We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, fantastic little stretch of private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice resort, fantastic little stretch of private beach”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just enjoyed a 4 day 3 night stay at the Le Meridien. It was a company bonus trip so I didn't make the booking hence no comments.

I really liked that Le Meridien had:-
- a nice private little stretch of beach with white, fine sand
- a kids club (aka Penguin Club). Plenty of toys, playground at the back (beware of mozzies and red ants). We could hang around with our 2 year old after breakfast.
- a spacious newly renovated room for us. We stayed at the Chaba Wing.
- a good buffet spread. Tip: For breakfast, have it at the Pakarang (the restaurant that sort of stretches out into the pool area) instead of Le Fleur. The spread at Pakarang seems more.

What baffled me is the cost of transport from the resort to the nearest shopping centre (the Jungceylon). A one way trip by taxi costs 300 baht and the ride really doesn't take that long! Somehow, the taxi rides in Phuket are by fixed prices and not calculated based on the meter.

So, for a family of 2 adults and 1 kid, the transport cost is really quite prohibitive. Especially because my kid needs a nap in the afternoon so even if we took a taxi to the mall, we wouldn't be able to spend much time outside. We decided to stay in and have the buffet dinner in the resort on 1 night and room service for lunch the next day. We went for the Hollywood themed buffet dinner, and I must say, for the price, the food was really quite good. There was even entertainment thrown in. Room service was good too, only thing is that it takes quite a while.

One other thing, I feel the pools should be cleaned more often because alot of sand inevitably gets brought in from the beach. Tip: Don't forget to bring your towel cards to the pool/ beach and remember to return the pool towels in exchange for the towel cards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimme_a_holiday82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear "Gimme_a_holiday82"

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. Thank you for expressing your satisfaction on the newly renovated room allocated for you, our Penguin Club, our eye-opening breakfast and the secluded beach. I'm pretty sure that it was a holiday to remember despite the transportation inconvenience you experienced. We regret knowing that at one point you were not able to go to one of Phuket's shopping destination which is only a 5-minute distance from the resort. In fact, we don't set nor control the fares. Thanks for sharing your feedback on our pool. I am aware that we have a regular cleaning programme and have shared your input with our Sports Manager to look into. We look forward to having you at Le Meridien Phuket again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    873
    244
    105
    71
See reviews for
984
1,239
106
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A beautiful resort on the beach. I must admit I was terrified of a natual disaster...but the Staff at the hotel were always smiling, so kind and willing to help, and give us information. Really put me at ease. We were travelling as a family and were put into seperate rooms, but this was soon changed into interleading rooms. Most of the hotels in Europe looked at us weirdly when we requested this, while travelling there. But the hotel staff at Le Meridien were so willing to assist.Theres a couple of restuarants serving breakfast, so you are spoilt for choice. Add to that, a pizza place and buffet on the beach, serving cocktails, and u have a holiday made in heaven. The kids loved the pool area, and kids club.The rooms were always neat and tidy. The people in Phuket were amazing, so humble, we will definitely go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meloshnee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear "Meloshnee M"

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. We are delighted to know that your concerns were addressed accordingly and that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. It's nice of you to share with us your satisfaction on your room and dining experience. Our associates are equally happy that your expectations have been met during your stay. Let me note that we actually have a total of 10 dining venues to choose from which indeed spoils our guests with a variety of options. Thank you also for recommending our resort and indicating that you will be returning soon. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just got back from a 2 week holiday at Le Meridien - it's the second time we have been here and it was still as good as we remembered from the first time. Everybody at the hotel is especially helpful and on check in after discovering an issue with our booking it was quickly sorted out and we were shown to our room. Rooms are good, spacious enough for 2 people and the shower is great. We must make a special mention about Rung one of the waiters who serves around the pool area - he is just great and really adds a special something to the service - he's always smiling, and ready to have a chat and a laugh and a joke with you. All of the staff in the TonSon bar deserve a pat on the back - all extremely helpful and friendly.

Must also mention the attention to detail at this hotel - my husband was ill on our second day there and had to see the doctor - the following day we had flowers delivered to our room from the Manager expressing sympathy and wishing my husband a speedy recovery - the thought was unexpected, however very much appreciated.

The highlight each day is definately the baby elephant Valentine - he is just gorgeous and a little bit mischievious - had lots of laughs when he and his trainer visited twice a day.

Will return hopefully next year :-)

Room Tip: Rooms in Chaba wing are best as you can see the restaurant over the pool from your balcony and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathbobbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear "kathbobbyc"

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again on your recent stay in Phuket and for your kind comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. It is particularly warming to read that our associates made your stay even more enjoyable as they continually do their utmost to meet and exceed guests' expectations. I will personally relay your feedback to the team particularly to Khun Rung, and our front Office Manager as well as associates at Tonson Bar who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay. Thanks also for expressing your approval of our services. We all look forward to having you back for another super stay!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We are a family of 2 adults, 16 yo, 14 yo and 10 yo. This was our third time to this resort in 4 years as a family, my husband and i have been five times over a 17 year period and we love it more each time we return. We stayed for the 5 nights with friends in October having travelled through Southern Thailand for 11 nights before finishing our trip at Le Meridien. The rooms are lovely and modern Thai, the bathrooms have been updated beautifully. We get an interconnecting room for our kids. They love the freedom of being able to go to the beach/pool then over to the mini golf or to play ping pong, even tennis or squash. We love the breakfast buffet food and variety, the private beach and sunlounges, the pools, the baby elephant that visits twice daily, the pizzas on the beach along with the fruit shakes from the beach bar. Our only complaint during this stay was our disappointment to see the BIG pool closed for maintenance. While we understand that all facilities need to be maintained, it is something the hotel SHOULD put on their website so we are prepared for this and not disappointed on arrival. Our hotel in Langkawi had done this so we were fully prepared for it. Also the receptionist told us the pool would be open the next day on our arrival and it was still not open 4 days later when we left. This will not stop us from returning but management should be upfront and honest with their visitors and use their website to give this type of information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear "MickHM"

It is always a pleasure to have such loyal guests coming back to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort several times in a year. We are delighted to hear that our associates, service and facilities worked well enough together to provide an overall positive experience. Such positive remarks continuously inspire us to do our utmost in exceeding guests' needs and expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the unavailability of the lagoon pool caused. This maintenance work was unplanned and only decided a day before after our engineers inspected the section and recommended that some tiles on the steps of the pool needed replacing. We also took this opportunity to replace the slip-free surfaces on the steps. We did put up signages around the pool area and the hotel’s other oversized pool remained available for guests. The repairs were supposed to have been completed earlier if not for the heavy rain at the time. Thank you once again for your continued support and we will always look forward to welcoming you back to your favourite place. :)

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I can't praise this resort enough. We went to Phuket late 2005 at the time when the Island was recovering from the tsunami. Le Meridien was sensational so keen on rebuilding not only the hotel but their own lives and not leaving their guests wanting for anything. This holiday has always been one to remember. We all loved every minute of our holiday and would love to go back again. My youngest son made friends with the resort managers son. My husband had a birthday while we were there and he received a surprise birthday cake to the room by the resort. I see from reading the reviews Le Meridien has kept up the same standards and pride. We will return again one day :).

The date of travel was September 2005 not 2012 as stated in 'When did you travel' but I wanted to review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear "Helen P"

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor and remembering Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort. We are all glad to know that the memories you had with us is unforgettable. Thank you for your appreciation and as we are truly committed to continue to deliver the usual high standards of service, we are all doing our utmost to create a memorable experience for guests. We are also delighted to share with you that we are celebrating our 25th anniversary this year and along this special occasion we note that 70% of our rooms are renovated and refurbished with the last renovations in 2011. We will expand these improvements next year. With this, we all look forward to having you back to experience these changes particularly our newly renovated rooms. Thank you again for your support and we do hope to see you and your family soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Spent 9 nights as a couple. Cannot fault this hotel. Perfect setting, quiet and only a 200 Baht taxi into Patong. Staff very happy and obliging.

Breakfasts were very good.

This was for our 25th wedding anniversary and it was the most perfect setting.

Had a lot of fun canoeing, playing putt putt, pétanque, and the beach!! Just gorgeous! Minus the hawkers and crystal clear.
Will definitely be back, and looking forward to it!

Valentine the two year old elephant and his keeper make an appearance around the pool and he beach twice a day. Worth seeing. If you are lucky you may get a 'trunk' kiss from him.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tomanthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear "Tom T"

We are all delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable 25th wedding anniversary celebration with us. It's great that the overall setting of the resort impressed you - particularly the secluded beach. The peace and tranquility of Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is indeed a perfect getaway for couples spending quality time on their special occasion. Thank you for your appreciative comments on the friendliness of our associates, the sports and recreation activities and the quality of food. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us. We wish you both days full of pleasant discovery and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again whenever your leisure plans bring you back to Phuket.

Congratulations and best wishes from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I'll start at the beginning. They made our pick up at the airport easy. It was about $40 for the 45 minute trip from the airport. They picked us up in a nice Toyota sedan. Our clean & tidy room had a gorgeous view of the ocean & our private beach (read no crowds...very nice.) The pools were pristine. The breakfast buffet was enormous & had foods to appeal to every palate. We ate in 2 of the restaurants & the meals were good. We took a taxi to town to shop & eat in the local cafes. And finally, the staff were pleasant, attentive & helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Textralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jehan_Suanico, Marketing Communications Specialist at Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear "2Textralians"

Thank you very much for a fantastic review and for choosing Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort on your recent stay. We are delighted to know that the efforts of our associates, our service and facilities made your holiday an enjoyable one. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team which will surely serve as a motivation to further exceed our guests/ expectations. We hope we offered you a new perspective and we look forward to your return. We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to provide you with another enjoyable stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
20.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
5,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort

Property: Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Address: 29 Soi Karon Nui | Karon, Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Karon
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#4 Spa Hotel in Karon
#6 Family Hotel in Karon
#9 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is located on a lush cove on Phuket’s southwestern coast with a secluded 500-metre pristine white-sand beach. One of very few hotels on Phuket where guests can enjoy a tranquil secluded beach right next to the hotel without the need to cross a street or walk some distance. Le Meridien Phuket Beach offers 470 renovated rooms and suites. Enjoy a complete range of sports and recreational facilities with two oversized tropical swimming pools, shaded kids pool, lap pool, 6 tennis courts, 2 air-conditioned squash courts, 9-hole mini-golf, basketball court, and a dedicated on-site LM Family Kids Club (04-12 yrs) offering fun, creative, and educational programmes. All non-motorised watersports at the Resort are free for guests. Le Spa, awarded 'Amazing Resort Spa' at the 2013 Thailand Spa and Well-Being Awards, offers pampering treatments and luxurious programmes designed to rejuvinate and refresh the senses.There are 10 restaurants and bars offering the world's more popular cuisines. Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort is only 5kms away from Patong and Karon, Phuket's main entertainment and shopping districts and is a 90-minute drive from Phuket International Airport and 5 kms from the shopping and entertainment district of Patong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel Karon
Le Meridien Karon
Meridien Phuket Beach Hotel
Phuket Le Meridien
Le Meridian Phuket
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing