We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite stay in Southeast Asia”

Aussie Joy Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aussie Joy Guesthouse
Ranked #74 of 156 Karon B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Without a doubt, Aussie Joy's was the best stay we had throughout 6 weeks of travelling Southeast Asia. Not only was it the best value accommodation that we had in Thailand, it was by far the most welcoming. On arrival, Joy goes out of her way to look after you and she makes you feel as though you are at home. The rooms that we stayed in were extremely tidy and had everything that we needed to sleep comfortably. Joy organised us tours and as well gave us free cooking lessons. You are not likely to come across a better stay in Southeast Asia.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BradWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

Returning to Aussie Joy's after a few too many years away was like reuniting with long lost and missed family. Sure, the place had changed a bit over the years but the smiles, welcomes and genuine hospitality was still top rate.

The rooms are spotless, spacious and well air conditioned and the area is now a buzz of excitement without being "over the top" or annoying. Plenty of top restaurants within easy walking distance of Joy's - as well as souvenir shops, supermarkets, bars, massage places and other things to see and do. Don't forget the beach - a short stroll away.
Booking tours through Joy is a simple exercise - and Joy and her staff are quick to give an honest opinion of the best things to see in and around Phuket and the islands. If time is short, they will also arrange things at often a moments notice, and follow up with the tour guides/groups to ensure everything is done smoothly.

Even though Karon is a top place to visit, whether you like to see and do everything in sight, or you just want to relax, kick back and enjoy the weather - the highlight is and always will be the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, who treat their guests like family. Each and every time I have stayed at Aussie Joy's (mum's) the staff have made it a 10/10 experience, and on my way home I am always planning my next trip before the plane takes off.

Thanks Joy, and Aorn - see you soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

A true gem in Thailand. Would stay again in a heart beat

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enash2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Aussie Joy guesthouse is in the centre of Karon with many restaurants and bars on the same road and only a three minute walk to the lovely Karon beach. Joy (owner) and Aorn (manager) are fantastic people to stay with, nothing is too big or too small to help you have a better stay. They also organise tours at very competitive prices and give there honest opinions and will serve you breakfast very early in the morning to make sure you don't miss your tour or that the tour company does not turn up! The comfortable rooms are a good size, with a big double bed, tv, aircon, en-suites, safe, fridge and the front rooms have a covered balcony to look out onto the busy/lively street. Guests are treated more like family than guests. I met many good people whilst staying at Aussie Joys - both guests and people who worked on the same street and we keep in contact. I can't speak highly enough of this guesthouse! Value for money this guesthouse I don't think can be beaten.

Room Tip: Front rooms view of busy street, back rooms will be quieter but without the hustle and bustle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greatwhite_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I visited Aussie Joy's on a week-long stop-over in Phuket, on my way to London. I was travelling alone and was a little nervous as I hadn’t travelled by myself before. I needn’t have worried as the staff were so friendly and included me in lots of activities – Joy even taught me to cook some traditional Thai dishes and Thai massage! I had a truly wonderful stay at Aussie Joy’s and hope to make it back there one day. Xoxo

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Had a great experience at the Aussie Joy Guesthouse. The owner is a wonderful person, her English was excellent and she helped us organize a trip to Phi Phi Island as well as Krabi. She organized all transportation, as well as accommodation in Krabi and Phi Phi. She also was willing to book safari tours for us while we were at Karon beach. It felt great to know you have someone you could talk to and trust during our stay at Phuket. I will want to come back here for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Milo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vill man bo centralt och med trevlig ägare som tar hand om en, så kan vi starkt rekomendera Joy'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.6 mi away
Jinta Andaman
Jinta Andaman
#14 of 53 in Kata Beach
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
2.3 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Kata Noi Beach
4,334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussie Joy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Joy Guesthouse

Address: 528 / 11 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range: $9 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where you feel at home with the help of staff tomake you feel very welcome, full service great location so closed to the beach and very central to everything, we have the bar downstair but not with the noise so you can enjoy and meet many people here to exchange or just sit in front of our place and watch the world go by. The price is a great value for money because rooms are big equip with all facilities esspecially WiFi and internett are Free and we suply you with more than one ISP so you can keep intouch with your love one.Being small guesthouse you feel very safe as we do get to know all ours guest and if anything happend and you need help we will be right there to taking care of what you need in no time. No one ever disapoint for being here most ours guest know us from tripadvisor and recomendation from other as we have not advertise any where.Why not come to Phuket and spend your time here with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aussie Joy Guesthouse Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing