We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastc Resort Despite What Some Might Say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #75 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Fuzhou, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Fantastc Resort Despite What Some Might Say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived late and the staff were willing and waited for us to arrive. The room is magnificent and was upgraded (free of charge) to a Penthouse as we stayed for 7 nights with a break in the middle at Phi Phi Island. There is a kitchen, large lounge, bedroom and huge bathroom. very modern. This resort has outstanding service. We had no bad experiences and nothing was stolen. We did use the in room safe though for our valuables. The distance to town and beach is a 15 min walk so we hired a scooter. If you have had some experience on a bike, just rent one and don't worry, it's safe. 150 Bt per day is cheaper than 1 taxi ride to Patong. The place we rented one is where I would go. Follow these directions. When you go down to Karon Beach you will see a large roundabout. Veer perpendicular to the beach so you go up the main street.... restaurants, bars, ATMs etc. The street to take is the 3rd street left. You will know which street it is as there are a few motorbike rentals on the left when you go down this street. Also there is a white dog lounging around on the corner next to a lady and a bbq selling food. Go to the last bike vendor on the left as it has a massage for part of their business. You won't need to leave your passport with them for security. Just have a photocopy of it. (you can get one on the main street at the Kodak shop on the main street, 2 Bt). It's next to the Gun Bar (Girly Bar). The bikes all have numbers painted on the front of them. Look for J22. That's the bike we had, 135cc and its zippy, good tread and comfy. The other bikes need some service. The good part here is that the deposit is only 600 Bt. All the other bike vendors want over 1000 and one shop wanted 5000 Bt. Back to the resort. This resort is new! and they are continually maintaining it. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the chef lady is amazing. You will recognise her as she has captivating eyes. There are some reports of the water recycling plant next door and the noise/smell. Don't stress as its not noisy and only a faint smell if the wind is blowing the wrong direction. It's at the back of the resort. I parked the bike right outside the stairs to our room. The pool is nice and most people swim in the lower one with the waterfalls. There are a couple of balls to play with there too. The only comment I would make is that the kitchen could have a few more additions, like a dish cloth, tea towel and some more pans for cooking etc. The gas was also hard to switch and gave up (used the electric instead). Plus the spa button didn't work but I didn't investigate that properly. So in all it gets a top rating from me. And trust me I have been to over 35 countries and many countless returns so don't miss this resort. It is a beauty. if you need help when there see, See (yes that's his name) PS. Don't eat at the restaurant next to the bike rental place. We did and got sick from BAD TUNA at the end of our holiday.

Room Tip: If you book more than 2 nights ask for the upgrade in room. Off season you will get the best rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeinmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Mike,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in Thailand.

Regards, Lillian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    106
    50
    21
    10
See reviews for
168
61
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Al Jahra, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We Visited Phuket Thailand between August 23 and Septamber 04 , 2012 ( Family Vacation ) but sorry to inform everyone that we were stolen at this Hotel .
Everyday when we used to go out they keep asking us where are you going? the beach? and then we were saying to ourselves that these people are so firendly !!!!!!!!
The day before checking out we found out that 100$ had disappeared from my husband's wallet and we did complain at the reception and we thought that the house keeping lady is the one who did it.
Next Day before we check out, we packed our things and went down to the restaurant for breakfast and when we came back my husband checked the wallet AGAIN and we found out that another 100$ had disappeared!!!! the problem is the house keeping that day never visited our room!!! So, who stole the money? for sure they are the staff and the reason to steal at the last day we discovered from the police when we called them they informed us that we have to go and complain there and the police will not come to the hotel, and we got only hours for our flight so we didn't go to the police station!!!!
I will never recommend anyone to go and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: my advise , is to find other Hotel and don't book t this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Fadhel,

We are sorry that you had a bad experience and you left us still feeling that the issue had not been resolved. As we discussed with you when you were here with us, in Thailand you have to file a police report in person at the police station. We are not permitted to make that complaint on your behalf and you did not take us up on our offer to drive you there.

Since your departure we have, of course, investigated this matter further and encourage our guests to use the safety deposit box in their rooms for their valuables. As a goodwill gesture we would be delighted to have you back here at the resort; the first night’s stay is on us.

Warmest regards
Lillian Carpenter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

On my third visit to Thailand and the first to Karon Beach, we chose the newly opened (November 11) Dewa Karon Resort. Rather than being a hotel, the resort is much more like a serviced apartment complex, so it may leave those used to a traditional hotel service feeling a little wanting. The rooms are very spacious and most come with kitchens, living rooms, large balconies and at least one bathroom. Most look out over the hotel itself or beyond to the beach. For many guests, the pool will be a big drawcard - its large and is designed like a moat surrounding the only hotel restaurant and bar. Being a new resort, there's very little shade around the pool as the trees continue to grow, meaning on hot and sunny days, the heat was intense. The hotel is located ten minutes walk from Karon Beach (which is beautiful) and only around 5 minutes from the first convenience stores, shops and restaurants. I can understand why some guests would not feel safe or comfortable making the walk to town at night. The hotel is located up a hill down two dimly lit roads surrounded by some makeshift housing. As others have commented, the hotel taxi charged 250THB to go a very short distance - almost as much as it cost to travel to Patong, which is a ten minute drive away. The buffet breakfast was ok, but not up to standards of other 5 star hotel experiences. There is a mix of Asian and western foods on offer and its pretty much self serve. Depending on who was on that day, the staff ranged from very friendly and attentive to disinterested. One one dinner occasion when we were the only diners in the restaurant, the staff member was pretty much completely non-attentive and stood in the middle of the room watching her favourite soap opera on the large screen TV. Similarly, the staff could be seen ducked down behind the bar in the restaurant eating breakfast as guests ate theirs. Not a big deal, but something you wouldn't see at a major hotel. The hotel apartment, a spacious two bedroom two bathroom apartment, had excellent air conditioning, full kitchen and very comfortable and large king size bed. The balcony also was spacious and had a table and chairs overlooking the pool and forest. One very annoying thing was that despite the fact the bedroom had power and cable in the wall for a television screen, there was none installed. This meant that any relaxing in front of the TV was done in the living room on a single excruciatingly uncomfortable wicker sofa. The restaurant has a happy hour between 5 and 7 every night, but the drinks (cocktails) seemed to be exactly the same price as non happy hour. We ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant on numerous occasions and for a longer stay, the menu would become tired pretty quickly as its quite limited. The hotel next right next door has a restaurant with a much more substantial menu (both western and Asian) with cheaper prices. Overall though, the Dewa is excellent value. There are many deals around and if you can find a great price, it is probably the ideal base (particularly for couples or families) to base yourself in Karon. Some service issues let it down though - but if you're happy to spend some time in the pool, or days at the beach, with a clean and new apartment to come home too, its likely to be a better option than many of the other nearby resorts in Karon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoryLeighP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, General Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear CoryLeighP,

Thank you for all the positives and we have listened to your constructive feedback especially regarding your dining experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort and trust you enjoy a more consistent level of service when you return.

Warmest regards

Lillian Carpenter, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Dewa Resort and found it to be very enjoyable. We were very pleasantly surprised at the size of our apartment. It made the stay even better. Service was wonderful and the staff could not do enough for us. My only negative comment would be that even though it was only 5-10 mins walk from Karon, at night as women we did not feel safe walking to and from the resort, of course you can always get a taxi but we found that the ones in Karon Beach were more inclined to charge too much. It was always 300 THB to and from Patong Beach but at Karon they wanted 200THB just to go a very short distance and to our surprise they were unnegotiable. Even though Dewa resort has only one restaurant, we found it was all we needed for the short time we stayed. All in all no complaints

Room Tip: All suites face the pool which is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, Glad to read that you have had a pleasant stay and we look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.
Warmest regards from all of us at Dewa Karon, Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Price for the standard is great.
Private balcony, good size rooms, kitchenette etc.
Perfect for a couple or even a family if you select a different suit.
Breakfast can get boring, i stayed here for 3 weeks and the breakfast is the same everyday. It never changes.
I do not advise booking the tours at reception, one should rather book them in town where the price is reduced by 60%.
Parking is a problem, the traffic internally must travel in a one way around the perimeter yet so too must occupants park their rentals in the same road.
Beware of the kitchen taps, they're not fastened correctly and swing back only to break the glass in your hand. Will only happen once then you'll remember to steer clear.
All in all i will return to this resort since it was such a peaceful and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amoslws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Glad to read that you have had a peaceful and enjoyable stay with us. Sorry to read about the swinging kitchen tap which we have gone around to tighten now. We appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast offerings as well and will look into changing some of the items daily. The prices we charge for the excursions are standard prices issued by the supplier and we only select the trusted suppliers who have liability insurance covers for their customers, offer reliable service as well as boats and vehicles that adhere to safety standards. I would only advise that there are many "fly-by-night" suppliers who offer cheap tours with no care for safety standards around. If all goes well, everything is fine but if something goes wrong, the savings is not it.
Hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Warmest regards from all of us at Dewa Karon, Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Three friends and I got the Penthouse Family Suite. It was a flash offer on Agoda & it probably was around S$ 120-150 a night. Huge modern living area - 2 sofas and a nice LCD TV, AC was very cold, well equipped state-of-the-art kitchen, standard size refrigerator, induction surface and a built in oven, we fully utilized those - the room did not come with breakfast, but who needs hotel breakfast when you can cook almost anything? The bed rooms were big and bright, master bedroom had an attached bathroom with hot tub! Power outlets, EVERYWHERE! :D

The first impression you get the moment you get into it was CLEANLINESS. Yes, it was so clean you forgot you're in Phuket. The beds are great, good quality pillows too! The suite itself is almost 60% glass paneled, so you have to remember locking them if you plan to let the wind in. There is also 2 sets of draw curtains, so privacy isn't compromised. There's even a study area, so if you plan to work..

Service is awesome, front desk SPEAKS ENGLISH. There's almost no communication problems. Housekeeping & room service was good, the ladies are really polite. The room service food menu was reasonably priced and tasted great! Our check-in was a breeze, the reception area is a nice chilled area with sofas for you to wait at, they serve you a nice cold plumy beverage while the arrangements are being made. You're also allowed to use the phones in the reception area for local calls, we used them to arrange our day trip to the islands.

The hotel surrounds 2 pools in the middle, which was a nice touch, good clean water, subtle waterfall feature and there's a restaurant/bar within the area. Hotel has only a small number of units, it has that cozy feel, and you don't really have to worry about much security-issues. If you drive, you can just park alongside the road in front of your unit.

Due to the design of the buildings, there isn't any elevator within the establishment, our suite was situated on the top floor, we had to climb 3 flights of stairs, but we're good. If you have walking difficulties I suggest you opt for a ground floor unit.

The hotel is situated along the Karon beach stretch, it's about 10 mins walk to the beach. The area is not rowdy and is suitable for families or people who wants a good night's rest & clean beaches. It is also a relatively close drive to Patong district. If you plan to book your stay here, I suggest you either Drive or ride a scooter. Walking can be too much of a hassle.

The overall stay was splendid, the only gripe was all the roof top jacuzzis were algae ridden, so pent house or not, you're not getting the full treatment. But who needs a jacuzzi when the beach is round the corner? There's some construction going on beside the hotel, but it's not really a big deal.

It's a great place for a crowd of 4-5, just remember to grab cheap booze from the duty-free country you're coming from. Liquor is Phuket may be a little expensive, beer is ok.

Worth it. A considerably cheap option for an expensive experience.

One last thing, they provide great scented shower gels and shampoo, and they are served in Porcelain holders. Yes, you heard porcelain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for writing a thorough and positive review for us on Tripadvisor. Much appreciated and thank you for the wonderful compliments for the staff and the facilities too. We do aim to please and when that gets recognized, it's very motivating. Our apologies for the rooftop area which is the next phase of our operational plans. Next time you plan a trip to Phuket, drop us an email and mention that you have stayed with us before to get the best returning guests rate.
Warm wishes from all of us at Dewa Karon, Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is a bit off the road and we did have a bit of difficulty finding it at first as we arrived at night, but once we arrived we were immediately quite happy with our choice. The reception was lovely and staff were friendly. As it was a very warm evening, as we checked in they brought us some ice cold fruit juice which was a nice touch.
As we made our way to our room we walked past the restaurant and swimming pool and at night everything is lit up and looked really pretty. There was 3 of us staying and we had a 2 bedroom apartment. We were impressed by how spacious, clean and in good condition the rooms were. I was in the second bedroom myself and the bed was huge! The hotel provided use of an umbrella and torch in the room and there was also free wi-fi. They were also happy for you to take pool towels to the beach and water was restocked in the fridges daily.
The walk to the beach was not too far and not a problem for us, but is probably a bit unsuitable for people travelling with young children, especially at night when the road is not very well lit. Although i think the hotel did offer a taxi and bus service.
The breakfast buffet was enjoyable, there was fresh fruit everyday and a chef to make your eggs just the way you like! We never really ate at the restaurant as we sampled the delicious local cuisine every night and we welcomed the walk back to hotel after a night out!
There was construction going on at neighbouring site but we were not affected at all and barely noticed any noise.
If you are down at the beach and wanting a massage, try find a lady called Moon...massages and pedicures were well worth the money!!!
All in all a wonderful stay in Karon Beach and the hotel was great value..would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weemunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Dewa Karon. We are very happy to read that your stay had been a success and we are most grateful for the compliments you have accorded us, which is most motivating for our team.
We hope you will find time to visit Phuket again in the near future, and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for future bookings.
Warm wishes from all of us at Dewa Karon, Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.4 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Property: Phunawa Resort
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#52 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing