We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for lovely holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #83 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for lovely holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good points:
- hotel team;
- location (3 mins walk from the beach);
- roof pool;
- rooms style
- free Wi-Fi anywhere in the hotel.

Weak points:
- none :)

The hotel is ideal for any kind of trip: business, romantic, group of friends or individual. We were really sorry to leave this place, I am sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_Anokhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    125
    43
    17
    13
See reviews for
56
147
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice and modern. We enjoyed our stay here but had very limited sleep due to the noise! Their is banging, running around and doors slamming all through the night. I think its more of the hotels lack of sound proofing than the guests, as you can even hear the twisting of the lock echo down the corridor.
The pool and view is beautiful but their is very limited sunbeds. They have a poolbar with great food, drinks and ice cream but the service can be a little slow and the music always stops. Think an investment needs to be made in a good sound system with a decent playlist.
Reception is manned 24hours and always very pleasant when leaving or entering the building. To clarify the 'alleyway' its not an alley! Its a road that has a security hut watching every person in and out. Not a chance would I feel unsafe down this road.
I would certainly return as the staff, hotel and location are brilliant! Just the noise through out the night that put me off.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigs5373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinehamn, Värmlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This year we stayed at Grand Sunset for the second time, and we must say we are very satisfed. The rooms are exelent, but how much time do you spend in the rooms.
For us my wife and me I must say that the athmosfere is top ten. The most importent thing is how you feel that you are welcome, and in Grand Sunset every guest is the most important guest. We have allready ordered our next visit.
The staff is there for you and makes you feel welcome from entering door. And we feel like us like lovely guests.
They also have avery good kitchen, so good that the guests we invited said that the food they got was the best they got was the best food they ever got in Thailand. They have visited Taihland much more than us. For us Grand Sunset is exelent.

Room Tip: The best is The Lux Room if you stay more thabn 2 weeks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Åge Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I don't have a Problem, that the hotel is down an alley.
I don't have a Problem that the sea is 150 meters away.
I don't have a problem with only 10 TV channels.

These are the only issues i see on Trip Advisor.

I just returned from over 3 weeks at Grand Sunset Hotel.
It was my 31st visit and my first stay at the hotel.

From Check in to check out, i felt like i was staying at my own home, every staff member was exceptionally polite and Friendly.
The Aircons work very well, and i alternated the units.
A tip is to leave the bathroom light on, so the extractor fan pulls the aircon into the bathroom too!!
The Rooftop pool is a real Gem, and there is a bar there that sells cocktails from midday to 9pm for only 100Baht inclusive of all taxes. Cheapest i have ever found.
Breakfast is served up on rooftop and is great with lots of choice.

The hotel is Funky and passages very modern with cool lighting.

I stayed on the green side overlooking the green grass area.
My only gripe, and i bought it up with the one shareholder, but nothing was done, is that all 3 hotels chuck all their Junk over the wall into the open plot, so not only does it look horrible, but with certain winds you can smell the rubbish.
Hopefully this can be cleaned up, as it is an issue that can be sorted easily.

I will be coming back, and this is now my New Home of Choice.
The Manager Nat and his Restaurant manager Arm are the most wonderful hard workers, and Baby at reception is a great Hugger!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreggCornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

It's actually our second visit to Karon and we decided to stay again at this hotel for its simplicity coupled with impeccable and warm service. Special mention and kudos go to Miss Starfish, Ms Baby, and most especially to Mr Nat who answered all our concerns with efficiency and expertise which prove that they take pride in what they do as front office staff.
In terms of cleanliness, the whole place is spotlessly clean! Rooms are of just the right size and the balconies, albeit considerably tiny, serve as smoking and clothes drying areas! The no-frills but delicious buffet breakfast on the rooftop beside the pool is a most welcome surprise during this time of the year. Last time we were here was September of last year when the ho-hum breakfast was served on the ground level.
Everything is within walking distance from this place: restaurants, mini-marts, souvenir shops, and the beach just across!
The Grand Sunset perfectly fits Karon's quaint, family-friendly atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank incahootswithpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Grand Sunset performs its basic function decently: a clean, reasonably-priced room in Phuket. But the location leaves a lot to be desired -- it is far back a narrow side street, sandwiched between a number of other hotels and businesses. As many other reviewers have noted, your impression will be dramatically affected by which side of the building you are on: the odd-numbered rooms face the back of another hotel, the even-numbered rooms (the ones pictured on the hotel website) have a view of an open field, the ocean, and hillsides. It would be so much more honest of the hotel to offer Regular and View rooms at a price differential, and let customers make up their mind which they want to pay for, rather than just sticking people who don't know what to ask for (like us) in a much less desirable room.

The rooms are somewhat underfurnished. We had a separate bedroom and living area, but a loveseat was the only place to sit. The television in the living area was fine (although the local cable company provides only about 10 channels, with news from... Al-Jazerra! -- satellite would be nice), but the one in the bedroom became unwatchable after it had been on for about five minutes. When we told the maintenance man who came to adjust hot water in the shower about this, the response was a shrug. No big deal, since we weren't in Phuket to watch TV, but still, it's nice to have something watchable when you want it.

The rooms are air-conditioned, but peculiarly, the only topsheet supplied for the bed is a comforter. To avoid frying under an insulating cover, the only alternatives are to either sleep without any cover at all, or turn the air conditioning down very low so that you won't suffocate.

There is a very nice breakfast buffet on the roof (where the pool is.) The staff is very friendly and eager to please, but... my two attempts to contact the hotel before arrival (via its website) about the best arrangement for airport transportation went unanswered. Travelers should be aware that Karon Beach is a LONG ride from the airport, as well as many of Phuket's attractions, and that they are likely to have to travel in a ten-passenger shuttle bus for which Karon is the last stop.

My advice would be to study your Phuket options carefully before choosing a hotel. If you're willing to occasionally pay the premium for a name-brand hotel with larger grounds, standard amenities, and perhaps its own airport shuttle, this might be the time to do it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cakovec, Croatia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were staying at this hotel from 25.1-31.1.2013. It was easy to find. Good location. Very close to the beach. Room is very nice, gret view to the mountains and the beach. Breakfast aeria was realy nice, next to the swimming pool. Very great service, great cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRena1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#93 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#26 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#107 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Property: Grand Sunset Hotel
Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing