We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Safe clean hotel with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #80 of 129 Hotels in Karon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Safe clean hotel with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location is very central-beautiful beach is across the road,nightlife of Karon is 5minute walk,taxi to lively Patong is 2Ominute journey for300baht.bedrooms are large and cleaned daily.the even numbered rooms have better view.the statf are very friendly and helpful.good selection of food served for breakfast 7-11am on the rooftop poolside with spectular views.massage place next door to the hotel that offers great discounts to hotel guests.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    112
    40
    10
    11
See reviews for
50
128
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Pool area on the 6 th floor amazing. Close to beach and local markets. Staff very helpful. We got a 10% off voucher for the spa next to the hotel. Overall we loved the hotel,would definitely stay here again on our next visit:).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are large. The staff is efficient, but not overly friendly. The location is close to the beach, but if you intend to dine or spend time in Karon or Kata, its a cab ride unless you really like to walk. Thisis not a memorable hotel. Its a place to sleep. There are far better choiçes at the price point including Simplitel in Karon.

The hotel which completely surrounds this hotel is catering to the cheap Russian tourist trade. This brings a set of problems particular to that sector of the tourist crowd. I am not a snob, but this crowd is running off the Euro travel trade and causing more than a few businesses to go under. Its sad to see. So be forewarned.

Mark

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MileHighMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I really enjoyed staying here across from the beach. The Hotel was super modern which is not what I normally go for.

Highlights: rooftop pool perfect for evening dips and beach views, excellent breakfast buffet (I believe we were in the first group to experience it and it was excellently executed), and convenient to many massage places. Great staff.

Other pros: 15 min walk from the Pad Thai Shop (best Pad Thai in Thailand), the Massage place they recommend which is just two shops down from the entrance to the hotel is really nice and I received a handful of great massages (Plus they are open until midnight).

Feedback: Shower water seemed to go all over the bathroom which was kind of inconvenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yourcynly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Friendly, clean hotel that is very close to the beach. Great pool, with amazing sunset views. The pool could do with more shaded areas though. Rooms are clean but a little on the small side. For two people we could have done with a little more space. There could also be maybe at least one chair added to the room as we had to bring in the balcony chair, as there is no where to hang things; clothes would otherwise be on the floor.

Location is good for the beach, there are a few restaurants near by and the busier part of Karon is just a short walk away.

I travelled with a friend and I would recommend this hotel for those travelling on their own or with friends or couples.

The breakfasts varied everyday, so didn't get boring. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Pros:
Location. It is bang opposite Karon beach. You just need to cross the road. Though there are no sea facing rooms.
Note that you cannot walk to patong, you need a ride.
Rooms on one side of the bldg have a complete greenery view. You would have to request this in advance.
The rooms are great as compared to the price you pay. We paid around SGD 70 per night.

You cannot walk to Patong. So you would need a ride if you want to get some action, night life. There are restaurants in Karon, but u can find much better and slightly cheaper variety in Patong.
This was my second stay at this hotel. First time it was a great experience. It was very new then.
But now I can see there are Maintenance Issues.
The bathroom floor was not very clean. Though the toilet was very clean.
The bed side platform had big stains.
Though, I should mention that the bedsheets and towels were absolutely clean and fresh.

The staff helps wherever possible, but I have a feeling they are not really bothered if the guest is facing any issues.
We found 2 INSECTS in our breakfast. I understand that veggies are prone to have worms, but that does not mean they are not supposed to be cleaned.
When we informed about the insects in our food, the waitress informed the staff at reception, and that was the end of story. No one got back to us, neither was there any apology. A one word sorry would hav been fine by us. But nothing.
While checking out, we mentioned about our experience again. The charge for breakfast for one person for one day was waived off, again without a sorry, or any concern.

Still I would recommend this hotel as I think their Deluxe room for SGD 50 to 80 bucks is value for money.
However I also believe that it is not difficult for the staff to improve the maintenance in the bathrooms and to show a little more concern to any issues faced by guests.

Room Tip: Request in advance for a room facing the green side. Hill facing rooms. Grand Deluxe room = Deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manalic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great staff. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the different areas of Phuket. There is still abit of work going on at the hotel but only minor work which didnt trouble us. once finished the pool area will look great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiser211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#94 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#60 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#92 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#31 of 129 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Inn
Coral Inn
#27 of 141 in Karon
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Sailom Hotel
Baan Sailom Hotel
#10 of 141 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Property: Grand Sunset Hotel
Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing