We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem at the heart of Karon!”
Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #84 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Pros:
Do upgrade to the Grand Deluxe Room, which has a nice and spacious living room with TV.
Rooms are clean, breakfast is decent and pool is funky and cool in the evening.
Service is commendable and the staff would try their best to meet your requests and expectations.
Cons:
Hotel is an hour away from the airport, do be prepared to fork out at least 700baht for the taxi.
Tips:
For excursions to Phi Phi, James Bond island, you can consider booking from the 'tour booths' located along the restaurants and doing the streets. They may quote you more than 50% discount off the brochure price!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moodyinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 333 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family stayed for 4 nites from 25 to 29 Nov. Location is great as it is within walking distance to the beach. The staff are friendly, patient and helpful. They even make kratongs for the guests for the Loi Kratong celebration on 28 Nov. The swimming pool and dinning area are located on the 6th floor which offers nice view of the sea. There are also shops and restuarants nearby the hotel. The hotel offers different breakfast spread everyday.

There is not much view from the room unless you get the even numbered rooms which may have some hill view. The hotel charges the first night stay once you confirm the reservation and the remaining when you check in.

As the hotel is relatively new, it would be advisable to bring along the hotel location map when you go out as some transport drivers may not be familiar with the hotel. Transport to Dino Mini Golf is around THB200, to Phuket town THB500-600.

Room Tip: Choose a even-numbered room if you want hill view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusymummyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Grand Sunset Hotel, Where do i start!

This hotel is everything it says it is and more.
"Simple But Different" , "Home away from Home" All of the above.

Grand Sunset was recommended to me by a local Thai friend, and WOW what a recommendation it was.

We had 4 rooms in total 2 x 2 Bedrooms Suites and 2 x Grand Deluxe Rooms. All on the 5th floor.
All rooms were clean tidy (serviced everyday), fresh free drinking water daily, in room safe, cheap mini bar, separate air-con and flat screen TV's in each bedroom. (Not that you come to Thailand to watch TV). If you are staying in a 2 Bedroom suite with friends. Make sure you aren't shy with bathroom use. As there is only a frosted glass door between the bathroom and lounge, the bathroom also has another frosted glass door adjacent to one of the bedrooms, like an ensuite.

Yes the even numbered rooms have a great view of the hillside and the odd numbered rooms have a view of the buildings next door.

Breakfast was included and served by the rooftop pool on the 6th floor. Breakfast was buffet style, with fresh fruit, Thai and Western selections as well as eggs and omelettes cooked to order.

The hotel is a short walk across to the beach, there are many restaurants and everything you need nearby. The location is perfect, far enough away from the hussle and bussle, but close enough to walk. There are plenty of eating options and a market nearby.

There is 10% discount offered at the restaurant, massage place and wine shop next door as they are all owned by the hotel owner.

The staff were the number 1 from the warm welcome on arrival, to bringing us endless drinks around the pool.

This was my 5th visit to Thailand and 1st time to Karon, this hotel is 3.5-4star, taking that into consideration. Be friendly, smile and treat the Thai staff like human beings and watch the 5 Star service come forward.

Simply amazing. Thank-you to Starfish and the team you are doing an outstanding job, keep up the great work! I will be back very soon for sure.

Room Tip: Even Number Rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shartley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location is very central-beautiful beach is across the road,nightlife of Karon is 5minute walk,taxi to lively Patong is 2Ominute journey for300baht.bedrooms are large and cleaned daily.the even numbered rooms have better view.the statf are very friendly and helpful.good selection of food served for breakfast 7-11am on the rooftop poolside with spectular views.massage place next door to the hotel that offers great discounts to hotel guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Pool area on the 6 th floor amazing. Close to beach and local markets. Staff very helpful. We got a 10% off voucher for the spa next to the hotel. Overall we loved the hotel,would definitely stay here again on our next visit:).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are large. The staff is efficient, but not overly friendly. The location is close to the beach, but if you intend to dine or spend time in Karon or Kata, its a cab ride unless you really like to walk. Thisis not a memorable hotel. Its a place to sleep. There are far better choiçes at the price point including Simplitel in Karon.

The hotel which completely surrounds this hotel is catering to the cheap Russian tourist trade. This brings a set of problems particular to that sector of the tourist crowd. I am not a snob, but this crowd is running off the Euro travel trade and causing more than a few businesses to go under. Its sad to see. So be forewarned.

Mark

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MileHighMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here across from the beach. The Hotel was super modern which is not what I normally go for.

Highlights: rooftop pool perfect for evening dips and beach views, excellent breakfast buffet (I believe we were in the first group to experience it and it was excellently executed), and convenient to many massage places. Great staff.

Other pros: 15 min walk from the Pad Thai Shop (best Pad Thai in Thailand), the Massage place they recommend which is just two shops down from the entrance to the hotel is really nice and I received a handful of great massages (Plus they are open until midnight).

Feedback: Shower water seemed to go all over the bathroom which was kind of inconvenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yourcynly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#106 of 136 in Karon
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#61 of 136 in Karon
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#65 of 136 in Karon
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#58 of 136 in Karon
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0 mi away
Baumancasa Karon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $43 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sunset Hotel offer a contemporary retreat of beautifully decorated modern suites overlooking the beautiful Andaman Sea. A warm welcome from our friendly and caring staff awaits as your are swiftly transported to the sumptuous surroundings of your pristine suite- your home away from home. for the duration of your stay. 56 Rooms with 3 difference types, Studio Deluxe , size 25 Sq.m ,1 Bedroom Grand Deluxe , size 40 Sq.m. and 2Bedroom Suite all room with Balcony . Indulge yourself on your lavish Sky Lounge Pool Sky Bar, which offers a sanctuary of total relaxation an privacy in which to gently ease away the pressures and demanded of your day. Grand Sunset hotel is a fine Phuket hotel accommodation option for busy travelers and families alike. Additional travel throughout Phuket and Thailand is efforless, with proven and reliable tour operators, taxi's to pick up you from your front door and Phuket International airport all easily accessible from our prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing