We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have nothing but praise for this Hotel”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #79 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Zurrieq, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We have nothing but praise for this Hotel”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have nothing but praise for this Hotel. Our stay was very comfortable. The pool is lovely and the breakfast was adequate. Rooms very clean and modern. .We had a good Thai massage at the hotel tooWe are going back soon.

Room Tip: We loved room 1132 which is for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queenOkaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    108
    51
    21
    10
See reviews for
169
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Flekkefjord, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week in this beautiful resort last month. The resort was nor fully booked and they gave us free of charge upgrade to a fantasic Family Suite. Lots of space for a family of 3. Our baby got a room for himself and we could enjoy ourselfs. Lots of space outside and not to warm since it is a bit up from the beach - 15 min to walk. It is also 12 min to walk to "center" of Karon. Friendly staff and very good food reasonabled priced. A place to return to :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trondav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

When we arrived we were very impressed by the efficiency of the reception staff and by the standard of our suite, which has a kitchen area, a lounge area with a flat screen tv and DVD player, a bedroom with an en suite bathroom and a lovely shower room with a rainfall shower.

The hotel is located up a slight slope but this is not a problem and there is a free shuttle to the beach if you don't fancy the 10 minute walk. We''ve walked back in the early hours of the morning and not felt unsafe or threatened in any way.

We had noted some mention of the breakfast being basic but this is not so, eggs cooked to order with bacon, sausage, waffles and another hot item each day. A full continental section has various hams and cheeses, together with salad. There's 8 different cereals, 2 breads and toast, croissants and danish pastries, fresh fruit salad, pineapple and melon, whole coconuts and 2 sorts of yogurts. There's 3 juices, fresh ground coffee and tea, and every morning, the waiter makes me a pot of my favourite green tea. What do these people want???

In short a lovely hotel I'd come back to in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linz6bil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hi we have found all the staff great, rooms are nice ,breakfast is beautiful everyday,the walk to karon is about 10 mins would class it a quite easy walk unless you are a lazy. There is construction work next door but it didn't cause a drama for us. My partner had planned surgery in Phuket and she walk the stairs to our room easy without a problem and I'm sure if you ask to be put on a ground floor the would accommodate.
We also spoke to staff ( Lillian ),paid for the room in full before leaving Australia and it caused no problem.
We found that where the resort is place is out of the Hussle and bustle of karon which we seem to love so you could relax without the constant beeping of tuk tuk horns. We would class this hotel up there with any of the 4 star resort back in oz. whilst we didn't have our kids with us there were a lot of families here and we plan to bring our kids next year . We would like to end by saying thanks for the great service you provide dewa karon beach resort.


Regards Adam & Peta
From Australia

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

It's a big resort in a small area but at no time dose it feel busy. We stayed in a family suite. Two bedrooms with a living room and kitchen. The rooms are really nice. Lots of nice little touches. You have everything u need. The room service was fast and the food and drink good. This is a great spot for family's coz it has a great pool and a kids room. It's only a 5/10min walk to the beach or u can get the free shuttle in the morning. That would be my only compliant is that they should have a shuttle too and from the beach every couple of hours. But this would not stop me choosing to stay there next time.
Next year I won't be looking around for a hotel I will be going straight back to dewa.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toshtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear ToshTanner,

We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great value for money. Also got a free upgrade when as our original room was next to construction work.

Breakfast buffet is outstanding, the coffee made to order is up there with the best coffee shops in Melbourne.

The hotel is located a 10 min walk away from the main street & beach. On hot days it can be a little tough walking back up the hill but if you are reasonably fit its not a big deal.

The only negative thing is that the tiles around the pool area are very slippery, the kids fell over and hurt themselves many times so take care if you are older or have young children.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fantastic 'Family Suite' but we didn't get what we paid for. The pictures advertised on the Dewa Karon website differed greatly to the room given to us. Staff were not overly helpful or friendly. Breakfast was average but ok, not a great variety. Our spa kept tripping out the circuit breaker after 5 minutes , scary experience when your sitting in a tub that needs fixing by an electrician not the maintenance man. The pool was slimy around the edges and needed a good clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanesheps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Shanesheps,

We are sorry to hear your spa experience was not up to standard. Since your stay we have worked on these issues. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 134 in Karon
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
2.7 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 134 in Karon
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Property: Phunawa Resort
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#57 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing