We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
92
72
15
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
72
15
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing infinity pool steep hill private jacuzzi min walk balcony tuks
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 191 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Phunaka for 8 nights on our anniversary/birthday holiday for 2. We could not have asked for a better resort! The staff bend over backwards to help you, yes sometimes they struggle with the language but speak clearly and slowly and they will understand. something you will find anywhere in a foreign country. The resort and rooms are clean and the resort is perfectly located. The breakfast was amazing with anything and everything that any person would eat! Benjamas greeted us every morning with our coffee and our table by the outdoor waterfall and the biggest smile. Julius was always accommodating and helpful and always looking after people. The rooms are massive, bathroom is a big size, balcony is great - fantastic views you can see all around Karon. We used the gym 3 times out of 8 days for a weights session, we figured we had good cardio days where we walked into and around the streets of Karon and we also took the stairs heaps of times to work of our large meals rather than take the lift :) The lift up is gorgeous (and airconditioned) great after a busy day shopping or touring. Fantastic views from the infinity pool, great swim up bar - a great place to relax and cool off. We didn't eat other meals in the restaurant although the menu looked great we were kept busy with so much else to see and there is so much competition for places to eat - the prices are a little dearer but that's because you are in a resort, if you don't want to leave you pay it, if you want to explore you'll find cheaper eating and drinking, but most hotels and resorts will charge more. its a fantastic shuttle service that drops you down to the beach and you can walk your way back through the streets taking in the sights on the way back to the hotel. Cannot fault the resort at all, would go back in a heartbeat! Wanida on front reception has the best personality and warm smile and is always helpful. This perfect hotel is just capped off with accommodating and wonderful staff always willing to help. If anyone has questions please mail me, would be happy to give you any report on this wonderful place :)

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Leanne E.

Thank you so very much for such a cheerful review. We were truly touched with the highest rate that you've given us. Reading such thankful reviews like yours inspire us to please our guests even more.

You are warmly welcome back, we'll be happy to see you and your beloved any time.

Best wishes from all Phunaka staff.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I suggest you to go if you look for a claen and comfortable place to stay.it's quiet and friendly.it's got a swimming pool on the 3rd floor with a best view of phuket.you can go to the beach by shuttle for free.staff were so kind.the breakfast is perfect.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank idin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear idin g.

Thank you a lot for a review left and especially for spectacular pictures for our new guests to acknowledge.

We will be happy to welcome you back for your next journey to Phuket Island.

Truly Yours,
Phunaka Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Looking at other reviews I think they are pretty much bang on for this place. The staff are lovely we had July from the Philippines in the restaurant who is very sweet and try's hard to help get you in to the quiet restaurant. And olesia on the front desk, who is from Russia and she is great, very efficient and prompt and very nice.

The hotel is nice, the gym yes looks like an after thought I agree but if your there a few days it does what you want, if your in to real fitness you have a mountain and scorching heats , use that.

The pool is awesome, no other way to describe it really, it's warm, catches the sun all day and it was very quiet when we were there.

The room we got 8101 was the deluxe room and was beautiful, spacious and clean. On the balcony I got a sunbed I used 1 day and a jacuzzi I used for 5 minutes, and my advice is get a room without the jacuzzi as when I filled it which took 2 hours there was plenty ants kicking about. My fault really I don't know what I expected to see in the mountains of thailand!???

The location is good as it's very quiet, we travelled all over phuket and when you just need a couple days to relax this place is great. You can get to kata beach in 5 minutes and patong in 15 if you want the hustle and bustle.

The key to this hotel is the staff they are a credit to it

Date of stay: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The best part is the views from the rooms and pool area. Staff were accomodating and helpful. However they have strange rules and stiff prices at the poolside bar.
The request for a voucher at check in is ridiculous and unnecessary. Surely all that is required is for staff to check their own register!
On the positive side, you get a refreshing glass of juice at check in. We asked for a second key and were asked to sign a voucher informing us of an additional charge if we lost it! Strange practice.
Sammat is the front desk manager and he does his best to make the stay pleasant.

The sunsets from thr pool are to die for!
For the price, it is a resonable value room wise but there are cheaper accommodations in Karon.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GlobalguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had been travelling Thailand since the beginning of the year staying in various lovely 3 star hotels but thought we would 'upgrade' to the Funaka for a weekend expecting a cool and stylish place!
Instead we got a cold and soulless hotel!!

First impression was of a surly, unsmiling young Russian receptionist who insisted on us emailing our voucher to the hotel there and then in the middle of reception after a long journey!
Why we could not check in and relax then email it is beyond me.....?maybe one of the many hotel rules that the staff seem to have to stick to rigidly.

The room was spacious and clean and no more than we would have expected for the rates the hotel charges.
The view from the balcony was of the tops of the local residents houses and in the far distance you could see the sea.
The restaurant and bar areas both lacked any atmosphere and we tried lunch there once which was ok but30 percent dearer than every other lunch we had experienced in Thailand.
Was also shocked a bit to see the prices for the drinks.....150 baht for a small can of Chang!

The hotel runs a shuttle bus down to Karon beach but does not bring you back.......which was a mystery to me.....when I asked the question the receptionist just looked at me and smiled.....probably because she did not even understand the question.....
We were also surprised at how poor the receptionists Grasp of English was.....especially in a 4 star tourist hotel in Phuket.
There was one of the reception team that stood out.....Samat was excellant and very patient when we tried the very painful process of booking a car through the hotel....

The pool was the only saving grace of the hotel.....beautiful infinity pool overlooking Karon but the pool area itself was a large concrete area filled with cheap looking plastic sun beds and definitely lacking any imagination.

The fitness room looked like it had been added on as an afterthought...probably to ensure 4 star status.

We felt the emphasis of the hotel was to squeeze as many baht out of the customer rather than ensuring the people were having a great time....only Saamat asked us for our opinion of the hotel.
This was highlighted when I went down to the bar to ask for some ice in a small bucket to keep our drinks cool.
The bartender then started to charge me for this which totally flabbergasted me!
I stated that this was the first hotel ever to try and charge me for some ice.......surely they can provide this as a service considering the rates they charge.

We then cancelled our evening dinner reservation in disgust and as we walked out of the hotel we saw the highly embarrassing sight of a talented female singer singing in the restaurant to NO ONE.....
We then went down the hill to the lovely family run Thai restaurant on the right who gave us a wonderful warm welcome and the food was lovely.
Elsewhere in the thai restaurant was all the other hotel guests that we had seen sitting by the pool also enjoying the food and atmosphere.......

We noticed the trip advisor award for 2013 on the walls and can only assume that the hotel has changed policy, management or just got complacent

Karon is basically a very, very busy Russian beach resort with insanely overpriced hotels.
Karon beach was a mass of thousands of blue umbrellas and sun beds all crammed in together......not really our idea of Thai paradise.

Tip would be to hire a car and venture to kho lak and kho kho khao island approx 1 hour north of airport....lovely and picturesque and not as busy as the resorts in Phuket.

Room tip: Hire a car and travel north to stay in koh lak or koh koh khao
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Peter D.

We thank you for finding some time to make a review about Karon Phunaka. We carefully consider every review to improve our service.

By check-in process you need to confirm not only your identity, which is your passport being copied for, but also confirm your booking. The printed accommodation voucher is being asked for hotel internal use, and in order to ease up your check-in process we provide you Wi-Fi connection free of charge to simply forward voucher to hotel e-mail, so we could print it for you.

As for shuttle bus service, indeed for now hotel can provide only one-way ride to Karon beach and nearby Karon area. Your review has been sent to all concerned as we do understand your trouble and we are trying to settle down this problem to provide two-way drive in nearest future.

The review of yours has been sent to Manager of Food and Beverage dept. as well in your concern for overrated prices. To provide you better service Hotel management will try to organize some discount promotions in addition to ones that we already have, such as Pool Bar Happy Hours from 13 to 15. This time you can get a bottle of Chang Beer for 100 THB only.

Never the less we cherish the hope that you and your family to visit Karon Phunaka one more time so we could serve you again.

Best Regards,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews