We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Awesome Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #83 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Awesome Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed her a few weeks ago for 3 nights and couldn't be more impressed.

This is a newish hotel and very well maintained. The staff are professional and discrete and very helpful. They helped us arrange a great trip to Phi Phi.

The location is excellent, just 2 minutes from Beach / Shops / Restaurants. Bus to Patong Beach is 5 minutes walk.

Included in the complex was a great wine shop(I love red wine), spa and a lovely restaurant.

The rooftop pool was clean and quiet with great views.

If this hotel was in the UK it would be £100+ a night and 4-5 *.

Can't reccommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    125
    43
    17
    13
See reviews for
56
147
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Sunset for 10 days. We really recommend it to everyone! The hotel was always nice and clean, good location - only one street away from the beach! The staff were extremely friendly - they recommened great activites and went out of their way to make you feel at home. There was a mix up with our cash card and the hotel staff did everything they could to get it all sorted out - it really just showed how far they go out of their way to help.

Overall, the hotel location and staff are fantasic!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at Grand Sunset Hotel, Phuket for 7 nights, from 4 June - 11 June 2012. The staff at this hotel are wonderful, whatever we asked for we pretty much got straight away, nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was fantastic, huge rooms, a balcony off each including the loungeroom and 3 tvs. Bathroom was spacious with large showerhead. Breakfast was a very nice buffet, there was also cereal, cakes, eggs (cooked to how you'd like them), fruit, juice, tea and coffee. Hotel is just across the road from Karon Beach, even though we couldn't go swimming due to the weather, it was still a nice view. There are shops and restaurants nearby, all within walking distance. To go to a major shopping centre you will either need to catch a taxi or tuk tuk. All in all we had a fantastic stay at Grand Sunset and would recommend it anyone going to Phuket, it's not a resort but a great hotel with a rooftop pool and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom suite is very spacious, would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed there for two nights and it was an amazing stay. It is located at a very convenient location, near lots of spas, restaurants, street food stalls and the beach. Check in, check outs were glitch free and quick. The receptionist was very friendly and gave valuable information about the city and tourist spots. Beach is 2 mins walk from the hotel and it is practically across the road. However, as one might get mistaken by the photographs on their website, the rooms are not exactly facing the sea. You can peep out and see the sea from the balcony. Swimming pool is on the top floor, which is small but clean. Rooms are tidy and welcoming. Hotel guests also enjoy discounts on few massage parlors in the neighborhood. In all, it is a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supernova85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Grand Sunset is one of the newer hotels in Karon. It is located within a stone's throw from the beach and close to a number of restaurants and spas. There is also a pharmacy, market, and currency exchanges nearby which makes it really convenient. We really loved our stay here esp. with such a friendly staff - they always welcomed you "home" and go out of their way to make us feel at ease. One night due to poor planning we didn't have time for dinner until everything closed and they reopened the kitchen for us and made us dinner! We got the basic room which was small but suitable for two people. The only downside was that we saw a couple of ants from one spot in the wall but after we used our bug repellent on the spot, we never saw them again. Everything else was very clean and housekeeping does a great job. We would definitely come back again for our stay in Karon in the future.

Room Tip: Our room faced the adjacent field and the frogs were LOUD at night. We didn't mind, but bring e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were 2 adults + 2 children and stayed at the family suite. We had a great stay at the hotel. The WiFi coverage was really good. Breakfast was also good - standard continental stuff + 5~6 other varieties such as fried rice etc.

The only shortfall is that the room TV has only 12 channels - you might get bored if you want to spend your evening indoors!

The staff at the reception were really helpful and courteous - my vote of thanks to them for making my maiden visit to Phuket a memorable one!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great Hotel. Handy to the beach,white sands with very warm water, too warm sometimes haha.
amazing resturants just down the road from the hotel ie: Gings which had a fabulous waitress very freindly staff. we went there twice it was that good with cheap n delious meals! 2 chefs was another amazing resturant with a A class band. I travelled with a group of 11 of all ages and we loved this place cheapest hotel and staff were very freindly and helpful.lovely day spa just 2 hotels down if u are wanting some beautiful nails n a great massage! Just down the road is a night market but people wernt that freindly and try to rip you off so i wouldnt recommed going there! But the Grand Sunset Hotel was lovely and i would recommed anyone to stay there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.0 mi away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#93 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#66 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Phuket
The Old Phuket
#26 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#107 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Property: Grand Sunset Hotel
Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing