We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY TO REMEMBER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
Ranked #36 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The resort itself was a pleasant surprise. Most reviews stated that it was outdated, but upon arrival one could see that renovations had been done since the Tsunami in 2004. All finishes were modern, clean and an asset to the resort. All 3 pools were immaculate and well run. The room was beautiful, rooms with aircon, a safe inside the cupboard was a nice touch for peace of mind. Rooms were serviced daily, bottles of water was a regular addition, any condiments used were replaced the next morning. The only complaint in this was the nuts eaten were at a cost - which was very expensive compared to purchasing the same packet at the 711 up the road.

The Hotel breakfast was dynamic - such a wide variety of food from cereals, to yoghurts, cold meats and salads, cooked meals (different every morning with some regulars), pastries and toasts, and eggs were done to your request. Waiters walked around refilling your coffee/tea. Plates were removed upon finishing one course.
The hindrance was that the majority of people working there - their understanding of the English language was limited - but one got used to using sign language/key words.

Entertainment during the evenings did take place at the hotel - with Meat/"Braai" at the pool area on 2 occasions. On a few occasions there were people selling their purchases outside the Hotel Restaurant - very good quality - prices very similar to ours in South Africa.
Everyone said that the prices were much cheaper - but we did not find that. Prices are equal if not more expensive to South Africa. What we did find was that the cheaper items were colddrinks, chips, chocolates and fruit outside the hotel.
The Hotel Spa is well worth trying - and although pricey - for spa lovers, an invigorating experience. You have not had a massage until a Thai person has given you one.
We recommend this resort to anyone who wants a break away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The people of Thailand are the hardest working people - who give magnificient service irrespective of the little that they themselves have. Once all renovations have been done in the resort (such as the games room) - it will be a resort worth considering!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GummybearD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 782 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Resort in a great location to walk to beach, restaurants, convenience stores, and shops. We had a great view of the Andaman Sea from our room. Room amenities were very good and the rooms were made up quickly each day. We ate breakfast early each day and avoided the line ups that started around 9 the week before Christmas. The breakfast was good and provided many choices. We had no problem getting lounges around the pool any time of day. The resort does have a lot of stairs and we would not recommend if mobility was a concern. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in Phuket Ocean Resort for a week in december 2012 and we can highly recommend the hotell for everybody-

The situation is very good near Karon,s north center and still in a reasonably peacefull environment. Near but still far enough.

We has a room with a splendid view over beatifull Andaman sea and a nice balcony with lots of space. Comfortable double bed and of course, air-conditioning that you could adjust yourself. Safetybox in own room is also a very good thing. The room was cleaned well every day. Nothing but good things to say about our room.

We have aiways liked to ha a good breakfast and that of Ocean Resort is more than good. You can find everything you can ever think of; omelets, fried eggs, yoghurt ( 2 kind), meny sorts of bread, thai food, potato in many ways, pancakes, donuts... you name it, they got it. It is nice to start a new day with good food!

Beach towels were easy to find and they could be changed every day by the pool.

The hotell staff all over the hotel was very kind and helped in every possible way
and allways with a friendly smile. We can give them the best degrees.

All in all we were more than satisfied with our stay and can with no doupt recommend this nice hotel with its most friendy and helpfull personnel to everyone who is looking for a good place to stay and have a relaxing vacation.

We will most certainly be back there on our next holiday in warm and sunny Phuket.

Room Tip: We had a room with seaview from one of the higher floors and it was perfect. It costs a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannuPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My Dad and I stayed at the Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort in November 2012. The location of this hotel is perfect. Situated at the northern end of Karon and was so close to the beach. The hotel is on the same road as many restaurants, tour booths and convenience stores. They give you a welcome drink which was delicious and the breakfast was delicious. The staff are friendly, welcoming and impecably dressed. Any proplem was no trouble for them. The room overlooked the beach and lagoon and we were able to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set. It was truely beautiful. There are three pools which is awesome! They werent too busy and one had a bar/ restaurant service which was great.

The gym and mini market were under repair when we were staying there so I cannot comment.

My only recommendation would be to offer free wifi through out the hotel and especially in the rooms. It makes contacting friends and family much easier and many hotels offer this service now.

Thank you Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort!

Room Tip: The rooms seemed all the same. Phuket is a bit of a party destination so dont expect it to be tranqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank victoriahubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My sister and i stayed here for 8 days in Octiber and had an absolute ball. The pools are great.. not to busy. The pool upstairs was closest to our room as we were on the same floor. The staff are an absolute pleasure to deal with. They were all so very polite. The staff in the restaraunt were our faveourite. Our room seems like it was recently updated and it was great. Nothing wrong with the aircon in my rooms. The walk up the stairs to our room was tiring... we passed a few people on the way up having a short break before they headed up the next flight. I wouldnt reccomend getting a room up higher unless you like a heap of stairs. The lift was being replaced when i was there. Food in the restaraunt was great. We had breakfast lunch and dinner some days there. But if your looking for something cheaper definately go for a walk and find a restauraunt called PAPAYA! The food was cheap and yumm!! Definately cant wait to go back :) thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs ask for a lower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Leighleigh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good central place to stay - although we found it quite noisy as our rooms were at the front, lower down pretty much right beside the main road! This is a good average place to stay which is clean, tidy and well priced if you are looking for a good deal. The air conditioning units in the rooms are quite noisy and the thermostats don't seem to work so can be quite cold sometimes! Good buffet breakfast and nice pools. Seem to be 80% or more Russian guests staying here.

Room Tip: Ask to not have a room on the lower level as these are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank erinTeAnau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Phuket Ocean Resort in October and again enjoyed our stay. We were lucky to get a poolside room, which was clean and well maintained. Overall, this is a great motel, we stayed there 12 months ago and found the staff friendly & very helpful, the buffet breakfast is great, plenty of choices. Two pools, a nice pool side bar and being able to get a great lunch poolside is wonderful. The motel is just on the south side of the town, with an easy walk to everything ( 3 mins to beach & markets) The only downside, although it didn't affect us, was the issue with the motel lift, the lift it appears has been out of order for awhile, and as the place is built on a hill, if you got a room above ground floor it is a trek to the top!! Management need to get this sorted..I have read a few reviews over the past 12 months that all mention the lift...Book a ground floor room!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor near the pool area...avoid the lift & stairs, or rooms to the south of reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kades51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#32 of 135 in Karon
1,872 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Patong Beach
Best Western Patong Beach
#23 of 329 in Patong
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#64 of 135 in Karon
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Karon
#34 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#38 Family Hotel in Karon
#43 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $48 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing