We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 14 days, staff are fantastic.”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #80 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic 14 days, staff are fantastic.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just returned from 14 nights at this fantastic resort. We booked a two bedroom suite for my partener and our two daughters. Large rooms and both had ensuite shower/toilets which was excellent. Aircon worked well and the rooms were great. The highlight here has to be the staff who all are a credit to the resort. Nothing was ever to much trouble and everyone had a smile all the time. The girls in the bar/restaraunt were outstanding. We dont usually eat in the resorts we stay in but the food was so impressive we ate lunch here most days and the quality was great with a very extensive menu. Rooftop bar is nice and the pool was never busy and always clean. Rooms were cleaned every day and we ended up with enough bottles of water to probably keep us going for a year but a very nice touch each day. Easy walk down into Karon and just far enough away to be quiet but close enough to the hussle. Reception can arrange taxis within minutes and prices well if required. Cant fault anything about the Phunawa resort at all and we all agreed it was the best palce we have stayed anywhere and this was down to the staff and the little things that make a difference. We will return as the welcome was second to none.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    108
    51
    21
    10
See reviews for
169
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just got back from 12 days at this very lovely, small (by Phuket standards)resort. We wanted quiet and relaxation and that is exactly what we got. You can do as much or as little as you like. We have a 16 year old daughter and 21 year old son. We stayed in a 2 bedroom junior suite that opened out directly to the pool area. It was stinking hot outside and our room was beautifully chilled at all times. We had an ensuite bathroom and the kids had thier own shower/wc which was fantastic. Another nice touch is that housekeeping puts a fresh bottle of water for each person staying in the room everyday. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. They all wear a smile on their face every day. It is really quite humbling to see the happiness that the Thai people have. What we have in the material world they have in the spirtual world.....in abundance. Respect and customer service is second nature for the people of Thailand.
A few little bits and pieces:
The swimming pool is lovely with crystal clear water but the tile work and metalwork is a 'little tierd' .
This is a resort made up of self contained suites. Much to my daughters disappointent there was no opulent, large, grand foyer which you generally associate with Asia and Thailand. There is a new roof bar and it and the restaurant below play Musak by day and night - unfortunatley it is western pop music. I would much rather have had something more serene and in keeping with the slow paced way of life - pan pipes, rainforest music.

Breakfast. This was inluded in the price of the room. This was probably the low spot of the resort/our stay. It was a very bad fusion of East meets West. It ended up being a poor selection of both. The buffet selections were the same nearly everyday. (tough and chewy) Bacon, warmed ham, chicken sausages, some sort of potato and baked beans (one day plain, one day with capcicum etc). At least the freshly cooked eggs (fried or omlette only) were perfect. The jam for breakfast was the same every day strawberry or pineapple! I would have to say the breakfasts we had in Bali last year was infinitley superior to what was on offer here. That said they serve you endless tea and coffee with a smile!
Please note the resort is easy walking distance to Karon beach, however when returning in the heat of the day the resort is located up quite a steep hill! There is however a resort 'tuktuk' that leaves the resort each day at 10.00, 11.00 and 12.00 and picks up at 15.00. At times outside of this a local tuktuk will take you anywhere in the Karon Beach area for Bht 200. Penang is Bht 400 each way and Phuket Town is Bht 600 each way. Best mall in phuket town is the 'Central Festival'.
Finally, just a note to those out there fairskinned like me. There are no sunlounges or umbrellas on Karon Beach anymore (I actually think anywhere in Phuket). The island was getting a bad reputation with European travellers who were already paying a significant amount of money to come to Phuket to then have to pay and/or barter for umbrellas and sunbeds. They are effectively 'banned' now. You do not see any hawkers on the beach so if you plan to soend your days on the actual beach I strongly suggest that you take some physical sunprotection with you as there is no natural protection from trees or anything.
The police have also clamped down on pestering tourists to 'buy'. Store holders/masseuses are no longer allowed to touch you or grab your arm to come into a shop. They can invite you to look at thier wares. If you say no, they are obliged to stop asking you. Again we are told this is to improve the image of Phuket to tourists put off by the habitual pestering by hawkers.
I hope that this has been of help to someone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located within quiet tropical gardens, most with a view over the swimming pool. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally-anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Location is good. Rooms are good for the price. But, Toilet is too small. Good place if you are looking to spend quality time with your family and friends as the resort is nicely tucked away from the crowd. Great Swimming pool. Good value for the price that we paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMKUMAR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice pools, friendly staff, resort living. Happy hour on the rooftop bar was nice. The breakfast was good but by the end of the week to same-same. Our young teenagers loved the whole place and made some friends in the pool.
As always in Thailand, the gardens were lovely, neat and beautiful.
Looked at past reviews and we didn't have any issues with transport, booked our own taxi out.
Short 15 minute walk into town and walking along the beach into town was even nicer.
Phunawa has a bus that drops you at the beach near the hotel, pointless really. It would be better if the bus did a circuit..a couple of stops at various points on the beach and then the town centre. The bus sits outside reception all day unused.
We got a heavily discounted price so it was very good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Highly recommend this resort. Never been so happy before. This is a Cozy resort, as we booked a one bedroom suite, it comes with a huge Kitchenette even with a huge fridge and also an Oven.
The aircon is impressing, quiet and cool!

The best part is the Private rooftop Jacuzzi....... enjoying it most. Although the location a little way of, but I got no problem at all having rented a car myself. I will not stay in other hotel rather than Phunawa resort the next time I visit Phuket.

All staffs and courteous, helpful and speaks good English. I love this resort sooooooo much!

Room Tip: Choose the suite with rooftop Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsunnyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Phunawa Resort is not far from Patong beach and it is very quiet place, staff are very

friendly, helpful and cooperative, Phunawa Resort is good for families looking for relaxing

Phunawa Resort is very good for the price

Room Tip: Good Apartment for 5 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohd-AlHamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at Phunawa few day ago,this is our first visit at Phuket. Services here are excellent, staffs are friendly, polite and very helpful. The allow us to check in early and check out late with FOC. Pools are clean , v really relax here ! Food in hotel are delicious and price also acceptable. My family and me really enjoyed , we ll come back again !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laney0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive and we will update as per your mention.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 134 in Karon
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
2.1 mi away
Peach Blossom Resort
Peach Blossom Resort
#67 of 134 in Karon
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Property: Phunawa Resort
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing