We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lae Lay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lae Lay Suites
Ranked #51 of 146 Karon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent here our last days in Phuket, finding a good price on the web; the structure is nice,located on the hill between Kata and Karon. The room was great, wide and with a wonderful bed.Seaview and quietness are guaranteed.Breakfast is nice, not so various but ok.The room cleaning could be better done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucagior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice affordable hotel and lovely view from the room. The service was very friendly, rooms very clean and modernly designed. Our room's balcony had a beautiful view to the ocean.

I would suggest to stay in this hotel for those who can ride a motorbike. Otherwise it is a bit far from the beach and the main street. To us it wasn't a problem at all! It takes about 4 minutes to drive to the Kata center and beach 6 minutes to the Karon beach and 25 minutes to Patong. The area itself is quiet an not crowded! You can always enjoy the silence while sitting in the balcony or swimming in the pool. I think it is really important in Thailand to look for the hotel that is situated near main tourist areas but is still a bit separated.

Room Tip: This hotel has two buildings. One with the lobby and the other one with the pool and the breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juri_L_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

You get what you pay for. Its clean, but not in a great location. We hired a car at the bottom of the road for 1200B a day which helped a lot. By car, Karon is only 5 minutes away, Patong around 15 minutes. Without a car, your very secluded but there is a shuttle.

The rooms are basic and although have a kitchenette, there is no cutlery, bowls, plates, etc.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Food was basic, but okay. Pool is pretty good, plain and simple.

There's really nothing wrong with Lae Lay, but not really getting a chilled out holiday vibe from it. Very lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonscubachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice modern place but out of the way. The rooms where nice but the wall between the living area and bedroom was a glass siding door which meant the noise from the living area went straight to into the bedroom. Having a 1 year old we was hoping to relax and talk/watch tv when the baby was in bed. This wasn't possible. One we had to whisper, second the TV was in the bedroom. Which made the living area a small white walled room with a seating area.
The pool was nice and the staff was polite. The lift to each of the 4 floors started on the 2nd floor which was a bit strange. It's also out of the way. If u have a car or a bike it's no problem, 10 mins to anywhere but if not your looking 3/400b to get to the beach front each way. U do that twice a day u might as well stay on the beach. We moved out with a few days left and went to another resort. See me reviews to know which one it was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toshtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked into this hotel for 5 nights only to discover that google maps shows this apartment type boutique hotel to be closer to the ocean than what it is . It's about a 2 km walk to the nearest beach not 200m as the front desk had mentioned . They do offer a shuttle but watch for the story about the shuttle ' having gone for service ' . I think I recall someone else mentioning this before .
Can't knock down the young guy who drove us to the beach though . He picked us up after dinner which was awesome service on his part . A good tip saw many more great favors from him .

We unfortunately were part of the recent power shortage guests at the hotel . Without electricity came no water ! A crap deal to say the least !

But what Was more horrendous to deal with was the unbearable noise we had to put up with from Asian tour groups checking in at night . 1130 pm when some are asleep , these groups gave a damn about filtering their noise level ! Grrrrr !

Be warned , this boutique hotel has two wings . One attached to the lobby area and the other attached to the pool area ( set on the first floor of the second building ) , with only elevator access from the pool level upwards . You may have problems with these steps if you have a health issue that challenges you with stairs .
The Wing attached to the lobby has a view of the neighborhood more so than the lagoon .
If you choose a pool access room , be ready to share the view of your room interior with the rest of the pool users . There are only 3 of these rooms and those that lounge closer to these rooms ( only 6 loungers in total around the pool) will have direct view into your rooms .
The pool closes at 7pm ! Annoying !

I checked out the suites as well . Just a few extra square meters with a couch and more room in the bathroom differentiates it from the deluxe room ( which has a tiny and non ventilated bathroom ) .
The deluxe room was ample for our short stay but I did regret not choosing the suite with the bigger bathroom . Rust seems to be slowly destroying this hotel . Sad to note !

If you can find a hotel closer to the beach do consider booking it , cos paying 200 baht for a tuk tuk is quite a rip off for a 2 km ride . If you don't mind the distance and the maintenance issues around the hotel, this may be the spot for you .

Overall an average experience .... Except for the young guy who drove us around ! Cheers to him !!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tashastraveltroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
422 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights Deluxe room at NZ$41 through Agoda which was in the same block as reception. Room is a good size, has a view from small balcony, kitchen sink, (handy for making cocktails!), breakfast bar with chairs, LCD TV and large king size comfortable bed. Limited english movie channels. Bathroom was very small and pongy due to no ventilation and as such a rotting door. Nice swimming pool but in another block, very comfortable loungers but only 5. Breakfast very limited and only toast or cornflakes with milk if you don't eat eggs, not even a cup of tea available. It was clean but could have done with a bit more polish.

We liked the location as if you turned left it was only 10 minutes to Kata Beach, across busy road, but then most of the walk was past shops, restaurants and bars. If you turned right then only 15 minutes to Karon Beach. A 3 minute walk to 711 that was 1/3 of the price of the ones on the main road.

Staff were exceptionally helpful, one day taking me in their tuk tuk to the local market so I could buy some mint for my mojitos. They went in with me and negotiated price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badung, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at Lae Lay Suites for five nights in May and would strongly recommend it to any travellers seeking quiet comfort away from the crowds but handy to the beach and restaurants. Chen and his wife really looked after us and because it was low season upgraded us to a pool access suite. Breakfasts are simple but adequate and the staff are friendly and helpful.

A high-season experience might be different, with large numbers of guests staying, but we could not fault the accommodation for comfort, cleanliness, friendliness and helpfulness.

It rained a little while we were staying there and the offer - gladly accepted - of "transport by Chen" to our restaurant one night was above and beyond the service you expect.

Lae Lay Suites also arranged our airport pick-up on arrival and transport to our next hotel elsewhere on Phuket so there was no trouble with payment for those services.

Really great. Congratulations!

Room Tip: Pool Access suites (there are three) would be the best low-season option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichardL139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.3 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#110 of 132 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karon Village Hotel & Bungalow
0.1 mi away
Baan Karon Resort
Baan Karon Resort
#69 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Honey Resort
Honey Resort
#83 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanida Garden Resort
Vanida Garden Resort
#59 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Tranquil Villa
Kata Tranquil Villa
#7 of 105 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lae Lay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Lay Suites

Property: Lae Lay Suites
Address: 214/22 Patak Rd. T.Karon | A.Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Lay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lae Lay Suites Lay Lay Suites provides 36 deluxe and executive suites accommodation with spectacular views over the lush green hills and sunset over Kata Bay…an easy 10-15 minutes discovery walk to beaches, shopping, banking and many other facilities to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lae Lay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lae Lay Suites Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing