We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”

Aussie Joy Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aussie Joy Guesthouse
Ranked #72 of 148 Karon B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A gem find in Phuket. Joy is a genuine woman with vast travelling experience where she shared with you. You check-in as a tourist, you stayed as a friend and finally became part of the family. Friendly atmosphere where Joy, her staffs and the other guests mingled around with ease.
Thank you Joy for making our stay with you one experience we will cherish always!
Big hugs,
Rahmen & Jan

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Aussie Joy's is a wonderful place operated by an incredible women. Joy is a real person who treats all her guests like family. This small, very clean guesthouse is an excellent value for your money and is located just minutes away from the beach. During my stay I took cooking classes, various day trips all around the island and was lucky enough to join in a few group dinners with people from all around the world.

In addition to all the personal service, Joy and her staff were very helpful in booking trips, obtaining visa extensions, suggesting the best places to shop, dine and visit as well as how not to get cheated or ripped off. Joy speaks Thai, English and Swedish which is a great help in a country where very little English is spoken.

p.s. My stay was so enjoyable I already booked my trip for next season Since there are only four rooms available at any given time I suggest you book as early as possible and I'm sure you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book early since the four available rooms fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HJM10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Level Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Aussie Joy is a real person, and it's her guesthouse. The location is in the heart of Karon Beach, just a short 5-minute walk to the beach. Stayed there for 8 nights, after moving away from Patong because it was just too much. Joy speaks English, Thai and Swedish, and taught me how to make spring rolls (didn't charge me) and told me about all the local attractions and what to pay, and how to avoid getting ripped off. She is a real Joy (pun intended) and you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otis1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Amazing!!!! Joy (owner) is an extremely friendly, well travelled, honest and outgoing person. I had the privilledge of meeting Joy in April 2012. During which time i met her clients that were staying with her and found myself and my family booking all our tours from Joy and any help i needed, Joy was all too happy to help.
The tours were cheap and included EVERYTHING. I spoke to her clients (became good friends) and they advised me that they were paying 1/4 of what i paid to to be in a 3 star hotel. They described Joy's service as flawless - Joy would cook breakfast for them, drive them to parts of Phuket that is not seen by the general public and able to offer a more exclusive/authentic thai experience. Joy also operates a bar she owner in Karon, great place to wind down after a hard day of shopping or touring.
myself and my family will be back and will be staying with Joy, i just hope she is not booked out :)
I highly recommend Aussie Joy's Tour/Guesthouse
P.S Joy also speaks great english as thoughout her many travels lived in Australia, extremely knowledgeable and genuine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scott l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luleå
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We hadn´t booked any accomodation in advance, so we just walked around in
Karon to find a place to stay at. We saw the owner outside the guesthose and asked if she had any room free.
She showed us a room with a view over the busiest barstreet. We liked it and accepted it.
Two nights to start with.
The room was very cosy, everything is in green. Aircondition, TV, fridge and a fine bathroom
are the facilities.The noice from the street gave us no problem to sleep. No mosquitos was very important too.
The owner speaks both English and Swedish and is were kind. Everything is possible for her.
We felt like coming home every day after being at the beach, so we decided to stay all our
holiday.
We recommend this place very strongly.
Birgitta o Dick Luleå Sweden

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgitta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
växjö
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The owner speaks thai,english and swedish and she is the sweetest. She takes so good care of you and makes your stay perfect!
I strongly recommend this guesthouse!

Linda Sandberg
Sweden

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

English, Swedish, and Thai speaking owner provides clean, safe, accommodations and family atmosphere near all of the best that Karon Beach has to offer. Owner and staff is friendly and customer service minded. I loved my room and also the downstairs recreation area that proved to be a nice break from the night life and a place to chill. I especially enjoyed the extra downstairs shower that I could rinse of after a day at the beach which was only a few blocks away. I will be returning for another stay on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
1.9 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
1.1 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussie Joy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Joy Guesthouse

Property: Aussie Joy Guesthouse
Address: 528 / 11 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where you feel at home with the help of staff tomake you feel very welcome, full service great location so closed to the beach and very central to everything, we have the bar downstair but not with the noise so you can enjoy and meet many people here to exchange or just sit in front of our place and watch the world go by. The price is a great value for money because rooms are big equip with all facilities esspecially WiFi and internett are Free and we suply you with more than one ISP so you can keep intouch with your love one.Being small guesthouse you feel very safe as we do get to know all ours guest and if anything happend and you need help we will be right there to taking care of what you need in no time. No one ever disapoint for being here most ours guest know us from tripadvisor and recomendation from other as we have not advertise any where.Why not come to Phuket and spend your time here with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aussie Joy Guesthouse Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing