We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service & food but the rooms are very small and smells BAD!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service & food but the rooms are very small and smells BAD!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and find the rooms to be very small and lacking. The common areas such as the lobby, bars, pool, and the beach were very nice. And the service and the food were excellent. My only complaint about this hotel is the room! They are VERY small and smelled like mold. When we checked in at the hotel, we requested to move to another room due to bad smell but the staff informed us that the hotel is 100% at its occupancy so there are no other rooms available. Upon giving the manager a $20 USD tip, he called us within 10 minutes and told us about another room that recently became available. However, the smell of the new room we checked into was just as bad!!!

The hotel desperately needs air purifiers in each of the room. I’d love to return to Phuket/Patong again someday but will not be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LP_201235805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear "LP_201235805"


Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on TripAdvisor. We regret that you did not have an enjoyable experience following your recent stay with us. We regret to know that you were not satisfied with the room you booked. In fact, we do have 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom suites if you prefer larger size rooms though these may not have been available during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced and are very much concerned of your comments particularly on one of your interactions with our associate. Please be willing to share additional information regarding this incident to jehan.suanico@lemeridien.com so we could take appropriate action. Rest assured that our efforts to address guests' concerns are not driven nor influenced in the manner that you have described. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll consider staying with us again. We look forward to the opportunity of regaining your confidence in us.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,818
    891
    246
    105
    73
See reviews for
1,004
1,261
106
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had the worst experience in Thailand (15 days visit). The hotel was great the beach was clean and amazing but I had food poisoning from their food (had burger for lunch) and i didn’t enjoy the resort as i was very sick thank God that i took with me all the necessary medication from home.
At the checkout i was still sick and was travelling to Chiang Mai and requested complimentary drive to the airport to compensate me of what happened but they didn’t agree to do anything for me they just said why you didn’t call the clinic and we will investigate from the kitchen and see people ate from the same food if they had the same and that’s it. I was really angry of the bas service and told them that I will write this review.
When we left my husband forgot his phone at the reception and they said if you want it to be delivered to the airport now you have to pay full taxi amount and we did.
I will never ever visit them because i wasn’t compensated and i had bad experience. i don’t recommend such hotels that they don’t care about their guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank love1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear “love1983”

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments you have shared with us. I have checked with the relevant department heads and found no record of this incident. Nevertheless we are certainly keen on addressing your concern and would like to ask for your assistance in this effort. Would you mind sending an email to me through: jehan.suanico@lemeridien.com so we could look into your complaint. This would allow us to verify the venues you visited and the meals you had at the resort. As I am writing this I must note that we have yet to receive a complaint regarding the burgers served at our venues. We sincerely appreciate your time in posting this feedback and would be even more grateful for what you would be willing to share. We wish you pleasant journeys.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, excellent service and good chorice of restaurants. Very nice for a long stay or if you need a rest.
Well equiped gym and lots of activities both for adults and children. Very nice beach

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank reneemarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear "reneemarbella"

Season's greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort.

Thanks for your feedback. We're all delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay and that you had the opportunity to relax and had a pleasant experience with us particularly on our fitness center, recreational activities and the dining venues we have. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back at the resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, checking in after midnight the first night. I used starpoints.

Why is it that some starwood hotels treat their gold members exceptionally and some, particularly the higher end ones, do not? I understand that a room upgrade may not always be available (was not on this visit), but I was surprised that my 4pm checkout benefit was not allowed, even after a second inquiry and telling them I was not pleased (they really did not seem to care).

The property is quite beautiful. I was very happy with the room, grounds, and common areas. Only drawbacks...property is 10 minutes drive from Patong, so count on having to take taxis. Not much around the resort. Also, look for US prices on pretty much everything at this resort. Even though local prices are half or less US prices, don't count on any discounts here. Was surprised that a breakfast buffet is $20. You expect resort pricing, but not quite as much as US. Seems simple economics that if they weren't quite so overpriced, people would buy more.

Really a lovely hotel, but just don't expect it to be quite the 5-star service this chain is known for.

Room Tip: ask for pool view close to ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeInFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear "MadeInFlorida"


Thank you for your feedback on our services and facilities. I am delighted to know that you were happy with your room allocation despite the fact that we were unable to provide you with a complimentary upgrade at the time. While we do our utmost to provide room upgrades and late check-out, there are times that we do not have available rooms. We regret that these were unavailable during your stay. With regards to food and beverage prices, our team regularly conducts survey of prices offered at similar category hotels in Phuket and we maintain that our prices are competitive and reasonable given the high level of food safety standards and quality of produce and ingredients we purchase to serve guests. We do hope you'll consider staying with us again on your next visit to Phuket.


Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Nice and clean private beach, rooms are clean, staff are polite and nice... hotel is in good location and very near to Patong.... breakfast is ok overall.... pool is very big and clean..... the hotel design is somehow quite old not suit for one who like modern style.

Room Tip: make a call for reservation before you make through internet. the rate is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buncha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear "bucha p"

Thank you very much for your review and kind endorsement. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you left with a very positive impression of the resort's location and services. We are indeed aware of the need to continually upgrade our services and facilities and we also look forward to expanding refurbishments of some dining venues, public areas and 30% remainder of the rooms from our previous renovation program in 2011 and 2012. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Phuket.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The staff overall were terrific, polite and very welcoming, so my disappointment was not around that, but more so the quality of the hotel itself and certainly the cuisine.

The rooms were dated and feel cheapishly furnished. Rooms are bare. Balconies have no charm. Grounds are boring. Elevators looks terrible with stained carpets, etc. The hotel could elevate itself a lot if it took the time to give itself a facelift. Worthwhile investment. I encourage the manager to go spend a few days in Mauritius at Belle Mare Plage, which is a lot like this hotel, but done right.

One can forgive most things, but when the food is terrible, you're disappointed in the whole experience. If you value your palette and stomach lining, don't eat at this hotel. Every meal was disappointing on so many levels.

This hotel's location is amazing, grounds could be so much more and with a new chef the cuisine could be better. This hotel can be much better ... I hope they do something.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Around917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear "Fouad917"

Thank you for your recent stay and posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We regret that we did not meet your expectations and that you were unsatisfied with your stay. We are indeed aware of the need to continually upgrade our services and facilities. I should note that in recent years the resort has completed several major refurbishments particularly in 2012 and 2011 when 70% of our total rooms and suites were renovated. We have also conducted preventive maintenance works and aesthetic touch-ups of our rooms and suites in recent months - we regret that these did not please you. We are also looking forward to expanding refurbishments to the remaining 30% of the rooms and suites next year along with key guest areas and giving way to one Le Meridien signature dining venue. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with our Department Heads who are concerned with your dissatisfaction and we sincerely appreciate your time in sharing this feedback as we continually look into to improve our services and facilities. I do note your approval of our location particularly being next to a secluded beach and our associates' terrific service- thank you for these.
We wish you pleasant journeys ahead.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Private beach, with this gigantic beach resort.

What was great:
1. Huge number of rooms
2. Great dining options, including a beach barbeque, bar by the pool
3. Large hotel, very spacious, e.g. the lobby is absolutely stunning with a 20-30 m ceiling
4. Gigantic pool, very clean

What didn't work:
1. Beach was a private beach, not connected to any of the other beaches on the island, so to go to a more lively place in the evenings, one needs to travel out
2. In the evening, there's very few activities, and restaurants closed too

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatmanwalking175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear "fatmanwalking175"

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the service and facilities in the resort . It is always of immense value to us to continuously understand the level of our guest satisfaction and preference to constantly monitor and measure our service and standards at the resort. Our location is on a secluded beach that offers tranquil and relaxing ambiance and in close proximity to Phuket's night district, only a 5-minute drive, and transportation is always available. Our associates are also well-informed of the happenings in the local area. All these and more give our guests freedom and convenience on how they prefer to spend their vacation. Thank you for sharing your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort experience and we do hope you'll visit us again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
20.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Spa Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing