We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #76 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family break”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very please with resort and our apartment. Staff are all very polite and helpful, stayed for four nights, children wants to go back again. Excellent food choices, would like to thank all staff for making our stay pleasant especially to the room coordinator manager for making our last night better. Shuttle bus to beach every day and collect in morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    108
    50
    21
    10
See reviews for
168
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

great hotel,excellent staff,nothing is too much trouble for them,suites are well furnished,plenty room,10 minute walk from centre of resort, food and drink well presented,pool.,sun deck, gardens ,bar/restaurant are all in good repair.
Hope to return soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I spent to weeks here in January and February. We were assigned a room on the pool, quite convenient for swimming but completely lacking in privacy. The centrally situated restaurant looked right down onto our deck and doorway. The room was pleasant however, clean and well appointed.
The breakfast buffet was pleasant enough. We enjoyed the made to order omelets and fresh fruit and salad. The walk to Karon beach is a little uncomfortable due to new construction in the area. We used it everyday however, for the exercise and because the shuttle ran only once daily to the beach and back.
We avoided the restaurant at night due to a complete lack of character.The restaurants in town were vibrant, we most often chose to eat there.
The main problem we had was a request from the manager to switch rooms. Apparently a returning guest had specifically requested our room. We were shown an upgraded suite as compensation and offered a dinner and wine at the restaurant. In appreciation for us moving.
We agreed, even though the new room was on the back of the property with no pool access.
We were informed we were welcome to enjoy the dinner and wine any night we choose. We took advantage of this offer and enjoyed a light dinner with wine that evening. The next day I saw the manager and informed him that we had had the wine and dinner, he appeared delighted and thanked us again for giving up our room.
For the remainder of our stay we were quite comfortable. Our one issue was an impossible to regulate shower, the only two temperatures were scalding hot and freezing cold. The bed was comfortable however and for the most part we were comfortable.
On the morning of our checkout I was presented with a bill for our room charges. The dinner and wine we had enjoyed as reward for moving was on the bill. When I explained the situation the very surly and unfriendly girl said we would have had to order a special dinner and wine of their choosing to get it free. As I was adamant that I was not paying for it she eventually called the manager and after a ten minute conversation finally ripped up the bill. At No time did she apologize for the mixup. I left without a goodbye from her or a thank you.
Karon beach itself is quite lovely. beautiful sand and clean warm water. You can rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach for a reasonable price and watch the endless stream of people walk by. I would say about 90 percent of the tourists here are Russian, we found most of them unfriendly and in the habit of chain smoking. For this reason we probably would not return to Karon beach or to this resort.

Room Tip: Unless you have a poolside room, there are virtually no areas to relax by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryY1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We reached the resort slightly after 10am and we were definitely pleased that we could check into one of the 2 rooms earlier than 2pm.

The Resort
Pros:
Good place if you are looking to spend quality time with your family and friends as the resort is nicely tucked away from the crowd (a 10-15mins walk to Karon Beach or 3 mins tuk tuk ride at 200 baht).
The resort give a great cosy feeling as it not designed with a lot of rooms.
Great pool and we spent a good deal of our time having fun there.
Big Thank You to Ms. Jenya and her staffs in providing a great service and alwas looking into our needs.
DVDs are available which you could borrow at the front desk not to expect too much for quality and selection as it looked like those we got it off the streets.
Good value for the price that we paid
Cons:
A sewage plant at the back of the resort which occasionally emits out pungent odour and the smell is more frequent and stronger during the mid day. This was not an issue once we were in our rooms.
Thai food in the hotel was reasonably priced for a resort but the quality was of average. We were left with a bad experience as we were served with a spoilt mango sticky rice for our room service and only getting back our refund after some haggling.
One timing for complimentary ride to karon beach at 1030am and back at 3.30pm.

The Room: Penthouse suites 1531 and 1532
Pros:
Big and clean suites.
a well equipped kitchen (which we did some cooking ourselves).
comfortable the living room.

Cons:
Inconsistent supply of hot water for the shower despite regulating the tap. Got scalded on a few occasions as if there is a sudden surge of hot water and sometimes it was just cold water even with the tap adjusted for hot water only.
Be careful with the blinds in the bathrooms, as the windows of both bathrooms are faced towards the corridor which we certainly felt inadequate with the our privacy.
Balconies of our rooms are fully accessible from the corridor as there is no barrier between. We have to keep our balconies doors locked at all time even when we were in the rooms.
Look out for the sharp corners of the coffee table as one of the rooms has it fully exposed and we got ourselves a few scratches when navigating round it.

Other than a few hiccups, the overall experience staying in the resort is good and the service staffs played a great deal in it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhongzheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived at around 1am and were pleasantly surprised to find reception manned and extremely helpful. The two guys from housekeeping were amazing, even putting together a baby cot for us (they had never done it before) and then taking husband off in their car to the local 24hr shop for some essentials and well deserved beers!
The room we were put in was ok inside but was furthest away from the pool and restaurant and had no view at all. Considering we were staying for 12 days we decided to ask to be moved, it took a little persuation but eventually we managed to get a room directly opposite the restaurant/pool which was perfect as we could put the littlest kids down for a nap and sit in the pool and see right into the apartment.
Inside the 2 bed apartment was great, open plan living/dining/sitting and two good sized bedrooms with ensuites. No bath but that was not an issue for us as the kids like showers.
Kitchen was fully equipped - crockery pots and pans, kettle etc (a toaster would have been great)
Hairdryer,TV,DVD player all provided, and big fridge. We did a couple of food shops and fed the kids ourselves most days.
The breakfast was very limited and exactly the same each day which became boring very quickly. The menu for pool snacks was also very limited and not everything was available which basically left burgers or ham and cheese sandwiches. The food at night when we ate there was good, but no atmosphere in the restaurant and lights blazing put us off eating there.
There is so much potential for the resort to make money on food and drink but the staff bar one or two show no interest or initiative, not once did anyone come round the pool or sunbathing area to see if anyone wanted food or drinks. We spent a lot of time round/in the pool and would have easily spent loads on cocktails, soft drinks and snacks had someone offered but we were too lazy to get out or walk tomthe restaurant to order.
The pool area is good for small kids but for couples etc there is no where to lie by the pool and relax as the sunbeds are all on the roof of e restaurant.
The location was not great for us with 3 toddlers as it was too for them to walk into town or to the beach and the hotel taxi goes once a day to the beach, so it can get expensive. We hired a car for a week and travelled around a lot, but even to go down to Karon and back twice a day would have cost the same as the cost of the car each day.
All in all I can't fault the accommodation, but the resort was far from special. Not going to be rushing back unfortunately.

Room Tip: Don't settle for the rooms at the back of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsaym1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived about 5pm after a 2 hr delay from Samui, the staff weren't ill waiting for us thank god! Bit of noise when we got into room 1422 had a scout about and found we're we close to a water plant, anyway called reception and said it was a bit disturbing and no problem at all they agreed to move us next morning and even upgraded to a 2 bed apartment which is fantastic, can't thank Janya enough. This room is fab, huge bedroom, full kitchen, oven, fridge, microwave etc etc, massive and very comfy living area, tv, DVD and brilliant air con! It's super clean (room 1512) has huge balcony with loungers etc, its perfect! Got it on a Groupon deal so excellent value for money. Would come again at this price. Hired scooters so no need for the 10 min walk to talk, plenty of bars, shops, restaurants all just far away enough not to be annoying with the noise etc but close enough to pop out anytime. Pool at hotel great, wraps round the resort, plenty of sun loungers, bar, restaurant , spa etc. we are loving it.

Room Tip: Room 1512 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just gotten back from this hotel and I was very happy with the standard and service here. We were allowed to check in early and given a free upgrade. Its an easy walk down the hill to Karon Beach, however we found ourselves being more attracted to Patong. It was great to know we could charge our taxi fare to our room. Very family friendly, our toddler really enjoyed this place. the pool could be a bit of a concern if you have a runaway child as its restaurant is set up in the middle of the pool and you can get through the bushes to the pool area so would need to keep an eye on our young kids. The service was great, certain staff has better english than others but they were only too happy to help out with tours etc. The beds are big and firm but we slept like a log every night. If I was going to be really picky |I would say the showers have a slight mildew smell to them, but its fine if the room is aired out. The rooms are so much bigger than I thought they would be from the photos so I was impressed. We tried out the spa but to be honest I preffered the massages off the streets rather than this experience. plus they are half the price. Breakfast is good - fresh fruit and freshly made omlettes as well as all the normal buffet spreads. We only ate dinner once and it was the Thai Buffet and it was delicious. The only negative for us was that it wasnt located in Patong!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the staircases, they can get noisy during the night or early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieJamesHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 133 in Karon
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.0 mi away
Pacific Club Resort
Pacific Club Resort
#1 of 5 in Karon Beach
1,485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Phuket Southsea
Ramada Phuket Southsea
#101 of 133 in Karon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Property: Phunawa Resort
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#54 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing