We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It exceeded our expectations and blew our minds away for ahwile”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #78 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel was pretty inacessible, taxi didnt knw where it was, but we rented a bike so it wasnt a problem for us. On bike, the hotel was 5 mins away from patong which was great cos karon lacked food at 2am. The hotel was amazing. Beautifully furnished, a hugee balcony, living area and fully equiped kitchen. The pool was pretty empty cos everyone goes to the beach instead, but i think the pool is worth a dip too. I had a great time and this hotel has great value for money. We paid sgd$60/night and received a 2 bedroom suite. Think that was a mistake tho. Nonetheless, we enjoyed it fully.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iffah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Iffah,

We are happy you had a good time, come back and stay with us again soon.

Regards, Lillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Phunawa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 315 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at Dewa Karon based on the cheap price and reviews on Trip Advisor, but now I can confidently say I won't be recommending this hotel to friends. The staff were friendly enough but I never felt fully safe at this hotel. We had a one bedroom apartment on the top floor of one of the buildings furthest away. The balony was accessible to anyone from the back of the building (hidden from view), so the one day that I wanted to lounge around the apartment by myself (my partner went into town) I couldn't even leave the balcony doors open as I had an uneasy feeling knowing anyone could simply walk into our room while I dosed on the couch. We also didn't feel safe walking back late at night in the dark (Possibly off-set by a general feeling in Karon that all the locals just see tourists as money making potential - it really is a tourist town).

There was also renovation work being done in some of the rooms in our building so on the two days I had 'relaxing' in the hotel all I could hear was hammering and sawing coming up through the flooring. On intervals of that noise I could hear the new resort construction over the road! What a noisy place to try and relax. The pool is also only open 7am-7pm which was annoying when we wanted a quiet swim in the heat after dinner.

Breakfast was average but that was expected for the price. A bigger selection of local fruits would be good. We ate lunch at the restaurant once and it was average. But the upside is that the food at the hotel next door is amazing! (and cheaper)

What really upset the end of our trip was the rude taxi company (maybe the boss) and ridiculously high prices of the hotel transport. Dewa charge 1,200 baht for airport transport, but it only costs 600 baht from the airport in a taxi. When we tried to negotiate the price of the Dewa taxi service to the airport we were told bluntly that they wouldn't negotiate. So we shopped around and arranged a taxi for 800 baht in Patong (really you should pay no more than 600 baht). The driver agreed to pick us up from Dewa. When he arrived from his town 10 minutes away to pick us up, however, the Dewa taxi service (manager?) was not happy that we had arranged our own transport to the airport and yelled at the Patong driver, who was obviously upset by the whole situation and got in his car and drove away. So we were forced to use the Dewa service. (they charged us 800 baht to the airport). The whole thing was rude, bullying and quite frankly an intimidating situation. When we got in the Dewa car the taxi driver had a sign to pick up someone else at the airport - he was going there anyway!

I certainly would recommend shopping around before staying at Dewa - the hotel next door gets a better rating on Trip Advisor and cost less per night (we found that out when we got there). But if you're happy to compromise on the things I have mentioned above then you might like this hotel for your stay. Just be wary of the crook taxi service - who are only in it for the money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyInEurope10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear AmyInEurope,

Sorry to hear about your taxi experience. Outside taxis are a long standing challenge for Phuket and completely out of our control. The taxi service we offer from the hotel is a fixed price but our drivers are safe, legal and not touting for extra business. They are there to serve our guests. Taxi fares from the airport are always less money than journeys going back, again, this is a Phuket transportation issue and as far as we are aware the local government are trying to fix it.
You are correct, Karon is a popular tourist destination, most guests enjoy having the convenience of home comforts in the tropics. Phuket is generally a friendly place and our guests have given us feedback that they feel safe here and in the resort so we are sorry you did not feel the same.

Regards, Lillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For this price you get a great room. The rooms are very clean and very spacious. I liked the hardware of this resort indeed.
The environment is very silent as well. It gives us some breath and peace to enjoy our holiday and keep us really slow paced, and makes us feel that we are really in a rejoicing holiday.

I think the only problem of this resort is it is being too new. It still have things not functioning. In our first night of stay the Jacuzzi is not working at all - and in the next day they found out they did not turn on the power supply. In the second day it is broken after few minutes of use and their people is unable to fix it. They partially fixed it in 3rd day of stay but it is still operating unpredictably. Extremely disappointed as I told them I booked the Penthouse for the tub but I never get to use it.

Moreover, the staff attitude are extreme as someone mentioned in another review. For instance, the male staff we encountered are exceptionally friendly but not the female staff. One of the examples is the female restaurant staff was talking with us rudely when we were having dinner. All male staff in the entire resort are extremely friendly and always serve with smile in their face. So a big tip is to avoid female staff when you need anything.

The location of the resort is up somewhere in the hill, and is accessible by only a very dark and small road. Plus there are other construction sites next door. You really want to take taxi or hotel shuttle when you are getting in and out of the resort, especially in the night. Oh yes, do not approach the resort for any service arrangements. They are serverely overpriced. You would better want to get all the arrangements in town.

As a conclusion, I like the stay environment and give full score to it, but not with the service and location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Red N,

We are delighted that your overall experience of the room was good, but sad to hear that you were unhappy with our technical challenges and some of our team.

We are taking your comments very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards, Lillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived late and the staff were willing and waited for us to arrive. The room is magnificent and was upgraded (free of charge) to a Penthouse as we stayed for 7 nights with a break in the middle at Phi Phi Island. There is a kitchen, large lounge, bedroom and huge bathroom. very modern. This resort has outstanding service. We had no bad experiences and nothing was stolen. We did use the in room safe though for our valuables. The distance to town and beach is a 15 min walk so we hired a scooter. If you have had some experience on a bike, just rent one and don't worry, it's safe. 150 Bt per day is cheaper than 1 taxi ride to Patong. The place we rented one is where I would go. Follow these directions. When you go down to Karon Beach you will see a large roundabout. Veer perpendicular to the beach so you go up the main street.... restaurants, bars, ATMs etc. The street to take is the 3rd street left. You will know which street it is as there are a few motorbike rentals on the left when you go down this street. Also there is a white dog lounging around on the corner next to a lady and a bbq selling food. Go to the last bike vendor on the left as it has a massage for part of their business. You won't need to leave your passport with them for security. Just have a photocopy of it. (you can get one on the main street at the Kodak shop on the main street, 2 Bt). It's next to the Gun Bar (Girly Bar). The bikes all have numbers painted on the front of them. Look for J22. That's the bike we had, 135cc and its zippy, good tread and comfy. The other bikes need some service. The good part here is that the deposit is only 600 Bt. All the other bike vendors want over 1000 and one shop wanted 5000 Bt. Back to the resort. This resort is new! and they are continually maintaining it. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the chef lady is amazing. You will recognise her as she has captivating eyes. There are some reports of the water recycling plant next door and the noise/smell. Don't stress as its not noisy and only a faint smell if the wind is blowing the wrong direction. It's at the back of the resort. I parked the bike right outside the stairs to our room. The pool is nice and most people swim in the lower one with the waterfalls. There are a couple of balls to play with there too. The only comment I would make is that the kitchen could have a few more additions, like a dish cloth, tea towel and some more pans for cooking etc. The gas was also hard to switch and gave up (used the electric instead). Plus the spa button didn't work but I didn't investigate that properly. So in all it gets a top rating from me. And trust me I have been to over 35 countries and many countless returns so don't miss this resort. It is a beauty. if you need help when there see, See (yes that's his name) PS. Don't eat at the restaurant next to the bike rental place. We did and got sick from BAD TUNA at the end of our holiday.

Room Tip: If you book more than 2 nights ask for the upgrade in room. Off season you will get the best rate...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikeinmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Mike,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in Thailand.

Regards, Lillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We Visited Phuket Thailand between August 23 and Septamber 04 , 2012 ( Family Vacation ) but sorry to inform everyone that we were stolen at this Hotel .
Everyday when we used to go out they keep asking us where are you going? the beach? and then we were saying to ourselves that these people are so firendly !!!!!!!!
The day before checking out we found out that 100$ had disappeared from my husband's wallet and we did complain at the reception and we thought that the house keeping lady is the one who did it.
Next Day before we check out, we packed our things and went down to the restaurant for breakfast and when we came back my husband checked the wallet AGAIN and we found out that another 100$ had disappeared!!!! the problem is the house keeping that day never visited our room!!! So, who stole the money? for sure they are the staff and the reason to steal at the last day we discovered from the police when we called them they informed us that we have to go and complain there and the police will not come to the hotel, and we got only hours for our flight so we didn't go to the police station!!!!
I will never recommend anyone to go and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: my advise , is to find other Hotel and don't book t this Hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Fadhel,

We are sorry that you had a bad experience and you left us still feeling that the issue had not been resolved. As we discussed with you when you were here with us, in Thailand you have to file a police report in person at the police station. We are not permitted to make that complaint on your behalf and you did not take us up on our offer to drive you there.

Since your departure we have, of course, investigated this matter further and encourage our guests to use the safety deposit box in their rooms for their valuables. As a goodwill gesture we would be delighted to have you back here at the resort; the first night’s stay is on us.

Warmest regards
Lillian Carpenter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

On my third visit to Thailand and the first to Karon Beach, we chose the newly opened (November 11) Dewa Karon Resort. Rather than being a hotel, the resort is much more like a serviced apartment complex, so it may leave those used to a traditional hotel service feeling a little wanting. The rooms are very spacious and most come with kitchens, living rooms, large balconies and at least one bathroom. Most look out over the hotel itself or beyond to the beach. For many guests, the pool will be a big drawcard - its large and is designed like a moat surrounding the only hotel restaurant and bar. Being a new resort, there's very little shade around the pool as the trees continue to grow, meaning on hot and sunny days, the heat was intense. The hotel is located ten minutes walk from Karon Beach (which is beautiful) and only around 5 minutes from the first convenience stores, shops and restaurants. I can understand why some guests would not feel safe or comfortable making the walk to town at night. The hotel is located up a hill down two dimly lit roads surrounded by some makeshift housing. As others have commented, the hotel taxi charged 250THB to go a very short distance - almost as much as it cost to travel to Patong, which is a ten minute drive away. The buffet breakfast was ok, but not up to standards of other 5 star hotel experiences. There is a mix of Asian and western foods on offer and its pretty much self serve. Depending on who was on that day, the staff ranged from very friendly and attentive to disinterested. One one dinner occasion when we were the only diners in the restaurant, the staff member was pretty much completely non-attentive and stood in the middle of the room watching her favourite soap opera on the large screen TV. Similarly, the staff could be seen ducked down behind the bar in the restaurant eating breakfast as guests ate theirs. Not a big deal, but something you wouldn't see at a major hotel. The hotel apartment, a spacious two bedroom two bathroom apartment, had excellent air conditioning, full kitchen and very comfortable and large king size bed. The balcony also was spacious and had a table and chairs overlooking the pool and forest. One very annoying thing was that despite the fact the bedroom had power and cable in the wall for a television screen, there was none installed. This meant that any relaxing in front of the TV was done in the living room on a single excruciatingly uncomfortable wicker sofa. The restaurant has a happy hour between 5 and 7 every night, but the drinks (cocktails) seemed to be exactly the same price as non happy hour. We ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant on numerous occasions and for a longer stay, the menu would become tired pretty quickly as its quite limited. The hotel next right next door has a restaurant with a much more substantial menu (both western and Asian) with cheaper prices. Overall though, the Dewa is excellent value. There are many deals around and if you can find a great price, it is probably the ideal base (particularly for couples or families) to base yourself in Karon. Some service issues let it down though - but if you're happy to spend some time in the pool, or days at the beach, with a clean and new apartment to come home too, its likely to be a better option than many of the other nearby resorts in Karon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoryLeighP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear CoryLeighP,

Thank you for all the positives and we have listened to your constructive feedback especially regarding your dining experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort and trust you enjoy a more consistent level of service when you return.

Warmest regards

Lillian Carpenter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Dewa Resort and found it to be very enjoyable. We were very pleasantly surprised at the size of our apartment. It made the stay even better. Service was wonderful and the staff could not do enough for us. My only negative comment would be that even though it was only 5-10 mins walk from Karon, at night as women we did not feel safe walking to and from the resort, of course you can always get a taxi but we found that the ones in Karon Beach were more inclined to charge too much. It was always 300 THB to and from Patong Beach but at Karon they wanted 200THB just to go a very short distance and to our surprise they were unnegotiable. Even though Dewa resort has only one restaurant, we found it was all we needed for the short time we stayed. All in all no complaints

Room Tip: All suites face the pool which is nice
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, Glad to read that you have had a pleasant stay and we look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.
Warmest regards from all of us at Dewa Karon, Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#11 of 135 in Karon
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
Princess Seaview Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $51 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing