We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Grand Sunset Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #83 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Grand Sunset Hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our first time in Phuket. We stayed in Grand Sunset Hotel for 5 nights. (30th June - 5th July 2012). Greeted warmly and served with a welcome drink upon arrival. Reserved for a deluxe room but surprisingly they upgraded us to Grand Deluxe room at no extra charge. One of the staff, Pladao, took our luggage and sent us to our room. Room is nice, comes with a balcony & separate living room. Its not very big but its spacious for two person and cozy. The air-con is working great. We do not need to wait long for the room to be cool. Great rain shower in the bathroom.

Staffs are all very helpful & friendly & TRUSTING. To ensure communications and instructions given to the tour agencies for our island and land tour are very clear, the staffs from Grand Sunset made all the calls for us. Pladao made most of e calls for us.

They have a permanent night staff, Jauhari. He's able to converse well in Malay as well so I reckon it will be very convenient for guests who are more comfortable to converse in malay.
Jauhari has also been very helpful. One of e night we were unable to sleep, we called him and asked if the tv in our room installed with DVD player. He said it is not but we can get the DVD player from the reception at same time we could choose which movie we want to watch from the rack. They have quite a number of movies there.

If you feel like staying indoor, you may want to hang around at the hotel lobby as they have a nice seating area. You may also play some board games or do your reading. Or perhaps, have a great time at the pool located on the rooftop. Nice sunset view. Spectacular.
May also consider going for massage at Normala or dine in at the restaurants, all located just few doors away from the hotel. There's Subway restaurant, tailors, tour agencies and mini-marts nearby as well.

To rent a bike?? Its just located on the next street. 3mins walk. The beach is about 5-7 minutes walk. The laundry service from the shop nearby is 45baht per kg. Located just opposite the bike rental shop.

We feels that this hotel charter to our every needs.

- Rooftop pool
- Nice sea view of Karon beach from the pool
- Nice sunset view
- Near to the beach (Karon beach)
- Near to massage place (you may also do your mani-pedicure/waxing/hair braiding etc)
- Near to eateries/mini-marts/Movenpicks/Other high-end restaurants/Subway/money-changer
- Nice & clean room
- Rain shower in bathroom
- DVD player and movies
- Free wifi
- Great friendly service from staffs (Very service-oriented)
- Very kind and helpful staffs
- Very convenient location
- Only 10mins to Patong beach (Via taxi) 300 baht
- They serves nice buffet breakfast as well

Special thanks to Pladao and Jauhari.

Pladao, thanks for making the birthday surprise for my wife worked.

Room Tip: Do not worry about choosing a good room. Upon check in, the staffs will ensure you have the best roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohana_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    125
    43
    17
    13
See reviews for
56
147
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Grandsunset hotel for 5 nights while visiting Phuket. It is a short drive to Patong and the location was perfect for us. The room was very clean, the buffet delicious and the service excellent. One young man named Poom was especially helpful. He provided excellent directions and good advice on key sights to see. He was also very polite and friendly always offering a smile upon our return from our adventures.

I would recommend staying here to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel definitely lives up to expectations; modern and clean, with amazing smiley staff (Ms. Starfish at the front desk definitely deserves a raise as well as a promotion)! This was our second stay there, and instead of staying only 3~4 more nights as originally planned, we are staying here much longer since they were kind enough to give us an upgrade! We now have a much bigger room, nice balcony, enjoying the nice breakfast on the 1st floor every morning, and we are very much enjoying our stay again. Very much recommended hotel - great value for your money!

Room Tip: If you will be only 2 people and won't spend too much time in the room, the small room should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My friend and I had two stays at the Grand Sunset Hotel during our travels in Thailand. The first time was after a 28 hour door to door journey and we arrived to find we had been upgraded which was the most fabulous welcome you could wish for. The room was great, separate bedroom and living space. The balcony was small, that was OK as the roof top pool was all the space you would need anyway! There is a type of infinity edge to the pool which would have had amazing views of the sea if the hotel in front had not put a structure up over their dining area! Anyway, a great space to chill out. The pool bar was just opening when we arrived, the hotel was pretty new.
The staff are lovely and very helpful and the rooms were always clean. Breakfast was extra but adequate, choice of eggs in the morning and continental breads and cereals etc. Tea and coffee available in the reception as well.
Good location on Karon beach with restaurants within walking distance if you didn't want to eat in the hotel and a great local thai massage place in the same road. Ideal after a long day lounging by the pool!
Would recommend and as I said, we stayed upon our return to the island as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the back of the hotel away from the road, quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Nonthaburi, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed there for 2nights 25-27June in 2bedroom suties on 5th flr, room with balcony is very nice, spacious and clean with modern style. K. Pladao and other hotel staff always smile and very helpful to us. My friends requested them for DVD player, they later came to us with the player and some movie DVD, my friends much appreciate. I like the most the rooftop swimming pool, from swimming pool at daytime you will see the Karon beach and the mountain while at night the moon just above us, we enjoy so much. And hotel located just few minutes walk to the Karon beach. My friends recommend the massage there too. If I go to Phuket, sure I will stay at Grand Sunset Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorkaew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in the hotel in the early part of June for nine nights, and upon gaining a first impression of a clean, smart,contemporary styled hotel it would be fair to say that we weren't disappointed.
Our room on the third floor, was a grand deluxe with king bed with partial view of the sea from the balcony. Exceptionally tidy room, tiled throughout, great shower, hard but comfy bed and above all quiet, can't fault really.
As everyone has said, perfect location for the beach at Karon, two minute walk. Be warned though, in the time that we went, the tides were treacherous and swimming was avoided.We chose to go to Kata, more of a bay style beach with much safer swimming conditions.
Restaurants and shops all close by, two minutes to the next lane or ten-fifteen minute walk into Karon town, try the Red Onion for an authentic and cheap Thai meal (be there early,hard to get a table at times).
Awesome day spa a few doors down from the hotel ,my partner became a regular there and was greeted daily by cries of "massage queen peach ?". We ended up hiring a motorbike off one of the staff members of the spa, some trepidation on our part as although the daily cost is ridiculously low 150 baht, there is no insurance, but luckily it all worked out well for us. A fab way to see the island as it enables you to get off the beaten track. Speaking of which, the Baan Chom View restaurant overlooking Kata Noi beach, quickly became one of favoured eating spots, good food, great view.
All in all, Grand Sunset offered us exactly what we wanted, a pleasant place to retreat to after a day in the sun. The inclusion of a gym would have capped it off for us, perhaps the owners could consider this for the future.
Grand Sunset says it all.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Have stayed there for 3night last weeks... Thanks Sasithorn and all the staffs there for preparing the cake for my boyfriend birthday.

Staffs at counter was always wearing a smile. Only thing is that i find ants crawling beside my bed.. anyway the staffs killed them after i told them about it.

Really missed the rooftop pool.. Have a great time watching sunset on one of the evening..

WIll definitely stay there again if i were to visit Phuket..

Thanks All the staffs at Grand Sunset... =)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maomaolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#93 of 132 in Karon
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#26 of 132 in Karon
1,740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#107 of 132 in Karon
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Property: Grand Sunset Hotel
Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing