We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel, simple service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simplitel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simplitel Hotel
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
269 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Simple hotel, simple service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The room / hotel was as what the reviewers here have described - new, clean, center of town. And it is true that the mountainview room is quiet as you wouldnt hear any street noise. The only bad thing was the slamming of doors, and it's because the mechanics of the doors would require guests to slam to close them.

Everything is basic - but we paid SGD 70 per room per night, so it is up to expectations.

In terms of the service, when I say simple service, dont expect anything except some simplistic answers to your queries, which is sufficient I guess of a hotel of this standard.

Firstly, knowing that tour operators always arrive late, both my friend and I approached the front desk in different occasions to remind them to call us when the tour company arrives. We were scheduled to leave at 730 -both of us told them around 7am. Guess what? At 750, when we were starting to worry, and called the front desk, the whole van was waiting!

Secondly, I raised a few days before we went to Phuket, and several occasions when we were in the hotel, that we needed a place to shower on Sunday because our tour ends at 5pm. All they could say is "we dont have a public shower" and "you have to pay THB 1500 to use the shower in a room". It is ridiculous given we paid around that much for a whole night's stay! And they never mentioned the hotel was full. So it's not the occupancy. It's only after another try they offered for us to use their staff shower. It was clean and sufficient. But I would have expected them to open a room for us to shower, if they value repeat customers which I would have done (as I go to Phuket a lot).

Also I have to mention when I asked for a towel to use after we check out, they're going to charge THB 150 per towel!!! Good thing I asked early so we asked for two beach towels each in advance and kept one until the shower at the staff room. So ended up not paying anything.

Did we get what we wanted in the end? Yes. If you do not have "extra needs" like shower after checkout time, and you dont require them to call you or anything, then this hotel is okay, and staff is actually courteous. However, if you are like us who work in Singapore but often shuttle to Phuket for a short weekend trip, which means you need the shower after checkout time, go somewhere else. I think any holiday is better spent than showering in a staff bathroom.

And in terms of value, I suggest not paying above USD 60 - that is about how much I would pay for such hotel.

Overall, average experience. Will I be back? No - as the after checkin shower is a dealbreaker for me. I regret not asking it in advance, because all the other hotels I stayed in the past have this as a standard.

Room Tip: mountain view, dont book the one facing the street. The street is busy and noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didi V, General Manager at Simplitel Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and thank you for your compliments to our room. As we are a 3 stars property, we try our best to meet the standard with all facilities needed for this hotel category.

Regarding tour operators in Phuket, it is right as you mentioned that sometimes they may come to pick up late and that may cause frustation. That is the reason why we always inform our guests to book a tour with us because the tour operator we are working with is trustable in term of punctuality.

However, I did investigated the front office staff on duty for the reason he did not call you when the van had arrived (5 minutes before you called the front again) because it was a misunderstanding. We had another guests who were travelling to Phi Phi stopped by and informed the front staff to tell the driver to wait for them a little bit. So, our staff got confused when your driver came and thought that it was the driver for another guests. I do apologize for this inconvenience and already emphasized the staff to be more careful in the future.

Regarding shower room, as informed eariler in email, our hotel does not have public shower facility. Due to full occupancy in high season, we defenitely unable to offer you a vacant guest room for showering. As you send email prior to arrival for showering, we offered you half a rate for day use because we had to reserve 1 room for you to come back in the evening and keep the room empty until housekeeping staff make up the room in the next day.

I understand your frustration that our hotel is not suitable to your requirements. I do apologize for everything that upset you and thank you that you that you gave us a chance to serve.

Best Regards,
Sashon Vutipongsatorn
Managing Director
Simplitel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    242
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
61
254
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Good and new hotel with an easy access to the beach, has gym, lift, a/c, Internet and towels are also provided.

guests from Sydney

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Karina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Vejle, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

nice rooms, nice breakfest, neer the beach, in the middel of the town perfekt hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Most amazing is the staff ; really friendly and warmly helpful. Clean,nice,stylish and quiet..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orel, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This stay could have been perfect - unless someone stolen jewelry from our friends' room. Partially that was their own fault because they did not use a safe. So consider this as a warning.

Rooms are really large, clean and in very good condition. Also I liked it's interior design.
Breakfast is basic, but well enough.
There is a small gym which is always vacant, wifi internet in rooms (all of these is free for guests). No swimming pool, but that is not a big problem.
Having Family Mart supermarket and Veranda russian restaurant at the first floor is very handy.
Distance to Karon beach is about 400m (3 minutes), but you should be careful on the road - watch out for motorbikes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_svetkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel was very clean and near the beach. Aprox. 300 meters. The staff was nice and helpful especially Mus. Mus was very helpful and always nice and happy. If you have any questions you can just ask her. The only bad thing was that it was very noicy because you could hear everything from the corridore and cleaning staff was very noicy when they talked to eachother at 7-8 AM. They even had their radio on the highest volume.

Greetings from Sweden

Room Tip: Maybe a room which is not on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didi V, Owner at Simplitel Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear sir,

Greetings from Simplitel!

I would like to thank you for valuable feedback and I'm pleased to hear that you had a good time with us.

Due to your comment on the noise from the walkie-talkie of housekeeping, we take it seriously and we had fixed the problem by providing all housekeeping staffs the radio wire. So, there is no noise from the walkie-talkie anymore. Thank you again for your feedback for our improvement.

I hope to get an opportunity to welcoming you back to Simplitel again on your next vacation to Phuket. Should you have further query, please do not hesitate to contact me or Mus (FO Manager) directly at your convenience. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Sashon Vutipongsatorn
Simplitel Team
Email: sashon@simplitelphuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Very nice stay at this new hotel. Rooms are very clean, breakfast is good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The only downside is no swimming pool, but at $70 Aus a night with breakfast it is well worth it. Beach is only 4 mins walk away. Lots of bars and resturarants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.7 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#54 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#97 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#13 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simplitel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simplitel Hotel

Property: Simplitel Hotel
Address: 470/4 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#34 Family Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Simplitel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplitel is a contemporary unique living nestled in the center of shopping, eating, and entertainment area of Karon, Phuket, while the beach is at a walking distance. You can enjoy the peaceful of sea sun sand as well as having a vibrant night life in one place. Simplitel brings to your every need for a perfect vacation under the philosophy of “simple, but care in details”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Simplitel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simplitel Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing