We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
92
72
15
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
72
15
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing infinity pool steep hill private jacuzzi min walk balcony internet tuks
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 191 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I really can't say one bad thing about this place, it's perfect. It's a five minute walk to the main road, yet it's quiet and calm. It's a beautiful place with perfect rooms, clean and bright, with good AC, shower and tub, great beds in wich I slept like a baby. Never tried the restaurant food, but the breakfast buffet was brilliant, they even have their own egg chef! The staff was also perfect, such nice, happy and helpful people. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahL7549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Sarah L.

It was indeed a pleasure to read your review. It is very cheerful to see such a positive person as you are.

Can't wait to see you back to enjoy our quite atmosphere and spectacular view.

With gratefulness and joy,
Truly Yours
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Phunaka for 8 nights on our anniversary/birthday holiday for 2. We could not have asked for a better resort! The staff bend over backwards to help you, yes sometimes they struggle with the language but speak clearly and slowly and they will understand. something you will find anywhere in a foreign country. The resort and rooms are clean and the resort is perfectly located. The breakfast was amazing with anything and everything that any person would eat! Benjamas greeted us every morning with our coffee and our table by the outdoor waterfall and the biggest smile. Julius was always accommodating and helpful and always looking after people. The rooms are massive, bathroom is a big size, balcony is great - fantastic views you can see all around Karon. We used the gym 3 times out of 8 days for a weights session, we figured we had good cardio days where we walked into and around the streets of Karon and we also took the stairs heaps of times to work of our large meals rather than take the lift :) The lift up is gorgeous (and airconditioned) great after a busy day shopping or touring. Fantastic views from the infinity pool, great swim up bar - a great place to relax and cool off. We didn't eat other meals in the restaurant although the menu looked great we were kept busy with so much else to see and there is so much competition for places to eat - the prices are a little dearer but that's because you are in a resort, if you don't want to leave you pay it, if you want to explore you'll find cheaper eating and drinking, but most hotels and resorts will charge more. its a fantastic shuttle service that drops you down to the beach and you can walk your way back through the streets taking in the sights on the way back to the hotel. Cannot fault the resort at all, would go back in a heartbeat! Wanida on front reception has the best personality and warm smile and is always helpful. This perfect hotel is just capped off with accommodating and wonderful staff always willing to help. If anyone has questions please mail me, would be happy to give you any report on this wonderful place :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Leanne E.

Thank you so very much for such a cheerful review. We were truly touched with the highest rate that you've given us. Reading such thankful reviews like yours inspire us to please our guests even more.

You are warmly welcome back, we'll be happy to see you and your beloved any time.

Best wishes from all Phunaka staff.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I suggest you to go if you look for a claen and comfortable place to stay.it's quiet and friendly.it's got a swimming pool on the 3rd floor with a best view of phuket.you can go to the beach by shuttle for free.staff were so kind.the breakfast is perfect.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank idin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear idin g.

Thank you a lot for a review left and especially for spectacular pictures for our new guests to acknowledge.

We will be happy to welcome you back for your next journey to Phuket Island.

Truly Yours,
Phunaka Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Looking at other reviews I think they are pretty much bang on for this place. The staff are lovely we had July from the Philippines in the restaurant who is very sweet and try's hard to help get you in to the quiet restaurant. And olesia on the front desk, who is from Russia and she is great, very efficient and prompt and very nice.

The hotel is nice, the gym yes looks like an after thought I agree but if your there a few days it does what you want, if your in to real fitness you have a mountain and scorching heats , use that.

The pool is awesome, no other way to describe it really, it's warm, catches the sun all day and it was very quiet when we were there.

The room we got 8101 was the deluxe room and was beautiful, spacious and clean. On the balcony I got a sunbed I used 1 day and a jacuzzi I used for 5 minutes, and my advice is get a room without the jacuzzi as when I filled it which took 2 hours there was plenty ants kicking about. My fault really I don't know what I expected to see in the mountains of thailand!???

The location is good as it's very quiet, we travelled all over phuket and when you just need a couple days to relax this place is great. You can get to kata beach in 5 minutes and patong in 15 if you want the hustle and bustle.

The key to this hotel is the staff they are a credit to it

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The best part is the views from the rooms and pool area. Staff were accomodating and helpful. However they have strange rules and stiff prices at the poolside bar.
The request for a voucher at check in is ridiculous and unnecessary. Surely all that is required is for staff to check their own register!
On the positive side, you get a refreshing glass of juice at check in. We asked for a second key and were asked to sign a voucher informing us of an additional charge if we lost it! Strange practice.
Sammat is the front desk manager and he does his best to make the stay pleasant.

The sunsets from thr pool are to die for!
For the price, it is a resonable value room wise but there are cheaper accommodations in Karon.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GlobalguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews