We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Te Anau
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good central place to stay - although we found it quite noisy as our rooms were at the front, lower down pretty much right beside the main road! This is a good average place to stay which is clean, tidy and well priced if you are looking for a good deal. The air conditioning units in the rooms are quite noisy and the thermostats don't seem to work so can be quite cold sometimes! Good buffet breakfast and nice pools. Seem to be 80% or more Russian guests staying here.

Room Tip: Ask to not have a room on the lower level as these are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erinTeAnau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    293
    108
    19
    14
See reviews for
132
304
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Phuket Ocean Resort in October and again enjoyed our stay. We were lucky to get a poolside room, which was clean and well maintained. Overall, this is a great motel, we stayed there 12 months ago and found the staff friendly & very helpful, the buffet breakfast is great, plenty of choices. Two pools, a nice pool side bar and being able to get a great lunch poolside is wonderful. The motel is just on the south side of the town, with an easy walk to everything ( 3 mins to beach & markets) The only downside, although it didn't affect us, was the issue with the motel lift, the lift it appears has been out of order for awhile, and as the place is built on a hill, if you got a room above ground floor it is a trek to the top!! Management need to get this sorted..I have read a few reviews over the past 12 months that all mention the lift...Book a ground floor room!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor near the pool area...avoid the lift & stairs, or rooms to the south of reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kades51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Quite a nice resort but looks a bit old and dated and in need of considerable maintenance. Our deluxe room was on the 3rd floor and quite a steep hike, around 80 stairs, the 5th floor would be a nightmare climb as the lift is never working despite lots of promises as to its expected reopening date.
Breakfast was usual Thai hotel fare, our room had been recently renovated and was excellent and the overall housekeeping standard was very high with beautiful gardens. The pool water was very warm and appeared a bit murky at times.
Although overlooking the stagnant lagoon and distant beach, the location is not great. We found Karon to be quite dirty and smelly and next time would prefer further south at Kata, a much better location.
There are far better alternatives.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are more private but quite a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzienross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here once again, and they couldn't be more helpful. Asked for room by the pool on the third floor, and we got what we wanted, but due to unforseen circumstances and the pool leaking, we had to be moved to ground floor by the other pools. After being there only one day airconditioner not working properly, we were once again moved to another room. All done without a fuss and nothing was too hard for them. Only thing was I heard that the elevator was closing for one month for upgrade. Would not want to be on the higher floors when this happened. It did not infere with our stay but definiety would be hard for others who would be staying there whilst this was happening. Maybe a second elevator should be introduced. Other than that all was very good, great buffet breakfast close to everything, market, beach and restaurants. Recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Ground floors near the pools, or the third floor near the pool, as long as the elevator is working!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed from 12- 20th October. Found staff friendly and helpful. Grounds are very beautiful and well maintained. Rooms cleaned every day unless you requested different. Stairs very tiring. Ask for lower levels if unable to climb flights of stairs. New lift being installed. The top level rooms are renovated. We were in a Deluxe room on second level which I felt did not compare to previous Deluxe rooms we have stayed in elsewhere in the world. Our room was in need of renovation (old paint on wall flaking off) and very dated.
The bathroom, although clean, was tiny and the high sided bath would be a a problem for an older or less fit person than myself. The restaurant was good but don't recommend the steak- ours was very poor quality meat with lots go gristle and very thin.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just had 10 fantastic days at this resort. The staff were excellent,friendly and always had a smile. The room was everything we needed and cleaned every day. We had breakfast included in our deal and it was well worth it( great selection) . We also ate at night in the restaurant and by the pool,prices very good. Pools were fantastic. The location is the best as you walk 5 min and your in town, beach,markets. Tuk tuks right across the road only about 300 baht to get to patong,go for a night and see the sights lol. Also I read how people love a Thai massage,I got hooked, the massage shop next to the seven eleven is the place to go. Over all great first time in Thailand ,great resort,great people, we are already planning same time next year,just wish they had direct flight from Christchurch.

Room Tip: Room over looking pool great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Graeme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wow! Stayed 12 nights and had a fantastic time, staff amazing, rooms cleaned everyday, all you can eat if you so choose... We had a room on the lowest level overlooking lagoon and was fantastic - no stairs for hubby, lagoon undergoing a major transformation so will be awesome once finished. Short interesting walk into town and beach and amazing eating places to be found from as little as 50 baht if you do as the locals do. Can't wait to come back such good value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#32 of 129 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#13 of 129 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#60 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort
Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Karon
#38 Family Hotel in Karon
#43 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing