We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third and possibly last visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Le Meridien twice before we were looking forward to a great holiday at an amazing resort, coupled with brilliant service and friendly staff. Unfortunately this seems to be Le Meridien of the past. Extremely high prices including a total rip off for wi-fi useage, unmotivated and at times disinterested staff have soured the entire experience.
The food standard had also dropped immensely, the quality control manager was obviously on holiday elsewhere as we all got sick (everyone we spoke to at the hotel experienced the same "tummy bug").
We will be holidaying elsewhere this year!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddolomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear "ddolomite"

We are truly sorry to read from your review that you had a less exceptional experience during your recent stay with us. We certainly value each guests' feedback as we continually review our service offerings. Please be assured that these have been positively taken on-board and shared with the relevant managers so that they can address with their team particularly on our associates service delivery.
Our internet connection fee is only THB 400 per day for at least 3 devices and we also offer free Wifi at our public areas. With regards to the food standard, I have been informed by our F+B team, after thorough review of the incident reports, that we have yet to receive a complaint regarding the issue you mentioned. However, we are certainly keen on addressing your concern and would like to ask for your assistance in this effort. May we invite you to share further details of your stay through jehan.suanico@lemeridien.com so we could look into this and check the venues you visited. We appreciate your time in posting your feedback and our sincere apologies for not having met your level of expectations on this occasion. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 3,237 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Le meridien Phuket is a very good hotel and worth every penny. The price is relativekly very high. The one big problem of the this hotels is simply the accomedation. The rooms are large, wooden made, but the beds and furnetures are simply not comfortable, and the room's balcony is very small. The pool rooms view are the better ones. The food in the hotel is very good, very expensive, and so are the drinks. Breakfast is european style or local style as you pick. The pool is superb. giagentic, beatifull and cozy and almost always half empty. The sports facilities are widlly range including tennis court. Dinner is usually buffet style and cost between 30-45$ per person. The food is more than excellent. The kariokee bar is small, nice with the famous "singha" beer. The hotel has private beach- wonderfull, with all possible water sports you can imagine. The hotel is located 15 minutes from the city of phuket where you can have terific "giant gambas" meal,and one hour drive from the airport. The rain forest is very close to the hotel. For a week or two of relaxation for couples or family- highly recommended.

Room Tip: higher floor, pool view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ariel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear "Ariel Z"

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us in November and found Le Meridien Phuket Beach resort to be of good value. As we are committed to continually provide high standard of services and facilities, the final phase of the our renovation programme will take place in the coming months which will include rooms, some public areas and dining venues. We thank you for your recommendation and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to having you and your spouse at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is far the mark,

Wi Fi - the fact that they charge what they do - 1500bht per device for 5 days is just ridiculous . We are currently here for 8 days over three rooms and they are just not interested when you ask why they charge this etcetera etc we are 7 people with multiple devices ! the response is nothing short of that of a youth hostel , basically it is what is, take it or leave it , mind blowing !!

Pool service - not existent , unfriendly and non responsive and very expensive

Massage - service on private beach expensive rude and underwhelming

Room service - ordered a child's pasta paid adult prices and was raw very very dissapointing they charge 300bht per night for the hire of a DVD

Surprised I don't get charged to use the pool as they charge for everything els

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear "Russell D"

Thank you for your feedback. I am aware that our Front Office Manager has met you to address your concerns prior to this writing – which includes clarification that our internet connection fee is only THB 400 per day for at least 3 devices. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to regain your confidence in us. We sincerely regret the disappointment you have expressed and wish that you and your family enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.


With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I am staying at the Le Meridian as you read this review. (If you're reading in January, Lol!) We arrived at the hotel on Jan.21st and staying through to Jan.26th. What a terrible hotel. It needs a serious upgrading. We stayed in a deluxe garden suite for one night then had to change because it was unbearable to stay in such a small suite. The washroom has no venting. The desk seems like its going to fall apart. Mold everywhere in the washroom. There was a large tub with a rainshow eat head that did not make sense at all. It was quite high to climb into. I had to tape up a crack on the desk as I saw little ants coming out of it. DO NOT bring the welcome flowers to your room. It has ants crawling all over it. We were paying $500+ Canadian dollars for this disappointment of a room. We came from Paresa in Kamala and was paying the same. We were in a 1000sf room with a private pool in Kamala. Paying this here does not make sense. TOTAL RIP OFF. We now upgraded our room to a deluxe grand suite, and don't buy into the "newly renovated" crap. It's better, but not a huge jump from the other room. Now we're paying $800+ per night and I hate that we're paying that much. It's not worth it. The room has a grungy smell of cigarettes. It's gross. Ventallation is still poor. Food is not the greatest either. For anyone who is used to 5 star service. Do not come here. You will be disappointed. If you like 4 star or less. This is for you, if you can afford it. Or you're better off staying in Pa Tong. Kamala is where the 5 star service and hotels are.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Babysparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear "Babysparrow"

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely regret that the early part of your stay was not up to your standards. As of this writing, I have been informed that our Front Office Manager has personally reached out to you and that you were appreciative of how we have addressed your concerns. Thank you for your feedback again and allowing us the opportunity to address the issues mentioned. We hope the remainder of your stay will be satisfactory..

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Mum dad, and 2 kids - usual scenario. LOVED the hotel and facilities and was pleased with the service. They especially went out of their way to accommodate my family for an extra few days stay (even though it was PEAK SEASON) as my daughter was ill (NOT related to the hotel) so THANK YOU Le Meridian.

All the restaurants were good, especially the Italian (yes i know its THAILAND !) - Le Portofino (EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE) …The pool side restaurants could have been a little bit more responsive in SPEED of service :-(

I hated the fact that we had to get a taxi into town for 300 BHT ONE WAY - £6 EACH time for a ride that would usually cost 70 BHT in a bust city like Bangkok - but then its supply and demand i suppose ! We negotiated taxis for a WHOLE day which took us all over the island for 1200 BHT … its cheap because you end up going to "my uncles restaurant" or the local silk merchant en route and the taxi gets a kick back or petrol vouchers … still worth doing because a straight taxu fare will cost you around the same !

Make sure you got to PATONG beach which is turn RIGHT when you get out of the gates... much calmer than PHUKET Town.… though i have to say overall i was very disappointed with the usual in congruency of OLD men with young Girl view at every bar and street. it was far more in your face than i recalled ten years prior. i do not recommend Phuket town for young kids as its far too wild for young children !!

The massage shops located at the exit / mouth of the entrance of the hotel were very cheap though not as clean and luxurious as the ones inside the hotel - you get what you pay for.... not bad service though ! …

The elephant rides were a rip off !!!!... the ones at the centre where they have the shooting, go karting etc all under one huge facility. Make sure you negotiate. if you are a movie fan... cinemas are very cheap in phuket

Overall a SUPER place to relax. we met some lovely people from all over the world at the hotel but have to say that not all are as friendly though this could 'possibly' be down to the language - Das vee dAnja ;-)

goodbye from LONDON

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayorofbayswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear "mayorofbayswater"


Thank you for your feedback. We certainly appreciate your time in writing and posting this review. Our location is on a secluded beach which indeed offers tranquility and a relaxing ambiance especially after long island or day trips around Phuket. Yes, we are in close proximity to Phuket's night district, only a 5-minute drive and turning left from the hotel, and the same distance to Karon/ Kata Beach (turning right). We are also happy to know that you especially liked the food and service at Portofino restaurant. This has been shared with the team who received your kind comments with much appreciation. Overall, we are delighted to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay despite some issues you encountered outside the resort. We look forward to having you back soon.


Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My family and i spent 4 nights at Le Meridien Phuket,the hotel is really big but not very crowded.The beach setting is nice and private and there was a baby elephant that comes every morning and you can ask for a kiss,really cute!!
We stayed in the #1 room which is on the ground floor with the ocean view and 2 other rooms for our kids with the swimming pool view,the hotel is decent,clean and great service,the hotel has at least 5 restaurants which is perfect for my son and my husband who has food allergy they have choices of restaurants to go to, we had japanese the first night and it was good.My husband and i went to Pattong for dinner one night and walk around town,it was very crowded!
We visited Phi Phi island and Bond island by private boat,it was a little disappointing as we could not go inside caves as the tide was really high but we loved the view and the Phang Nga bay is really a Paradise!!

Room Tip: #1 and 2 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisylarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear "daisylarry"


Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. I am delighted to know that you were impressed with the resort's facilities and services particularly the rooms allocated for you and your kids. The panoramic view of the Deluxe Suite is indeed a great feature of this room. I am glad that you also enjoyed your time with Valentine who's a real charmer to guests and associates alike. I am happy to know that you especially liked our dining venues which indeed spoil guests for choices having 10 restaurants and bars in the resort! Thanks for highlighting the resort's ideal location - conveniently near to Patong and its restaurants and shopping areas but secluded enough for a quieter retreat. Many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to your family's return.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Do not confuse this LeMeridien with the one is KhaoLak Beach. I made the reservation at KhaoLak and the cab driver took us to this location. So we ended up staying here. The hotel was full but it was late night - the manager helped us to get a room rather than driving another 2 hrs to get to KhaoLak where we supposed to spend our vacation.

This resort location is secluded, but not very far from Patong Beach (10 mins tuktuk ride each way). From airport, it is quite a drive (40mins-1.5 hrs depending on traffic) - many taxis available at the airport (none use meter so you have to agree on a price when taking one). The resort has its own private beach which makes it even better. The beach is nice and has many big rocks towards the edge of the property. Great if you love photography. Twice a day a baby elephant named Valentine comes visit the beach to greet the kids. You can bring fruits for the elephant to eat, or money for tips.

There are at least five different pools - all are excellent. Good for kids, solo travel, or even honeymooners. The property has a lounge for travelers between the pools area. Four restaurants or more are offered in the complex. We tried two of them and we were satisfied. One time I was craving for McDonald and wanted to try Thai version, so we called them to deliver the food. However, when I picked up the meals in the lobby the hotel rep let us know it was the last time we could do such thing. I dont understand why, McDonald is an American chain and they should be high standard of hygene.

The room is clean, bed is comfortable, and bathroom is modern. However, you can still feel Thai culture in the room based on the wall decorations and furnitures.

The hotel has shuttle service to reach Patong Beach. You can hire tuktuk or taxi to get back. Using hotel to arrange a taxi cost more. When you get to Patong beach, try to get information about taxi driver/car you like - you can always stick with them the rest of your vacation if you like them. It seems like most taxi in Patong beach is illegal taxis.

Room Tip: Recommend to get a room with beach/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear "coolden"
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor and sharing your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort experience. We are sorry to know of the inconvenience of taking you to a different hotel other than what you booked for, however, we are equally delighted that that was reciprocated with a wonderful stay with us. We are delighted to know that you liked the secluded beach and the room allocated for you. We have a total of 10 dining venues and 2 over-sized pools with jacuzzi and kids pool- we are glad that you found them to be excellent. We also apologize for the inconvenience on the food delivery from outside as we discourage guests of such service not for hygiene but rather guest security issues. Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to having you and your family back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
20.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Spa Hotel in Karon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $162 - $882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing