We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for buisness travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not for buisness travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

It is at least a 1 hour drive from the Phuket airport. For me it took 2 hours because of four accidents. Phuket is not very nice, it is dirty and kind of seedy. The hotel is very nice but the rest of Phuket is not. My impression is it is an area you stay in the resort unless you are a spring breaker or looking for seedy places. This hotel is a poor place for a business traveler, their is very loud music blasting every night till 10pm from live bands at the various hotel bars/restaurants. If I was on vacation with no kids it would be cool but not with kids or on business. I would say only 50% of the staff speak English. I actually ran into two staff members in a row that couldn't understand the words bathroom, restroom or toilet. I am a starwoods gold member and still have to pay for internet in my room. Rooms are pretty nice, bathrooms are small. Beach and pool are very nice. Checkin was very slow and they hit me up for a donation for unicef. "yes you have to pay for internet in your room oh would you like to donate money to unicef?" Ridiculous I have never been solicited for a donation from a hotel. Checkin is nothing like a Raffles or Conrad.

Room Tip: None if you want quiet before 10 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tareyton98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear 'tareyton98'

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that your travel from Phuket International Airport to the Hotel was unpleasant due to the unfortunate road accidents you passed-by along the way. Allow me to restrict our response based on your actual experience at the hotel. I must note that the hotel caters to all guests and our associates do their utmost to provide pleasant stays to guests whether staying on business or leisure. It is regrettable that your particular experience was not satisfactory as we do receive plenty of good feedback from guests who stayed with us as part of a conference or event. We normally have live band entertainment from one dining venue particularly where a themed buffet dinner is held. I do apologise if you were disturbed and I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team to review. So far this is the only comment we've received regarding this. We have multiple English-language speaking classes held each week for associates so I am sure your comment on the proficiency of the associates you encountered will be of great interest to our English Language Instructor. Starwood’s global Check Out for Children programme invites guests at hotels to add US$1 to their hotel bill as a donation to UNICEF. Since its creation in 1995, this alliance has raised over US$25 million toward UNICEF’s educational programs that aim to help children all over the world. This US$1 donation is not mandatory and guests have the option not to participate. While our associates did ask if you would be willing to donate, perhaps we could have done a better job communicating the programme to you. Information on this initiative is included in a small brochure placed in guest rooms and provided at check-out. We thank you for staying with us and for your time in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We all wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,750
    860
    240
    104
    71
See reviews for
967
1,224
104
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overall:
This long established property situates on a private cove of Karon Noi, Phuket. The resort had gone through different management until Starwood Hotels took over the chain in 2005. I had stayed here on a business trip, way back in 1995 which was not so memorable. So every vacation thereafter whenever Phuket was our destination, I opted to stay at other places. Thanks to my daughter who arranged for us to stay here this year as it turned out to be a very pleasant one!

The whole resort has undergone many months of renovations while the main features and ground areas are still preserved. Bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms are modernized and yet blended well with their existing teak furniture which naturally bears some scratch marks over the long period of usage. The resort is quite secluded and covers a vast area that had been expertly designed to offer guests many activities suited to both young and old to enjoy while spending their precious holidays. To name a few: three swimming pools, water-sports, spa, cooking classes, kid’s club, mini golf, putting green, rock climbing, archery range, etc. Many restaurants of fine tastes featuring international cuisines are provided on site. Of course, prices are hotel standards. There’s a small local eatery by the name of Mr. Yong Restaurant outside the resort compound, about 10 min walk. Otherwise take the shuttle bus from the hotel to enjoy the night life at Patong at 100 THB per way or 180 THB for round trip.

The resort’s magnet that draws crowd of young and old alike every morning is the 3½ years old baby elephant, Valentine. Guests love taking pictures with him and sometimes he plays a tune from a harmonica to entertain guests as well. The pristine beach of white, soft sand and the clear blue sea are a gem! I can’t swim but I, along with other guests, did enjoy rows of waves at the sea very much. Just standing there and being hit by waves after waves brought me down the memory lane of childhood. I never thought I’d experience it again. What a fun!!!

Staff services are to be commended. They try to make your stay as relaxed and comfortable as possible. They don’t intrude on your privacy but be readily around to lend a hand if needs be. I experienced this first hand when climbing the stairs at Similan Lounge alone and panted heavily due to my health condition. The chef at breakfast’s egg station was about to approach only to be halted by my shaking head and smile. Also worth mentioning are lifeguards at the beach who are true to their duties in seeing to guest’s safety first.

Room:
We stayed in Ocean View Junior Suite on the 2nd floor of Mali Wing. The room is quite spacious with big bathroom. Bathroom door is tightly closed but no lock. Bathtub is too deep for a shortie like me but I’m not a tub person, so no sweat. It comes with manual blind which once pulled down is also tightly closed. For this type of room, basic amenities come in bigger size and two sets at that! Bathroom faucets by Grohe deliver easy adjustment for hot/cold water. However, there’s no bench and/or handrail in shower which would be very helpful for old/overweight people. Closet provides enough hanging space and drawers. Two kinds of slippers are available for use: bedroom and beach (made of rubber) but they come in one size only. Bedding is comfortable but beware of the protruding bedstead (see photo), I kicked into it a few times. Small living area is separated from bedroom with full stock mini bar at a cost. The suite has a sizeable balcony with two loungers and a beach umbrella, facing the swimming pools and sea view in background. Only downside is room isn’t soundproof. We could hear footsteps of occupants upstairs as well as next door and hall way.

Summary:
Great resort for family vacation. I’d give it 9/10, the 1 point deducted…no free wifi in room and a bit pricy food in hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear 'agingduo'

Many thanks for your time in sharing your detailed review. We are definitely pleased to learn that you had a better experience than your previous stay and that your decision to stay with us provided you with an enjoyable time. Thank you for highlighting the wide range of activities available at the resort - something for everyone indeed. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Phuket and we all wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived this place has been incredible. We arrived to Le Meridian after a long 21 hour travel day. Driving up to the hotel we passed security guards who make sure the property is safe and protected for the guests.

Even though is was 3:30am the front desk was friendly and put us into our room. The room was amazing, ultra clean, and absolutely perfect.

The breakfast buffet was delicious. The beach in front was pristine. There was even a baby elephant walking the beach for guests to pose with and greet.

Having a blast. Will definitely come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeandCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear 'BrookeandCam'

Many thanks for your feedback. We're delighted to know that your experience was enjoyable right from check-in and especially after a long journey. I trust that the rest of your time with us will be more enjoyable if not equally pleasant. Thank you for your comments on our breakfast venue and on the room you stayed in. We've in fact received many positive comments on our newly renovated rooms and the new Latest Recipe dining venue. We're pleased to add your comments to these. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have been visiting this hotel for 18 years and seen many things change over that period from physical changes to the hotel and the guests that use it. It has always been a great holiday for us and this year was no exception. Some major refurbishment has taken place this year and the refurbished rooms are fantastic. The new Recipe restaurant opened during our stay and its a great improvement. As usual the management and all the staff are so attentive and helpful and you could not ask for more - except to return which we will be doing next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkAlan_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear 'UkAlan_T'

Thank you for your feedback. We're certainly happy to know that you once again enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Meridien Phuket whenever you are on Phuket. We sincerely appreciate your confidence and we will do our utmost to provide you with pleasant stays whenever you give us the opportunity. Many thanks for your kind appraisal. All of us look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great welcome from the entrance to the beach and always with a smile.
We stayed in the newly renovated small suite on the second floor which was perfect for our very young kids.
Very spacious with the extra seating sofa, larger terrace and large bathroom.
Our children stayed the entire day in the beautiful white sandy beach and in the huge pool.
Do not miss to greet the young elephant and his mater when visiting you around the pool, kids love it
Cannot be better as a private beach with great outdoor activities such as mini golf, archery, game on the beach and rock climbing.
The chefs and waiters team were great and we enjoyed the various buffets and shows nearly every nights and great pricing for young kids.
We left the day of the newly open buffet restaurant and well done to again for the entire team. We will come back.
Well done to all for making our holiday perfect

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youbel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear 'youbel1970'

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. I am glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay. It's good to know that you appreciate our services, facilities and the beautiful secluded beach next to the hotel. As you may know we also have a dedicated kids centre and activities for children. As such, the resort is indeed ideal for families. In fact, Australia's 'Holidays with Kids' magazine this year has once again included Le Meridien Phuket in its 'Top 10 Family Resorts in Thailand' list. This is the third consecutive year that Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort has been listed. We do hope you'll consider us again on your next stay in Phuket. We all look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Resort soon.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location of this resort is heavenly, 2 small hillocks with the resort built in between, and a exclusive private beach. The property is a bit old style, as you can see by the extensive use of wood and timber, but very well maintained. There are multiple pools, 3 from what i can remember, and 2 kids pools as well. Phuket is lined with multiple stretches of beaches, and not all are approachable. The area adjoining Patong beach is where all the buzz is, eating, shopping, nightlife, massage centers etc, and this resort is just 10 minutes drive from Patong, but enough to be secluded in it's own area. The flipside is that it's more like in the middle of nowhere,hardly 1-2 eating joints on walking distance, and a cab/tuk-tuk has to be hired for every commute to Patong, or you can hire a bike/SUV, as a lot of people do. The resort itself offers a decent choice of food, there's a Japanese restaurant, italian restaurant, and another one which serves Indian/continental fare. though the prices are bit on the higher side comparing with Phuket prices..but coming from Singapore, they didn't amount to much. Like a decent course meal for 2 adults + kid was about 900-1100 baht at the resort, and outside depends - from 300 - 700 baht. Breakfast is quite good, not lavish but decent variety. The staff is extremely courteous and friendly. We did our Fantasea bookings from the hotel itself, no extra charges. We were traveling with another family with 2 kids, and an additional bed was put in without asking for the elder girl. Cons : the hotel looks dated, but renovation was still in progress during our visit about an year ago..so i guess it should be all complete by now.

Room Tip: I believe all the hotel sections are now renovated, so the choice now would only between garden faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear 'Rahat S'

Many thanks for your review and rating. I am delighted to know that you have kept fond memories of your time with us even though it has been a year. We certainly appreciate your time in sharing your feedback. Since your last stay we've implemented several enhancements at the resort. We have just completed renovations of all Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites. A new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' restaurant has replaced the previous Le Cafe Fleuri, and the iconic Pakarang Restaurant has been refurbished as well. We look forward to having you again soon so you can experience these improvements. We wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days but unfortunately while on business. The resort itself is very beautiful and self content and worth every penny paid. I will certainly visit again with family. The staff is courteous and helpful. Easily accessible to most tourist spot in Phuket including Patong. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jungleboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almario, Director of Online & Marketing Communications at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear 'jungleboy007'

Thank you for staying with us and for your time in posting your review. I do hope you had the opportunity to relax in between your appointments. We're delighted to know that your experience was great and that we were able to cater to your needs all throughout your stay. We look forward to the pleasure of having you and your family at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
20.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,191 reviews
4.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing