We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynn first timer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
Ranked #37 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed from 12- 20th October. Found staff friendly and helpful. Grounds are very beautiful and well maintained. Rooms cleaned every day unless you requested different. Stairs very tiring. Ask for lower levels if unable to climb flights of stairs. New lift being installed. The top level rooms are renovated. We were in a Deluxe room on second level which I felt did not compare to previous Deluxe rooms we have stayed in elsewhere in the world. Our room was in need of renovation (old paint on wall flaking off) and very dated.
The bathroom, although clean, was tiny and the high sided bath would be a a problem for an older or less fit person than myself. The restaurant was good but don't recommend the steak- ours was very poor quality meat with lots go gristle and very thin.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 780 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just had 10 fantastic days at this resort. The staff were excellent,friendly and always had a smile. The room was everything we needed and cleaned every day. We had breakfast included in our deal and it was well worth it( great selection) . We also ate at night in the restaurant and by the pool,prices very good. Pools were fantastic. The location is the best as you walk 5 min and your in town, beach,markets. Tuk tuks right across the road only about 300 baht to get to patong,go for a night and see the sights lol. Also I read how people love a Thai massage,I got hooked, the massage shop next to the seven eleven is the place to go. Over all great first time in Thailand ,great resort,great people, we are already planning same time next year,just wish they had direct flight from Christchurch.

Room Tip: Room over looking pool great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graeme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wow! Stayed 12 nights and had a fantastic time, staff amazing, rooms cleaned everyday, all you can eat if you so choose... We had a room on the lowest level overlooking lagoon and was fantastic - no stairs for hubby, lagoon undergoing a major transformation so will be awesome once finished. Short interesting walk into town and beach and amazing eating places to be found from as little as 50 baht if you do as the locals do. Can't wait to come back such good value!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hi all just returned from 8 nights in this hotel. what can i say just BRILLIANT they couldnt do enough even the reception we received at 1 in the morning. Wouldnt stay any where else STAFF were brilliant PLEASANT and WILLING to help with anything we wanted, nice clean hotel nice breakfast and great pools will be comming back next year and staying at the same place. WELL DONE PHUKET OCEAN RESORT u made our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wobbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great breakfasts,great pools, friendly staff,clean comfy rooms,good value...and the lift was working......................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Room Tip: stay close to the pools unless you like lots of exercse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greg826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have stayed in this resort for 3 years in a row. They are always welcoming, do not expect 6 stars but a absolutely clean resort with 2 pools and a huge offering for breakfast. You cannot go wrong here, watch out for super rates, which we have always managed to get.The only down side here is , you could get a room 50 steps up with no elevator, so if you have health issues be sure to let them know prior to arrival. We did and we had a terriffic room.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of some sort, we had a garden room and it over looked the beach ( some what) J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jacqueline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be clean enough with a very nice view out to sea. The hotel is huge and sprawling and there are lots of stairs, but a lift helps avoid most of them.

Our room was large and comfortable enough although we did have ants coming in and the aircons are noisy. Much of the hotel is being renovated and some of the higher rooms had been completely gutted, while some of the rooms at the sides were used as store rooms. It looked rather spooky higher up. This didn't impact too much as the central and lower part by the main two pools was still fully functional.

One policy I found bizarre though was the charge for wifi. In most hotels, wifi is complimentary, but in this hotel it is charged and the rate is rather expensive. We ended up just using a net cafe round the corner in Karon.

Overall, it was ok, but we wouldn't stay again owing to wifi hassles.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#33 of 135 in Karon
1,865 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Patong Beach
Best Western Patong Beach
#23 of 328 in Patong
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#64 of 135 in Karon
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort

Address: 562 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Phuket Ocean Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Karon
#34 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#38 Family Hotel in Karon
#43 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $48 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort is one of the best-valued vacation resorts in Phuket. The resort is situated at Karon beach on the hillside among the coconut groves overlooking Karon beach and Karon lagoon. We offer luxurious accommodations amid a lavish setting. You will truly enjoy seeing the sunset beyond Karon lagoon and walking along the beautiful fine sand beach of Karon beach. Resign yourself to the comfort of an exclusively appointed hillside resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Phuket Ocean Hotel Karon
Best Western Karon
Karon Best Western
Phuket Best Western
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing