We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are here for 12 nights and absolutely have fell in love with the resort.

Pros:
- lots of swimming pools
- beach hut serving cheap drinks at 100 baht and up. Not associated with the hotel. Note - there are two huts - one serves alcohol and one doesn't. We visited the alcoholic hut everyday. The bananna smoothies were delicious. We would add rum to them. All the drinks were excellent! They also serve fresh fruit at 50 baht a plate. Singha beer at 100 baht.
-we only ate breakfast every morning at the resort. The best out of the three restaurants was definately portofino with champagne with breakfast. The second best was the cafe restaurant. As we were platinum, breakfast was included in our rate.
-for lunch, we frequented mr.yong right outside the resort - a quick 5 minute walk. It was a good restaurant for very reasonable prices. We usually ordered the spring rolls, pad thai, beef with ginger, cashew chicken. Our bill for family of 4 with drinks was usually 1000 baht. We also ordered takeout to bring back to our room on the lazy nights.
-the taxi service inside and outside of hotel was great. To go to karon/patong, hotel charges 300 baht for private car....if you walk right outside hotel, men in green shirt charge 200 baht. Coming back to the hotel we usually paid 250-300 baht
-convenient laundry, money exchange, massage services also outside hotel
-our kids enjoyed rock climbing, mini golf and archery
-housekeeping great - checked multiple times during the day if you needed any replenishments
- service impeccable
-for platinum status, also got one free drink per person from 6-7:30 at bar every night. Internet also free for platinum. also got upgrade to pool view
-room was great - standard room with king bed and extra cot was enough for us and two kids aged 10 and 12

Cons
- yes - hotel food prices are high, but what else do you expect at a 5 star resort. Prices very comparable to american standards.
-pool view room very noisy at night with outside entertainment...we learned to tune it out. View more important than noise
-going into town definately adds up on taxi fares but worth trying the restaurants in patong and karon.

Definately coming back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruby1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear "Ruby1975"

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor following your stay at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. I am delighted to learn that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed the service and facilities offered at the resort. All your comments with regards to our housekeeping service, dining venues and the over-sized swimming pools are highly appreciated. I am also glad that you were happy with the room allocated for you and found them to be great for your family. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and appraisal. We sincerely look forward to your return!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    851
    232
    102
    71
See reviews for
943
1,210
98
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Perfect location in a little valley with absolute beach frontage to a protected, white sandy beach. Only 10 mins by tuk-tuk (200Bt) to the markets, restaurants and fleshpots of Patong, but you don't really need to leave the resort. There are plenty of dining choices, a themed banquet/stage show option every night, all sorts of free activities for kids and adults, or just lie by one of the well-maintained pools.

Stayed here 25 years ago, when it was quite new. Rooms haven't changed much, still small-ish and a bit gloomy with lots of dark timber. Due for a makeover, I think. Staff are friendly, keen to help where they can.

Baby elephant puts in an appearance around the pool am and pm... very cute, loves bananas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the southern side, away from the noise of restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear "david1949"

Thank you for your coming back and also sharing your Le Meridien experience. We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you were truly pleased with the location of the resort as well as with the service of our associates. It is also nice of you to note that you enjoyed our dining venues and the entertainment shows every night. Thank you for your feedback on your room. We are indeed aware of the need to continually upgrade our services and facilities. We should note that in recent years the Resort has completed several major refurbishments particularly in 2012 and 2011 when 70% of our total 470 rooms and suites were renovated. We are also looking forward to expanding refurbishments to our ocean-facing rooms and suites next year along with upgrading two dining venues and a few key guest areas. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort.



Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Le Meridien has the advantage of being one of the older hotels in Phuket and thus has sprawling lawns, a prime location and is right on the beach. It is only a few minutes away from Patong. I stayed in one of the garden view rooms and didn't mind the view as i was there only for a night. The room seemed newly renovated, modern and was extremely comfortable. The other parts of the hotels were slightly dated and in need of an upgrade. The service staff, especially at the front office were well trained and friendly. The hotel offers free wifi in the public areas but you need to pay for it if you want to use internet in your rooms. Overall a great hotel, worth going back to.

Room Tip: A sea facing room would make the stay perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear "saber13"

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. I couldn't agree more on your comment about our location as we are located on a secluded beach cove on a 40-acres lush tropical greenery and only 5 minutes away from Patong- one of Phuket's shopping districts. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed all these and that you liked the room. I do hope you will return soon for a longer stay and enjoy the facilities we are offering.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We did not have a good experience at Le Meridien Phuket. There are some positives but you couldn't pay me to stay here again.

Pros:
-The beach. It is very nice that they have their own private beach with lounge chairs.
-The coal fire pizza near the beach was great - we had it for lunch about every day. Only good food at resort.

Cons:
-The hotel driver - we thought we were going to die. I can not believe that this man actually has a legitimate drivers license. We took taxi's after using the hotel car once and the taxi drivers are 1,000 times better than the hotel car/driver and less expensive. I never felt less safe in my life.
-Starwood platinum member means nothing here. Nothing. We called twice to verify our number was attached to booking - but when we arrived they claimed they didn't know of our status and did nothing for us other than free wifi.
-We reserved a beach front suite but got a single "Garden" view room - which is the worst room. They claimed they overbooked which is why we got bumped. Unacceptable when you fly across the world to stay here only to find out they do not have your room.
-Mold everywhere - on the patio, in the bathrooms - this is a humid climate but mold is growing everywhere - if you are sensitive to it - stay away.
-Grounds are outdated
-Hard pillows - no heavenly bed here.
-Food at resort is not good (other than what is noted above).
-Only one towel per person on the beach or at pool
-No food or drink service on the beach
-Staff not friendly.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear "Michelle D"

Thank you for your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments you have expressed. We trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our usual standard of service. Please be assured that the issues raised particularly on the driver have been investigated with the contracted transportation company and appropriate action will be taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. We also apologize for the service lapses you mentioned particularly on your room and dining experience. I understand that your disappointment started with our inability to upgrade your room to Deluxe Suite due to unavailability at the time. We thought that we had already addressed this concern - I am sorry if this was not the case. Nevertheless, I have shared your comments with the Department Heads to further ensure consistency in our service delivery. We are happy on the other hand that you liked the secluded beach and our pizzas. We are confident that we will be able to provide you with a more satisfying stay should you consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was a wonderful experience for our family there. The rooms were big and we got with the view of the pool and the sea. Hotel has 2 huge pools and a large beach with all the water toy rentals. The service was good and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Book the tours to the rain forest from the Hotel, with the company called Anda Tours. They were good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrVAhluwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear "DrVAhluwalia"

Warm greetings from Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. We are delighted to know that you and your family had a wonderful time with us. We are also pleased to learn how much you enjoyed the secluded beach and our over-sized swimming pools. Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was here in Nov 2012 with a group of friends and we all decided that this was definitely a hotel we'd stay at again.
The private beach is great, the pool and sports facilities are clean and well-maintained, the breakfast buffet spread has wonderful variety, and the location--10 minutes away from Patong for shopping and atmosphere--is just right.
The best part of our stay though was the wonderful service. From the concierge, to the waiters, to the staff in charge of the sports facilities, the service should be rated 6 stars! The tennis coach would have cold face towels for us after our game. The concierge would recommend the best spa deals in town (one-for-one packages). The waiters would go on their hands and knees to look for a little screw that came loose from my spectacles, and even fix the spectacles with an improvised toothpick screw!
If one really must look for a drawback, then perhaps the lack of wifi in the rooms was inconvenient. We had to go to the lobby every time we wanted the free internet access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auryee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear "auryee"


Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review on the TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and also happy to know that all our associates were able to make your stay special. Your kind words certainly motivate us further. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and for indicating that you are planning to return. We all look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Le Meridien Phuket Resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in early 2012 and found it to very comfortable and accomodating.We were lucky enough to have been uprgraded to a Jnr suite ,which was a marked inprovement on the standard room

The breakfast was great with a wide variety of western and eastern dishes.

overall a great stay.

Room Tip: our standard room become very damp from condensation and we had to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimitedEdition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear "LimitedEdition"


Thank you for keeping us in mind and for sharing your feedback. We are truly delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the service and facilities available at the resort. It was indeed our pleasure to have you. We look forward to your return.


Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
20.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
4.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#5 Spa Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites including Deluxe Ocean View Rooms, Deluxe Terrace Rooms, and Ocean View Junior Suites fully renovated in October 2013. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, rock-climbing wall, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site Penguin Club for kids (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. Use of the Penguin Club's facilities and all non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free.Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines including a refurbished Pakarang Restaurant and a new Le Meridien-branded 'Latest Recipe' Restaurant opened in October 2013.Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing