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IanandRach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Sawasdee krub Khun IanandRach25,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed every minute of your stay at our resort and you already miss us! Thank you so much for a meaningful review and above of all, for your stay.
We are looking forward to your return home in Phuket!

Warmest regards,
Sam & all staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we had 9 night stay and enjoyed every minute of stay the centara villas is very clean and all the staff seemed to go out of thier way to please the tuk tuk ride to your villa is an ride and lots of fun after a few drinks it is set in the most amazing place and good for a quite or fun filled night pools are good for those hot days we are returning this august again thank you to all staff for making are stay fantasic
and that nice b/day cake you left my wife lovely jesture

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyreeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Sawasdee krub Khun Tony Reeder,

We all read your brief review with big smiles on our faces. Thank you for such a lovely comment and it is great to learn you both just simply enjoyed everything we service here.
We wish you long lasting and happy memory of your holiday and we really look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future!

Yours,
Sam & all staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The resort is located on the hillside between Karon and Patong. There is no trafficsound and the surrounding is very lush and filled with al kinds of tropical trees.The villas look like treeshouses.
We had the Spa villa, which has a big bathtub on the terras. The privacy is totally garanteed.
The resort has a difficult access to the sea (rocks) but there is a pathway (5 min) to the beach and to the Centara Grand hotel, there you can use the beachchairs and order drinks (the bill is transferred to your hotel automaticly).
The staff does not speak English very well.
The room was good but there were a few weaknesses, it needed some work (the inside bathtub needed new silicones) the airco blew right to the bed, unsustainable during sleep.
The restaurant which has a good reputation, is not very expensive but it is trying to hard to impress. I liked the Western dishes better than the Thai ( and I like Thai food very much).
The location is the major bonus for the hotel. Far from the crowds and close to the beach.
The location is the minor point to because there are a lot of stairs to climb, if you don't order a tuctuc from the hotel what brings you to the lobby and restaurant.

Room Tip: How higher up the hill lthe lesser stairs you need to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Sawasdee krub Khun Bart,

It is highly appreciated that you took your time to share with us and TripAdvisor’s fans a meaningful and useful review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the privacy and location of our resort. Concerning the maintenance at the bathtub in your villa it was already addressed to the chief engineer to urgent fix it. For sleep quality we are going to replace our mattresses with better quality ones in the near future.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

With our best regards,
Sam & all staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Metadee Resort and Villas
Metadee Resort and Villas
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
1.5 mi away
Access Resort & Villas
Access Resort & Villas
#43 of 137 in Karon
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Spa Hotel in Karon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $86 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush tropical greenery and overlooking the Andaman Sea, Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway located steps away from Karon Beach. Each private villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless. The villas (min 46 sqm.) offer the option of a plunge pool or a Jacuzzi. The large two-tiered pool, with its fabulous ocean views and shady spots, is the epicentre of relaxation. For another form of relaxation, Spa Cenvaree is a refuge for the senses offering a choice of therapeutic treatments including traditional Ayurvedic methods and Thai massages. The resort also offers hands-on Thai cooking classes, and two restaurants and a bar that boast sublime ocean views. The tour desk can arrange activities such as island-hopping and family treks. A scheduled shuttle service connects the resort with the fabled nightspots of Patong and Karon. The resort is just one hour's drive away from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing