We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dewa Karon”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #80 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Tammisaari, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dewa Karon”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at dewa Karon from Okt 13-18-2012.Before we booked this hotel we read som reviews on some booking sites abot the distance from the hotel to the beach being about 10 min by car!! We booked it anyway ,good price and the rooms looked nice in the pictures.
We where wery surprised that the distance was about 900meter !!! Took us 10 min to walk down to the beach.The hotel was wery nice and the staff friendly.The room/suite we stayd in was clean and fresh and wery spacious.We had one of our best stays in Thailand,specially the atmosphere of the hotel was relaxing and laidback.No traffic sound.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mats F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    108
    51
    21
    10
See reviews for
169
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Dewa from the 12-19 October 2012 as a family of four. We have stayed at many hotels in Asia and found the Dewa to be one of the best. It is casual, relaxing and although smaller than some, we found really inviting. The hotel itself is slightly and I mean slightly out of town but enough so that you are out of the hustle and bustle. We found it a 10 minute walk from the town/beach and we had no problems even in the humidity.

The room itself is always clean and spacious. We had two bedrooms and two bathrooms, it was simple but sufficient. We could walk from the room straight into the pool and this was a big bonus for the kids.

The restaurant catered for us on numerous occasions and we found the meals to be fresh, hot and tasty. The breakfast is basic but we found this adequate to start the day.

The staff were great!!! They are friendly, accommodating and always smiling. We will definately stay at the Dewar again. Oh and we loved Chai the taxi guy. He was always willing to help us and had great ideas to explore Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Dewa Karon Beach from 2-13th Oct 2012, in a junior family suite on the ground floor (2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms). Rooms were very spacious and comfortable, and overall the resort was very quiet and clean. For just over $70 (NZD) per night, including breakfast for 3 people, you really can't go wrong with this resort if you don't mind being slightly away from the centre of Karon. We rented a car for several days from the on site car rental office and had no problems getting around. The staff were always friendly and helpful.
The only negatives were: there are not a great variety of choices on the breakfast menu, but there are plenty of cheap alternatives for breakfast close by. The pool is only open from 7am-7pm - one evening we were told to get out of the pool not long after 7pm, but we saw other people swimming later on subsequent nights. We experienced several power cuts during our stay, ranging from a few minutes to hours - this may be related to the construction across the road. The resort advertises it has a mini-mart on site, but this was nowhere to be found and the staff we asked about it seemed to have no idea. It was possibly a room beside the restaurant that was being renovated during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dewa recently and experienced one of the best stays we have had anywhere.
I have stayed in 5 star hotels and resorts all over Australia and a couple overseas and Dewa Karon is as good if not better than most I have stayed in.
The layout is simple to negotiate and the rooms (well the one we stayed in) are very private from neighbouring rooms yet have a great view overlooking the pool, grounds and resturant.
The staff are very warm and polite and always a smile and they will do anything they are capable of to be of service to you.
The room we stayed in (which was a standard one bedroom suite) was very spacious with quality fittings and finishes, it came with an ensuite and a main bathroom.
The resturant is well apointed with views over the pool and the meals were top quality, we ate there a few times and were definately not dissapointed, although the breakfast menu is what you would get in average hotels, yet does have an nice twist to it with someone there to make your eggs just how you want them.
i have read complaints about it's location being up a steep hill, my definition of a steep hill does not mean a slight incline, which is only a few meters to the hotel, as for walking to and from the hotel at night, we did it regularly and had no unsettled feelings doing it (and my wife is basicaly a wuse), it is all part of the experience.
There is a huge construction in progress accross the road at present and our room was accross from it, work continues late into the night and early morning, yet it did not disturb us.
Housekeeping was imaculate and they always replenished the bottled water in the fridge (which is suitable for drinking)
I found that the fact that the hotel had a taxi service onsite was very convenient on certain occasions and was in comparision with other taxis pricewise.
Overall I would recomend Dewa Karon to anyone travelling to Phuket and wanting to stay in Karon and I would be more than happy to stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear MR,

Thanks for your honest comments and we are delighted you had a great stay with us, please do come and see us again,

Regards, Lillian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel was pretty inacessible, taxi didnt knw where it was, but we rented a bike so it wasnt a problem for us. On bike, the hotel was 5 mins away from patong which was great cos karon lacked food at 2am. The hotel was amazing. Beautifully furnished, a hugee balcony, living area and fully equiped kitchen. The pool was pretty empty cos everyone goes to the beach instead, but i think the pool is worth a dip too. I had a great time and this hotel has great value for money. We paid sgd$60/night and received a 2 bedroom suite. Think that was a mistake tho. Nonetheless, we enjoyed it fully.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iffah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Iffah,

We are happy you had a good time, come back and stay with us again soon.

Regards, Lillian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at Dewa Karon based on the cheap price and reviews on Trip Advisor, but now I can confidently say I won't be recommending this hotel to friends. The staff were friendly enough but I never felt fully safe at this hotel. We had a one bedroom apartment on the top floor of one of the buildings furthest away. The balony was accessible to anyone from the back of the building (hidden from view), so the one day that I wanted to lounge around the apartment by myself (my partner went into town) I couldn't even leave the balcony doors open as I had an uneasy feeling knowing anyone could simply walk into our room while I dosed on the couch. We also didn't feel safe walking back late at night in the dark (Possibly off-set by a general feeling in Karon that all the locals just see tourists as money making potential - it really is a tourist town).

There was also renovation work being done in some of the rooms in our building so on the two days I had 'relaxing' in the hotel all I could hear was hammering and sawing coming up through the flooring. On intervals of that noise I could hear the new resort construction over the road! What a noisy place to try and relax. The pool is also only open 7am-7pm which was annoying when we wanted a quiet swim in the heat after dinner.

Breakfast was average but that was expected for the price. A bigger selection of local fruits would be good. We ate lunch at the restaurant once and it was average. But the upside is that the food at the hotel next door is amazing! (and cheaper)

What really upset the end of our trip was the rude taxi company (maybe the boss) and ridiculously high prices of the hotel transport. Dewa charge 1,200 baht for airport transport, but it only costs 600 baht from the airport in a taxi. When we tried to negotiate the price of the Dewa taxi service to the airport we were told bluntly that they wouldn't negotiate. So we shopped around and arranged a taxi for 800 baht in Patong (really you should pay no more than 600 baht). The driver agreed to pick us up from Dewa. When he arrived from his town 10 minutes away to pick us up, however, the Dewa taxi service (manager?) was not happy that we had arranged our own transport to the airport and yelled at the Patong driver, who was obviously upset by the whole situation and got in his car and drove away. So we were forced to use the Dewa service. (they charged us 800 baht to the airport). The whole thing was rude, bullying and quite frankly an intimidating situation. When we got in the Dewa car the taxi driver had a sign to pick up someone else at the airport - he was going there anyway!

I certainly would recommend shopping around before staying at Dewa - the hotel next door gets a better rating on Trip Advisor and cost less per night (we found that out when we got there). But if you're happy to compromise on the things I have mentioned above then you might like this hotel for your stay. Just be wary of the crook taxi service - who are only in it for the money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyInEurope10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear AmyInEurope,

Sorry to hear about your taxi experience. Outside taxis are a long standing challenge for Phuket and completely out of our control. The taxi service we offer from the hotel is a fixed price but our drivers are safe, legal and not touting for extra business. They are there to serve our guests. Taxi fares from the airport are always less money than journeys going back, again, this is a Phuket transportation issue and as far as we are aware the local government are trying to fix it.
You are correct, Karon is a popular tourist destination, most guests enjoy having the convenience of home comforts in the tropics. Phuket is generally a friendly place and our guests have given us feedback that they feel safe here and in the resort so we are sorry you did not feel the same.

Regards, Lillian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For this price you get a great room. The rooms are very clean and very spacious. I liked the hardware of this resort indeed.
The environment is very silent as well. It gives us some breath and peace to enjoy our holiday and keep us really slow paced, and makes us feel that we are really in a rejoicing holiday.

I think the only problem of this resort is it is being too new. It still have things not functioning. In our first night of stay the Jacuzzi is not working at all - and in the next day they found out they did not turn on the power supply. In the second day it is broken after few minutes of use and their people is unable to fix it. They partially fixed it in 3rd day of stay but it is still operating unpredictably. Extremely disappointed as I told them I booked the Penthouse for the tub but I never get to use it.

Moreover, the staff attitude are extreme as someone mentioned in another review. For instance, the male staff we encountered are exceptionally friendly but not the female staff. One of the examples is the female restaurant staff was talking with us rudely when we were having dinner. All male staff in the entire resort are extremely friendly and always serve with smile in their face. So a big tip is to avoid female staff when you need anything.

The location of the resort is up somewhere in the hill, and is accessible by only a very dark and small road. Plus there are other construction sites next door. You really want to take taxi or hotel shuttle when you are getting in and out of the resort, especially in the night. Oh yes, do not approach the resort for any service arrangements. They are serverely overpriced. You would better want to get all the arrangements in town.

As a conclusion, I like the stay environment and give full score to it, but not with the service and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Red N,

We are delighted that your overall experience of the room was good, but sad to hear that you were unhappy with our technical challenges and some of our team.

We are taking your comments very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards, Lillian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 134 in Karon
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
2.1 mi away
Peach Blossom Resort
Peach Blossom Resort
#67 of 134 in Karon
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Property: Phunawa Resort
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing