We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #79 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for the last 4 nights of our Phuket holiday. We were advised to stay away from Patong and was recommended Karon beach instead. Phunawa Resort was ideal for us, 2 nice big bedrooms, kitchen, lounge area and 2 big bathrooms. Please note that for those with older children that the second bedroom is advertised as 2 single beds, this is actually 2 single beds in a Queen size bed frame, so altho there are 2 beds with separate sheeting...they are actually pushed close together with no separating possible.
The breakfast was nice with lots of variety in Asian and Western theme. You can get an omelette made to order.
The pool was in 2 sections, shallow and deep. This was in the process of getting cleaned (we think) as it got shallower and shallower every day till it was almost too shallow for our 5yo to swim in. Otherwise, the kids loved the pool. The walk to the beach was about 10 minutes with 2 kids, to the shops was about 15-20 minutes. If you walk to the shops then keep on walking all the way to the end of the street (about half an hour) there is a market on every evening with a huge variety of food, including friend insects!, and desserts all at very cheap prices. The clothing was also a lot cheaper at this market than in Patong.
The hotel shuttle left for the beach at 10am, 11 and 12 and made a return trip at 3pm if you wanted to wait instead of walking home.
The bad side: The night staff would congregate at midnight at the back of our room and be extremely loud, yelling and laughing for at least half an hour. This was so not good when you have kids or need to get up early to catch a tour or the plane. I suggest management need to stop this as it ruined an otherwise perfect score.

Overall we were very happy with Phunawa Resort and would stay there again if we ever return to Phuket. Just maybe ask for a room that doesn't face the back of the resort..

Room Tip: If you have older children, book a 3 bedroom suite as the 2nd bedroom is not suitable for older chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHallFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive.

Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have had in regards to our swimming pool , on that time have Insufficient water in all Phuket. I can reassure you that the next time it will completely.

I have also taken note of your comment on the our staff make a noisy that we have notice to our staff.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at info@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms.Siriporn Eardmak
Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 315 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We Just completed a 10 day holiday at Phunawa, lovely resort with a magnificent pool good restaurant and a rooftop bar that has happy hour every night! Our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite was great very modern and clean the only criticism was that the bed was a bit too hard. Staff were wonderful very friendly and helpful with anything. Located at the north end of karon it was just a short stroll to the main centre of Karon and the beach. I would highly recommend this resort and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Mr Phillip,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive.

In regards to the bed, I have well noted for your next time to make for more soften.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at sales@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms. Siriporn Eardmak (Si)

Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have recently stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom suite with a lovely balcony area just by the small restaurant and pool. We really enjoyed our time there. The walk to the town and beach was just far enough to be good for us without being too exhausting and being a little out of town and up a hill meant it was lovely and peaceful. it was easy to get a taxi if needed. Phunawa resort is quite small and very friendly with excellent staff who were very helpful. We much preferred it to a larger and less personal hotel. The bar area is lovely and the bar food was really good and relatively cheap. We intend to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jandmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, Director of Sales at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that your stay experience has been positive.

We appreciate your time in sharing your reviews and certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

If there is anything I can personally do to assist you in future, please do not hesitate to drop me a note at info@phunawa.com.

Yours sincerely,

Ms.Siriporn Eardmak
Sale & Reservation Manager
Phunawa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and we found the rooms to be clean and large. It is walking distance to Karon but out enough to be quiet. nice buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Nice pool. New owners already trying to spruce the place up with new deck chairs etc. Not a luxury holiday but good value for money for a few days

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Foodychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Value Client
First of all, I'm pleased to Thank you so much for good review from you. We will share your comment to all hotel's staff and management team. The next holiday welcome to Phunawa Resort again. We will develop even more and more.
Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We have just recently returned from a 10 day stay at Phunawa Resort. Between my family we had a three bedroom penthouse, a one bedroom penthouse and a two bedroom room. From the moment we arrived we were extremely impressed with the quiet hotel location, and also the well kept grounds.

Each of the rooms which we stayed in were very modern and clean, we were all very impressed. Staff were also more than happy to help when we required additional towels etc. The rooms are serviced every day (impressive considering the rooms are self contained) With bottled water being provided daily.

We had the breakfast inclusion and we were all happy with breakfast each morning - Nan the omelette chef was great.

We also ate at the restaurant on 4 nights including the traditional Thai buffet night , and we're happy with our meals each time - Nana the restaurant host is very funny! The meals are more expensive then nearby restaurants however we found that they were reasonably priced for a resort.

Also with 2 20yr old's and 2 18 yr old's on our trip, many nights were spent on the rooftop bar enjoying cocktails (very nice!) and talking Toto the bar man! The rooftop bar is awesome and night with music going from about 6pm , but not loud enough to disrupt the stay of other guests.

We also travelled to and from phuket airport by the resort shuttle bus and it was on time , convenient and reasonably priced considering the 1hr trip.

All in all we were all very pleased with our stay at phunawa resort and would most definitely recommend it for others - it exceeded our expectations!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank beach_Ben23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Value Client

Thank you for staying with us at the Phunawa Resort.

We would appreciate for your write to Tripavisor and share your experience.

You and all our guests are really important to us. If you have any ideas for us to improve, feel free to contact us direct. We hope to soon have the pleasure of your return.



Best regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite which was very large only think which I found strange only a small sofa not enough room to all sit down and there was only 3 of us . To be honest I personally think the rooms could of done with a bit more cleaning and did not get sheets changed everyday like some of the hotels we stayed in . The thing I was not to keen on was we was on the second floor right at the bottom of the complex to so had to walk up loads or steps or down depending on which way you was going . Breakfast was ok but a lot of food left uncovered which was not to keen on and we ordered food at lunch time and we was the only people eating but took over 45 mins to get food .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charleymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Value Client

Thank you for staying with us at the Phunawa Resort

We would like to appreciate for your comment. You and all our guests are really important to us. If you have any ideas for us to improve, feel free to contact us direct. We must do to improve all your comment to be complete. We hope to soon have the pleasure of your return


Best regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Excellent first class service. Clean apartments friendly Staff. 5 minuets walk to the beach. Breakfast is delicious too. swimming pool surrounds the whole apartment block of the hotel and there is always a fresh towels on hand, and the play room for the kids is an added bonus.

Room Tip: The closer to the restaurant you are the better the wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Phunawa R, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Value Client

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Phunawa Resort Karon. We are very happy to read that your stay had been a success and we are most grateful for the compliments you have accorded us, which is most motivating for our team.
We hope you will find time to visit Phuket again in the near future, and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for future bookings.
Warm wishes from all of us at Phunawa Resort Karon Phuket.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Princess Seaview Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#60 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $41 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing