We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but Some Negative Features”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #79 of 134 Hotels in Karon
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great but Some Negative Features”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was fantastic! The staff were really helpful and very kind and guiding. The rooms were kept very clean and fresh. The TV was really good and we were able to get limited DVD’s from the reception. The pools were lovely and satisfying. The area outside the hotel was really muddy and dirty and you have to go up a long path to get to and from the hotel. A torch is handy to avoid stepping on snails and other creatures of the night.

Overall the hotel was very nice except there are no lifts; it was hard to take baggage up and down but the staff were more than happy to help. The food was tasty but they didn’t have much of a variety. Otherwise it was a great and enjoyable stay. I recommend going to the Apple Nail Salon on Bangla Road; the staff there were very friendly.

The hotel was nice and the staff advised us of loads of different activities to do! A lovely stay for everyone to enjoy… Just check the weather estimate and avoid going at the end of August/Early September.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    108
    51
    21
    10
See reviews for
169
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nicely placed from Patong, so you can retreat and chill from a crazy night out. A stone throw from Karon Beach, which they offer a free shuttle to and from. Also a great place to base yourself to explore some of the wonders of Thailand,.
The room we stayed in was exceptional! A massive top floor suite, and all kept very clean.
The restaurant here was also very good, we had breakfast included with our stay, and they catered for all tastes.
A big thank you to all the hotel staff for making our stay in Phuket a trip to remember!
David & Sylvi :) x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckts_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for 11 nights in May with my partner. We got a fantastic deal on Groupon which was $350 for 10 nights then paid for an extra night - bargain! The only catch was a mandatory appointment with a company selling timeshare-style packages but as soon as we said we weren't interested they left us alone. The resort is lovely, very quiet as it is back from the main road. We were a bit apprehensive due to the amazing price but the suite was fantastic - self-contained kitchen, decent lounge, bedroom and bathroom with wrap around balcony. The resort restaurant was also fantastic, food was amazing and the service was top notch.
My only issue was the shower was a bit impractical and there were several power outages including no water but I guess that can't be helped. I wouldn't stay in Karon again as we spent most of our time in Patong and it would have been much more convenient to stay there, we probably spent $200 on taxis.
But if you like to be out of the hustle and bustle, I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were here with family this may 2013 had a great time we opted for this hotel to stay away from the hustle and bustle of pkuket city the pool was superb worth every penny spent the staff were efficient smart and helpful rooms are good the poolview ones specially in all if you wanna chill and relax this hotel is for you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irfanind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Dewa Karon Beach just before they changed their name.
I was a bit disappointed with the fact that they gave us a 3rd floor room as we were in Thailand for surgery and the hotel was booked by our agent in Australia. Overall I really liked the hotel and our room was perfect and we got some good exercise walking up those stairs :)
We walked down to the beach and central Karon Beach every day a few times a day (20 minute walk) and didn't know if they had a shuttle for guests so they could improve their communication regarding services available for guests.
I found the restaurant a bit overpriced and they had a service charge that was not written on the menu which came as big surprise when I bought a bottle of water and didn't get the "right" change back (as there was no indication re any service charge) which I found pretty bad as I had to walk up to the bar after being seated for more than 10 minutes and then wait a bit longer for someone to help - I only found out about the service charge as the girl (who did not speak much English) came back and showed me the receipt. We ate all our meals except for our included breakfast, outside of the hotel.

BUT, I would definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for a good hotel, it is fairly close to central Karon, with a short stroll and if you have a room high enough you can actually see the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaHultqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

After a quick change of rooms due to a broken shower, stained and broken settee and the worst possible view from the balcony, our new room was much better.
This is not a resort for those that want a busy, noisy, high rise hotel! It is however, a very relaxing and well maintained resort with friendly staff.
We found the bar/restaurant staff helpful and the food of a good standard, we ate in the resort on numerous occasions. The happy hour was cheaper than bars in town, although not well attended by resort holiday makers.
Our room was cleaned when we required it done and had no problems, the suite was spacious and well presented (2 bedroomed 2nd floor suite).
As previously stated, taxis and locals refer to the resort by its previous brand name DEWA, but it easy to get back to after a late night. The walk down to the bar and larger hotel complexes in Karon is not beyond most, indeed it was a pleasant walk back to a much quieter resort after the hassle of being downtown.
The Karon Sovereign resort suited our needs, being away from the mad crowds and so relaxing. But I could see it is not for everyone, especially those with children and the limited resources around the pool area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family (2 adults and 3 kids, ages 5, 7 and 8) stayed at Karon Sovereign for 2 nights in early April, after spending a few nights on a dive boat. We arrived relatively late on the first night, and had to leave VERY early on our day of departure, so our stay was essentially one full day.

Staff was helpful in both the hotel office and the restaurant, and the room was nice. We 2-bedroom family suite, and the unit was very large. The bedrooms were taken up mostly by the beds, but there was plenty of walking room in the living area. The kitchen would be helpful for longer stays, and the balcony was nice, with a table and chairs that would have permitted nice meals outside.

That said, there were a few things that made this only an average place. First, it had no character. Everything was relatively bland and the staff was friendly, but not particularly engaged. Second, the room rate that we got was reasonable, but everything else cost extra money and was pricey. For example, our third child slept on the couch, and most places do not charge extra for a child who sleeps without extra bedding. Of course, I understand an extra charge if breakfast is included with the room. At Karon Sovereign, however, we were charged both for an extra occupant AND for the extra breakfast. Drinks and dinners also were pricey, and only average tasting.

But the biggest reason we likely won't be back to Karon Sovereign is the pool. It is an oval shape, with the restaurant in the middle and part of it on a lower level after a waterfall. Nice enough, but it means that you can see only a small portion of the pool at any one time, which is not ideal if you are keeping an eye on several small children. Moreover, the only pool chairs are at either end of the oval, with only six chairs total. For guests who have a room on the bottom floor poolside, the patios are fine places to sit. But if you don't have one of those rooms (and I don't think any of the family suites are there), then you are left trying to snag one of the six poolside chairs before any of the other guests. Not fun. Plus, the pool is pretty, but nothing really exciting. It was great for one day, but likely not for more.

The resort is also far from the beach and town, and transportation didn't seem particularly available. That wasn't a problem for our purposes, but wouldn't encourage us to stay longer.

At bottom, good enough, with nice staff and large rooms, but nothing special overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 134 in Karon
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
2.7 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 134 in Karon
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Property: Phunawa Resort
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#57 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing