We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite what we were expecting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Villas Phuket
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not quite what we were expecting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Centara Villa's in a Spa Villa for 5 days in September / October.
I thoroughly researched our hotel before we arrived, and like other travellers, were expecting the stairs and prepared to be quite isolated.
As this was our final leg and we arrived the day before our ten year anniversary, we were looking forward to relaxing and enjoying our remaining time in Thailand. There were a few hiccups.
The hotel had issues with supplying hot water throughout our villa and we couldn't fill our spa or even have a hot shower, as the water ran out after a few minutes of running.
We asked the hotel to look at it for us multiple times but there wasn't any improvement although they tried very hard to fix it. Eventually they agreed there was an issue and moved us to another spa villa. Unfortunately, we had similar problems here, which was a disappointment, as we never had a chance to enjoy our spa.
The language barrier proved a little awkward at times. The staff were always lovely and happy to help but one night on the way to dinner, we saw a snake slithering around on the villa walkways and tried to let the staff know so no one would get bit but they couldn't understand us. Thankfully, it had gone when we returned!
The other disappointing moment was that on the night of our anniversary, I had made a booking a few months prior to our visit for the best table on the evening for a romantic dinner. When we turned up, they had no record of my booking and just popped us where they had a spot.
I know this isn't a huge deal and the food was great but it was just one of the things that put a dampener on our visit.
That being said, the view from our villa was amazing and we really enjoyed the walk along the beach track to Koh Karon every morning after breakfast and again in the afternoon. A great way to burn those cocktails and beer off :)
Overall, we had a good time and the staff were lovely but I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stimpy78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun Stimpy78_12,

First of all, thank you indeed for selecting our resort as accommodation for you and your partner during a recent holiday. We are terribly sorry to hear that you experienced some hiccups and all had been brought up to the attention of department heads concerned to improve their performances respectively. With regard to English skill, due to many of new hiring manpower in the team, we have to admit that those urgently require proper English classes conducted by a foreign English teacher so that they are able to communicate effectively to our in-house guests and customers. However, at this stage, all department heads did provide a basic English conversation and small English test to new team members regularly.

Lastly, even though you may not consider of returning to our resort but we truly hope that you will come back for a drink, dinner or spa treatments if schedule permitted. Meanwhile, we wish you nothing but the BEST.

Sincerely,

Sam & entire team at Centara Villas Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    357
    119
    50
    27
See reviews for
110
707
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights with my brother and it was fantastic. Made friends with lots of the staff, had a wonderful room and enjoyed lazing around by the big pool. The hotel really was a big reason why I enjoyed my holiday so much and I would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSullivan121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun TimSullivan121,

Warm greetings from Phuket!

We all read your review with such a great delights, big smiles on our faces. Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your valuable time to share your experience to TripAdvisor’s fans. It is our true pleasure to learn you and your brother thoroughly enjoyed 8-night stay with us.

Once again, thank you so much for choosing and recommending Centara Villas Phuket! We now look forward to your returned visit. In the meantime, we wish you both joys and happiness.

With our best regards,

Sam & entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fussa, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We picked Centara for our third hotel in Phuket. It is isolated so be prepared to have the Tuk Tuk Drivers and taxi drivers charge you extra because they have to go up a hill. You cannot walk anywhere from the hotel. Too many stairs to get around the hotel. It was very much a hassle. We had the room closer to the lobby but still had to climb 100+ stairs to get to the lobby. I counted. It was a hassle to get anywhere because we would shower but once you are at the lobby for the taxi you were already sweaty. WiFi is not complimentary. Only in the lobby and cliff restaurant which is another hassle because you have to go up all those stairs again or call for a buggy. & the Buggy took 15 min to get to your room. Had Spa Villa with a view and a hot tub on the deck, when we checked in they "upgraded" us to pool villa (without them even asking us). Which is supposed to be superb and better than the spa villa. It's not. You are all the way at the bottom of the hotel. The pool is in a little corner, not overlooking the ocean. And the greenery covers all your view so you cannot even see the ocean. Was disappointed so went back to reception to go back to our spa villa. The staff kinda shrugged off the request and gave us the spa villa without even speaking to us, just motioned for us to get going. Much better resorts in Kata beach with excellent walking locations and complimentary WiFi everywhere (The Metadee). Very disappointed and frustrated with this "resort" and we are generally very easy to please. Stay somewhere else. The view was the only nice thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Sawasdee Krub Khun Taylor,

Warmest greetings from sunny Phuket !!!

First of all, thank you indeed for selecting our resort as one of three resorts to accommodate you during a recent holiday.

We are very sorry to hear that our facility and service did not live up to your expectation and satisfactory. Good notes have been taken and all departments concerned being instructed to improve their performances proactively. With regard to complimentary upgrade to a Pool Villa, Front Desk team was briefed to always ask for a guest’s permission prior to upgrading a villa type.

Lastly, we are delighted to learn that at least you enjoyed the view at our resort. We hope that even though you will be staying somewhere else next time but you probably visit us for a sunset drink or dinner at The Cliff restaurant.

Sincerely,

Sam & entire team at Centara Villas Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great resort. Greenery all around. We went to Phuket for the weekend in Oct 2012 and stayed in the pool villa. It's beautiful, wonderful views, scenic and we couldn't have asked for a better and more comfortable villa. It's centrally located with a quick 10-15 minute ride to Patong and Karon.
Top rating for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulArti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun RahulArti,

Warm greetings from TripAdvisor’s #4 the Most Romantic Resort in Phuket!

We all read your review with such a great delights, big smiles on our faces. Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your valuable time to share your experience to TripAdvisor’s fans. It is our true pleasure to learn you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you so much for choosing and recommending Centara Villas Phuket! We now look forward to your returned visit. In the meantime, we wish you endless love and joys.

With our best regards,

Sam & entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights beginning of October. The 6th time to Karon, the first time to Centara Villas.
A bit mixed feelings about this resort, for us it has it’s pro and con, the main con being that the resort is too isolated (and yes, we did our research in advance but still it took us by surprise).
Nice room, stunning view overlooking the sea and Karon Beach (we stayed in 119). The resort is built on a cliff (we knew that beforehand so that was not a problem) and offers a shuttle minivan if you do not want to walk the steps – however, some rooms (like ours) cannot be reached so you do have to climb some stairs.
Nice pool area, but could do with some more sun screens.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. We had lunch at the Bay View restaurant every day, Thai and Western,  this was very nice (excellent beef burger btw). We dined 2 times at the Cliff Restaurant (again, stunning views), 1 time it was excellent (they serve a mean Massuman Curry) and 1 time it was terrible (worst pizza ever, microwave-kind). The cocktails are very good (we tried several).
The staff (at the reception, bar, restaurant, pool) is very friendly and helpful.
All and all, we had a lovely stay and good value for money (we paid 50 euro/night) but our favorite resort is at the other end of Karon where everything is within walking distance.
 

Room Tip: Room 112, 114 or 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schotted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Sawasdee Krub Khun Schotted,

Greetings from sunny Phuket!

First of all, thank you very much indeed for selecting our resort for your 6th time here in Karon and we truly appreciated your constructive comment given in TripAdvisor.

Regarding our resort location, we may not be able to make any changes but we will try our best to advertise and improve our resort entrance to be more visible and attractive to travelers. For the stairs, you are absolutely right that some of villas are not accessible by a shuttle mini-car and certainly, the only way to walk up and down to where a mini-car is running by. In light of sun screen, we already added in 2013 Budget to purchase new pool umbrellas and perhaps some romantic cabanas if expenses allowed.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed lunches and a dinner at our restaurants. Your kind comment on a pizza was addressed to our Executive Chef to urgently improve his service standard. We are sorry for this mishap and we would not like any other guest to repeat the same experience.

Khun Schotted, once again thank you for complimenting our staff and confirming that you had a lovely stay and considered our resort is value for money. Even though we are unable to win your heart this time but hopefully, we would have other opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Sam & entire staff at Centara Villas Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at The Centara Villas as the last leg of our holiday to Thailand. This hotel is superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our 8 days there. The rooms are spotless and huge. The food is excellent especially the seafood buffet ! The staff are ALL so friendly and helpfull every single one ! Our friends from Perth joined us and we had a ball ! If you are considering this hotel just go for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chikatilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun Chikatilo,

Warm greetings from sunny Phuket!

It is such a great pleasure to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your 8 days with us. Thank you so much for choosing and recommending Centara Villas Phuket to your friends and TripAdvisor’s fans.

We now look forward to your returned visit. In the meantime, we wish you joys and happiness.

Warmest regards,
Sam & entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very tranquil place with stunning views from our room. Large comfortable room with complimentary bottle of water, love the fish in our bathroom, clean, good housekeeping.
The staff is all very welcoming and friendly. We loved the food and took advantage of the delicious pineapple mojitos and the great array of choices during breakfast. The pool are is nice and if we didn't feel like walking back up to our room, the golf carts shuttled us around. If you're reasonably fit, you can walk all over the resort. There is a fab little very casual restaurant if you walk down to the beach, great people watching and excellent low price food. My friend and I also utilized the spa and had the most relaxing massages. We took tuk tuks into Karon and Kata each night. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandradot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centaravillasphuket, Manager at Centara Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Sawasdee krub Khun Sandradot,

Greetings from sunny Phuket!

It is a great pleasure to hear you brought back home fond memories about your recent holidays with us. Thank you so much for choosing Centara Villas Phuket as your accommodation and we are very happy to learn that you found your stay pleasant and enjoyable.

We are already looking forward to your returned visit. In the meantime, we wish you joys and happiness.

Warmest regards,
Sam & entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
0.6 mi away
Pacific Club Resort
Pacific Club Resort
#1 of 5 in Karon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Villas Phuket

Property: Centara Villas Phuket
Address: 701 Patak Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Village)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#21 Spa Hotel in Karon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#29 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#32 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Villas Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in lush tropical greenery and overlooking Karon Beach and the Andaman Sea, the four-star Centara Villas Phuket is a romantic hideaway located steps away from the sweeping expanse of Phuket’s Karon Beach. Each romantic, private villa, nestled within its own screen of green, directly faces the sea from a dramatic inclined perch, ensuring that views are endless and the quiet all-pervading. The minimum villa size is a generous 46 square metres and some come with the option of a plunge pool or a Jacuzzi. The large two-tiered swimming pool, with its fabulous ocean views and shady spots, is the epicentre of relaxation. For another form of relaxation, Spa Cenvaree is a refuge for the senses offering a choice of therapeutic treatments including traditional Ayurvedic methods and Thai foot and body massages. The resort also offers hands-on Thai cooking classes, and two restaurants and a bar that boast sublime ocean views. For those who wish to venture out of its oasis of serenity and tranquillity, the tour information desk will be delighted to arrange activities such as island-hopping, bungee jumping, and family treks. For a change of pace, a complimentary scheduled shuttle service connects the resort with the fabled nightspots of Patong and Karon. Centara Villas Phuket is just one hour's drive away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Hotel Phuket
Centara Resort Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing