We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major teething problems, don't book here until they are sorted out”
Review of Phunawa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phunawa Resort
Ranked #80 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Major teething problems, don't book here until they are sorted out”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The pictures and description of this hotel look fantastic online, but we feel that this hotel is not yet finished and needs some major work before it is fit to be called a 4 star hotel. It is definitely not of the same standard as other Dewa hotels.

Even before the tragic death of a Russian man, we had huge concerns about this place and insisted on being transferred to another hotel. Scroll down the reviews to find the link to the newspaper reports on this.

Initially on arriving, the hotel looked lovely, just like the pictures. The pathways to the groundfloor apartments are concrete slabs with big gaps in between, which means that you cannot roll suitcases behind you or push pushchairs. The complex is set on multiple levels with lots of steps whether you are going up or on the ground floor and even some strange stepovers in the middle of an otherwise flat pathway.

The first apartment (1212) had no privacy at all. The terrace was only accessible in front of the attached apartment via a few slabs laid carelessly on top of each other. In front of our apartment was a huge step up. The terrace for both apartments had no division and so the young children next door had free range right across, and whilst they were lovely kids, we did start to feel responsible for their safety and did not have the relaxed start to our stay as we had hoped. The living room was not really large enough for 3 adults which we had booked and one of the bathrooms had extensive water damage. There are windows on 3 sides and 2 look out on building sites and the third onto the pool, which would have been very nice if we didn't have children running up and down on our terrace.

On the plus side once the water damage is sorted, the terrace and the privacy issues, then it would be a lovely apartment, but it is definitely not a 4 star apartment yet.

We asked to be moved and this was done for us whilst we were on a trip the following day.

This apartment was far superior (1611) much better living space and its own terrace with sunbeds. Unfortunately it quickly became clear that this apartment had major problems. We began to smell raw sewage both inside the apartment and on the terrace, once informed the staff came quickly to sort this out. Unfortunately the smell quickly comes back along with unwanted visitors (cockroaches). At one point there were more than 5 staff in the apartment trying to sort the problem. But again, the problem quickly reoccurred and by this time we had totally had enough - our relaxing end of Thailand holiday had been ruined. This sewage problem could not have occurred just during our stay and the management must have moved us into the apartment with the full knowledge that this was the case and are probably still putting guests in there.

We had contacted Sawadee via email and they said if we wanted to check out we would still have to pay the full cost of the stay. We spoke to the manager who came to the room to try to assist us. The hotel was fully booked, so he checked others in the locality and also the other Dewa hotel near to the airport, but no joy. He also contacted Sawadee for us and helped us to arrange a move to the Old Phuket, although we did have to pay an extra amount to do this.

The hotel taxi took us over to the Old Phuket and it was such a welcome change and we were very happy with the move.

This hotel does have all the makings of an excellent place to stay, but only after these major problems have been sorted out. We wanted to relax and hang about around the pool for the last few days of our holiday, but this was not to be.

The breakfast had a good choice, but some food was uncovered and so a haven for flies. The restaurant food and drinks were excellent and the staff at both the hotel and restaurant were excellent.

We were OK with the location but found that it was too far out of the resort for us and one night encountered 3 concrete lorries slowly reversing down the narrow road on the hill that we were trying to walk up.

We rated the cleanliness 1 star due to the sewage problem but the apartments were spotless apart from this with lovely comfy beds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littlesomething_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
We thank you for your feedback given in this review. As it is our commitment to provide both excellent service and facilities, we are happy to note the excellent comment you have given to our staff though we do sincerely regret that we fell short of the mark especially with regards to the hardware. Please be assured that we are ironing out all our teething problems and we are confident that you will find a marked improvement on your next visit. Please do send me a personal email should you be planning a return visit either to our resort in Karon or the one at Nai Yang Beach.
With warm regards,
Lillian Carpenter
Resort Manager - Dewa Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    108
    51
    21
    10
See reviews for
169
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have spent 2 weeks in this hotel. I can't say nothing bad about the rooms, famaly suite was quite nice, big enough, but it is was only good thing in this hotel. Location far away from the beach and head streets, not a problem for young people, but in evening time the are no people on the road and you could feel not safe. The staff was not helping, there are was few nice people who was ready to help, but few peole for the whole hotel is not enough. They are not "happy" if you ask something to change (room for example), they just let you know that it is inpossible at the moment, but if you will push you'll get the result. The hotel taxi prices for the same route was different depends from the driver, was pointless to argue. We have taken only breakfast, during two weeks it was totaly the same, not big choice. I understand why some people says that this hotel is good value, it is depends from the people needs and place looks nice (only from the first look). Be sure you can get better hotel then Dewa karon for the same price. Good for us we didn't use the pool:((( no words...

Room Tip: do not take rooms near the pool fountain if you can not sleep well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for the review. It is with much regret we read of your disappointing stay with us.
We will not make excuses for the lapse in service that you have mentioned and in our effort to improve our staff service performance, your comments have been shared with the team in the service training sessions. So far, the various complimentary letters we have received with regards to the staff service performance bears testament to the fact that this was an isolated incident and we are confident you will find a noticeable improvement should you indulge us with a return visit in the future.
Kind regards,
Lillian C
The Management Team, Dewa Karon Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lieto,Finland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 weeks and we found this place to be fantastic! We are a 5 person family from Finland and it is hard to find a place that can accomodate us. Usually we rent 2 rooms because of our family size, but here we rented a family suite with two bathrooms and two bedrooms and the hotel gave us one extra bed for one of our childen. We were all able to stay in the same hotel unit and this helped us feel more like family. The location is ideal because the road to get there is not a thru-way, so there is not a lot of traffic noise.The hotel staff was very good, some of the highlights were they were very happy (they always had smiles on their faces) and were willing to help. Karon City is very close to this location, only a ten minute walk. We enjoyed walking downtown to eat dinner for a change of atmosphere. If you don't want to eat at the resteraunt or walk downtown, you can always eat in the hotel room unit because every room has a kitchen fully stocked with silverware and kitchen appliances. The hotel is also about 10 minutes by foot from the beach, yet some rooms have an ocean view due to the location on a hill. We were lucky enough to get a room with an ocean view and every evening we had a great sunset. The beach nearby is about 4.5 kilometers long and there is a lot of space to spread out on the beach, giving us lots of privacy. Besides swimming, beach volleyball, and getting a tan, this beach also includes activities such as paragliding and jet skis (about 1500 baht/35 euros for half an hour). Not everything was perfect though. Breakfast times were very crowded in the resteraunt because all of the hotel guests came to eat at the same time. Overall we were very pleased with our long stay here and we reccomend this location to everyone, especially those with large families or for those who want to enjoy Karon in a peaceful environment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive review of our resort. We are glad to read that you and your family found our two bedroom suites very suitable for families and your holiday in Phuket had been very enjoyable. Look forward to be of service to you all again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Lillian C.
Management Team - Dewa Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Lat, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed in Dewa Karon hotel with my husband from Canada at the end of Feb for 10 days and it is our right choice. We have been staying in different 4, 5 star hotels but Dewa Karon is the first one i have not heard his complain related to accommodation. This is the hotel room with style of an apartment with well- designed modern clean spacious bed room, living room, well equipped kitchen with hard wood floor and wash room ( totally 85 square meter). . Hotel is brand new with lovely swimming pool ( with Jacuzzi) and restaurant in the middle. It is not so far to the busiest center of Phuket ( 10 minutes driving to Patong) but it is close enough to eateries, shops and the beach. It is 10 minutes walk to the beach and 5 minutes walking to restaurant and shopping area. We stayed in the third floor ( no lift but we can walk up there no problem) and every night we see firework from our room. Western breakfast, not many choices but they supply all types you need for energy to star an active day: fresh fruits, salad, bacon, ham, cheese, jams, bread, mashed potato, egg, bakery, cereals, fruit juices.... with unlimited amount. Wifi Internet does not work greatly all the time but compare with other hotel where you have to pay for using low speed wifi internet as well, it is not bad at all. The highlight which i like the most in the hotel is their staff: tried their best with smile to make you feel comfortable. Especially Mr. See and Ms. Teena, who help me big time while I was sick due to the heat of Phuket.

Room Tip: If you travel with family, they have another type of apartment room with 2 smaller bed rooms with ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chau B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very pleased to read that overall you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your compliments extended to See and Teena, which will surely motivate them to continue extending outstanding services to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Lillian C
The Management Team - Dewa Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in Dewa Karon Apartment (Phuket) for 10 days.

I do not understand really some people who tried to express some negativity about this particular resort. I’m being a very difficult (demanding) guest for all my accommodations around the globe gladly share with you review of this resort.

Let’s start with transfer from airport - HIGHLY recommend. They used subcontractors with new cars at the price of 1000 ($33). Very efficient and without any delay. It takes approximately 1 hour (without traffic).

Hotel - very clean, well planned, nicely located and newly build resort. We lived in spacious one bedroom apartment with hardwood floor. We had everything we need: great furniture, well equipped kitchen (including kitchen accessories) and big and well designed washroom facility.
Service - one of the best services, believe or not, we encountered in Asia. Very helpful staff with a smile. They are willing to accommodate everyone the best possible way. We have had several personal difficulties while we stayed and without resort staff it would be an arduous task to solve all of them.

Breakfast buffet - this area requires a bit of improvement. It has quite limited choices. Bakery products have not been very fresh. Nevertheless service of personal overshadow these shortcomings and if you’re not dining at 5 star hotels everyday I would say you’ll have good breakfast.

Distance to the beach - it’s 10 min walk. We rented scooter thus it took us only 2 min to be there.

One more important advice - if you want to have great, fresh Thai food in good atmosphere for reasonable price - go to next door facility called Pacific Club. We guarantee you’ll be not be disappointed (& complain about stomach problem next day....).

Karon Beach - very nice, beautiful sandy beach. Water is much better and cleaner than during our trip to James Bond Island. We really did enjoyed long morning walks along the beach.

Shopping - if you’re planning to shop in Phuket keep in mind that all prices are marked up at least 300%. Example: the shoes (replica) offered 4500 batt - negotiated 1500 batt.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us, from a "demanding guests" perspective. It is indeed heart-warming to read that the service of our staff plus the standard of accommodation we offer had met your expectations amidst a few minor negatives that you have pointed out. We have taken your comments on the breakfast offerings to task and have now introduced some changes so our longer staying guests do not have to face the same items everyday. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Lillian C
The Management Team - Dewa Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Good Points

Staff are very friendly and super helpful - especially Romsey the front office manager who really tried very hard to make our stay comfortable

The Thai style rooms are lovely and the resort itself is very nice - modern, clean and attractive

Breakfast is very nice, with a great selection of western and Thai food - good coffee and easygoing

Areas for improvement

Only a short walk from Karon Beach - the area is still under development and just opposite is another large building site with some noise during the day

The swimming pool is strange and has very little space for seating at pool edge

Breakfast area doesn't have enough seats and can get busy with no seats available.

Hotel is more holiday apartments than hotel so suit longer stay better than 1 or 2 nights

Food in restaurants is overpriced compared to local prices

Could really benefit for a daily bus service to Patong - they do Karon but not patong

Room Tip: Ask for a Thai Style Room - they are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awayfromreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LillianCarpenter, Manager at Phunawa Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and the positive comments with regards to the services of our staff. It does do motivational wonders for them, and we have informed Mr. Romsee of your kind words. We also appreciate your feedback given on the areas for improvement and we will definitely work on improving the areas that we are able to do so.
With warm regards
Lillian C
The Management Team - Dewa Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel in January and we had a great time.
Hotel is a short walk fron the town, easier goung down than it is coming back as there are a couple of steep hills.
We had a one bedroom appartment on the top (3rd floor) no lifts but the bell boys were very good. Room was very big with a fully fitted kitchen and a large bathrool with walk in shower.
Bedroom was a little on the small side cosidering the size of the whole appartment but it was adequate.
Pool was a strange shape but we never went in so can,t comment too much on that.
Breakfast was ok, we like asian breakfast and on one of the two days we were there
there was no asian choice.
We did have an evening meal at the hotel and that was very good with very large portions.
We wanted to try the Karon Beach area as we have not stayed in that part of Phuket before and now having been there we know that it is not for us.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor but ther are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiffaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.5 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 134 in Karon
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
2.1 mi away
Peach Blossom Resort
Peach Blossom Resort
#67 of 134 in Karon
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phunawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phunawa Resort

Property: Phunawa Resort
Address: 16/1 Patak Road Soi 24, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Sovereign All Suites Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Karon
#58 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phunawa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Phunawa All Suites Resort' is your best choice for deluxe accommodation with space and comfort at Karon Beach for the simple reason that 'ALL' our rooms are 'SUITES' built in a tranquil environment with a huge pool. Every suite guarantees lots of space, excellent comfort and elegance through luxurious and timeless design using tropical hard-wood. 'Your' resort is just a few minutes by foot from famous Karon Beach and is truly a perfect place for all sun-seekers, couples, families, honeymooners and also romantic couples who expect privacy, luxury and pampering! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Phunawa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewa Karon Beach Phuket Hotel Karon
Phunawa Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing