We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel”
Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #93 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My partner and i stayed at Grand Sunset Hotel xmas/new year and really enjoyed our time there
when we first arrived we were not sure it was going to be OK as the first room we stayed in was extremely small (smaller than advises on website) smelt mouldy and had an awful view (you basically looked at electric cables) this room was at the end of the corridor (was room 401) and felt like a cupboard. The staff were very accommodating and moved us the next day to a room on the other side of the corridor (rooms with even numbers have a much better view so i would recommend if you like to sit on your balcony to request an even numbered room) the room we were given was larger and had bigger cupboards and storage space (in the first room you cannot fit two peoples clothes into the cupboard/drawers as they are so small.
The swimming pool area on the 6th floor is amazing and the sun beds are so comfortable. We did not eat at the hotel much as to be honest did what we did eat i would not not rate food very highly (we are vegetarian and they are not very well catered for at the hotel.) there is a lovely restaurant on the street next door which we ate at most nights (cant remember name but there is writing on the wall and the tables are white wood) the selection and quality was great and staff are very nice. They also do fantastic milkshakes made with ice-cream. I would also recommend you walk to The Pad Thai shop to experience authentic thai food (which is so cheap - £2 for two pad thai's and soft drinks) the food and drink near the hotel is cheap still compared to the UK but inflated a great deal as its a tourist area. to get the the pad thai shop walk left at the end of the road and follow to the first busy street after the Hilton, walk up that road to the end turn right and the pad thai shop is located about a 5 minute walk on the left
the area is quiet by phuket standards and ideal for a relaxing holiday
taxis can be taken to other areas of phuket - phuket town is worth a visit but i would miss patong unless you have a burning desire to be surrounded by noise/smell and rude market traders
A day trip to James Bond is a must and the view you get when in the is unforgettable
we managed to get this trip for 800 bhat each (most places were in excess of 1000 bhat - if you haggle enough you can get cheaper - dont take the first price

Room Tip: ask for even numbered room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubblwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 319 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Me & my partner stayed here for 10 days. We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel Manager is very honest & was able to help us out when we needed to seek medical advice, he organized a reliable & safe taxi to get us where we needed to be. Jensen this situation all staff were very nice & looked out of me being sick.

The hotel is very classy, nice buffet selection style breakfast, comfortable pool chairs & lounges, a short walk from shopping, massage parlors & an array of great restaurants, Karon beach is not too far away & you can catch some amazing sun sets in the afternoons!

Staff all friendly & always say hello! The beds were a little on the hard side but it was not an issue.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had 3 stays in this hotel on our trip to Thailand!
First 3 nights, then we went another place for two nights.
When we came back, it was like coming home!
Pleasant staff who really try to help with everything.

Then off to Krabi and Phi Phi ( WON'T GO THERE AGAIN)
and back again to Grand Sunset ( again like coming home)

They did everything to meet our needs!
Just go there:-)

Room Tip: Keep off the 2. floor... here you can here the water pump pretty well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nswil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights and although the mattress was very hard the bed was nice because of the fresh with soft sheets. And we got a thick blanket to make the bed a bit softer after asking. The hotel was clean and fresh, the personnel very helpful and kind. The only bad thing was the cleaning personnel loudness and walky-talkys loudness in the morning (starting at 8am) and a certain countrys guests we're REALLY loud and could not close the door properly without banging them and waking up the whole hotel. So if you want to sleep late, take earplugs with you, in every other way I recommend this hotel. Also the massage place next door which has the same owner is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived at the Grand Sunset just before Christmas and had a very warm welcome from the staff on reception and our bags were taken to our rooms.

While the rooms are compact, they are well designed and have all requirements.

There are tea/coffee making facilities, a mini bar and snacks. The bed was a large king size and very comfortable. A small balcony with a seat, table and ash tray. Complimentary shower gel and shampoo was provided.

While the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard, we would often go out and come back after a couple of hours and they still weren't cleaned.

The pool and bar area is great, there are lots of very comfortable seats, and the restaurant brings food up to the pool on the top floor, with views of the sea. The bar also does some great cocktails and ice creams.

The TV channels are very limited and could do with having a few more, the only English channel I could find was Al Jazeera news.

Patong can be reached in about 10 minutes via a taxi, so we found it much better to travel in and out of the madness that can be in Patong at night, by staying on Karon beach :-)

Other than these small issues, we had a great stay, thank you Grand Sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukukukuk1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My partner and I have been on a six week trip travelling around Sth East Asia in places from a $19-$100 per night budget, this hotel was the first place we went to and it stuck with us for all the wrong reasons. Firstly it is ridiculously overpriced for a small box of a room, I thought that I was prepared after reading reviews but our room was an absoloute box and our shower leaked everywhere. We had originally paid for the breakfast option in a package deal but was stung with a bill for one persons breakfast (250 baht) on two days! To top it off there was construction going on next door so our floor stank of toe jam.
I truly wish that I hadn't prebooked this place as it did not live up to expectations and has been the worst place we have stayed in so far despite being the most pricey. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Don't stay here in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kellynzl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Pros:
Do upgrade to the Grand Deluxe Room, which has a nice and spacious living room with TV.
Rooms are clean, breakfast is decent and pool is funky and cool in the evening.
Service is commendable and the staff would try their best to meet your requests and expectations.
Cons:
Hotel is an hour away from the airport, do be prepared to fork out at least 700baht for the taxi.
Tips:
For excursions to Phi Phi, James Bond island, you can consider booking from the 'tour booths' located along the restaurants and doing the streets. They may quote you more than 50% discount off the brochure price!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moodyinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#64 of 135 in Karon
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#100 of 135 in Karon
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#112 of 135 in Karon
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#96 of 135 in Karon
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#32 of 135 in Karon
1,872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karon Living Room
Karon Living Room
#11 of 151 in Karon
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $31 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sunset Hotel offer a contemporary retreat of beautifully decorated modern suites overlooking the beautiful Andaman Sea. A warm welcome from our friendly and caring staff awaits as your are swiftly transported to the sumptuous surroundings of your pristine suite- your home away from home. for the duration of your stay. 56 Rooms with 3 difference types, Studio Deluxe , size 25 Sq.m ,1 Bedroom Grand Deluxe , size 40 Sq.m. and 2Bedroom Suite all room with Balcony . Indulge yourself on your lavish Sky Lounge Pool Sky Bar, which offers a sanctuary of total relaxation an privacy in which to gently ease away the pressures and demanded of your day. Grand Sunset hotel is a fine Phuket hotel accommodation option for busy travelers and families alike. Additional travel throughout Phuket and Thailand is efforless, with proven and reliable tour operators, taxi's to pick up you from your front door and Phuket International airport all easily accessible from our prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing