We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from Expectations!”
Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #91 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Being backpackers, we booked this hotel thinking we would have an upscale experience for a few days. But we were so very wrong!

Pros:
- Nice rooftop pool with a view of the sea
- Close to the beach

Cons:
- Management was rude from check-in, and would verify all guests' movements with cameras. Don't try to bring a friend in your room! Even check-out was long, we had to wait for the lady to go check our room. Allow at least 15 minutes just for check out.
- The rooms are small and very basic, not as seen on the pictures. Very little hot water, and poor A/C.
- The area the hotel is situated in is very boring and pricey, with few alternatives to eat or go out. It's also very far from the airport.
- The room was full of ants, even crawling into our bed.
- We saw a rat in front of the hotel, definitely not the best area.

From the beginning to the end, our experience at the Grand Sunset was bad, and I recommend to anyone not to go there.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Marcus3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 340 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great hotel & staff. Right opposite Karon beach which is stunning. Lots of sunbeds to hire quite cheaply. Comfy beds & clean rooms. 4 or 5 computers to use free at reception. Breakfast was reasonable. There are plenty of beauty/massage places in the same street & nearby attractions/restaurants along the front. There are plenty of mini buses too & fro the airport. The roof top swimming pool is the coolest place to sunbathe due to the nice breeze, however, take care to avoid sunburn. The views are stunning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean, comfortable & airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenya25_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

room are clean and modern hotel is on very good condition location is good in front of the beach and it is quiet
staff very friendly
the pool on the top of the hotel give you a view to the beach of Karon
love that place

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night with my two other friends here just for a quick getaway from stress at work. I would say that without the rooftop pool bar and swimming pool that offers a perfect stunning view of Karon beach and sunset, I would've had a pleasant stay. It doesn't seem like they take note or consider special requests - I booked through booking.com & requested for cash payment on arrival but was surprised to know that they already charged my account. Check in was a bad experience because of the FO lady that just answered "no we are fully booked" impolitely when we asked if we could switch to another room. We requested for 1 more set of amenities since we are 3 and they set up for only 2 but when we rang up reception, they just told us that they already set up and please find it in the room when they set up really for only 2. The rooms need deep cleaning - there are molds in the bathroom area and stains in the bedsheets. We had a swim before checking out and reception rang up the pool bar staff to inform that we have to check out soon. The manner is a bit insulting. We just took advantage of the happy hour in the rooftop bar and seized the stay at the swimming pool which made up for the bad service experiences we encountered. Overall a relaxing stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank gelique0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've stayed at many hotels, but this hotel has one of the nicest, friendliest staff. It is very obvious that management and staff are trained to offer 5-star service. There's many instances where travelers have booked tours and need translation help. The hotel staff is always available to assist. Also, the quiet beach is steps away. The rooms facing the rear comes with private balconies. Highly recommend it for quiet beach getaways.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tristan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I had a wonderful time at this amazingly stunning hotel. Very modern design, the hotel looks like something out of the 22nd Century. It's proximity to the beach makes it a short, pleasing walk to the ocean and local eateries within the vicinity. The hotel offers good amenities at low prices making it one of the best places to stay at Karon Beach. My favorite was the rooftop pool and how pleasing it illuminate if you're looking for an evening swim. Thank you for the lovely memories!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rance_Camarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for a night in this hotel in Karon Beach. The hotel room smelled very bad and the air conditioning machine was too noisy. It seems that the rooms do not have their windows opened very often, therefore, a mud smell spreads all around continuously. Breakfast is expensive and does not have many options. For sure,it wasn't a good hotel choice. Although decoration may give the impression of attention to details, some of the most important were forgotten by the management.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#67 of 137 in Karon
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#59 of 137 in Karon
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#100 of 137 in Karon
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.1 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#30 of 137 in Karon
1,946 reviews
0 mi away
Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Karon
#48 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $32 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sunset Hotel offer a contemporary retreat of beautifully decorated modern suites overlooking the beautiful Andaman Sea. A warm welcome from our friendly and caring staff awaits as your are swiftly transported to the sumptuous surroundings of your pristine suite- your home away from home. for the duration of your stay. 56 Rooms with 3 difference types, Studio Deluxe , size 25 Sq.m ,1 Bedroom Grand Deluxe , size 40 Sq.m. and 2Bedroom Suite all room with Balcony . Indulge yourself on your lavish Sky Lounge Pool Sky Bar, which offers a sanctuary of total relaxation an privacy in which to gently ease away the pressures and demanded of your day. Grand Sunset hotel is a fine Phuket hotel accommodation option for busy travelers and families alike. Additional travel throughout Phuket and Thailand is efforless, with proven and reliable tour operators, taxi's to pick up you from your front door and Phuket International airport all easily accessible from our prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing