We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Ranked #64 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

All up this was a wonderful place to start our Thailand trip. The facilities were great and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside was that the room we booked was not available when we arrived and we were "upgraded" to a family room which was nice but there was no point in the extra space and bed for a couple traveling and we did not have the jaccuzzi on the balcony which we were looking forward to. It was a hassle moving rooms the next day and was a bit of a dampener to an otherwise lovely stay. Very close to the beach and shops with a free shuttle to the beach. Breakfast was amazing with both Thai and western foods. Bar prices very cheap and we loved the poolside bar with awesome views out to sea from the pool. Excellent value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anniemac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    70
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
82
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irymple, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

WATCH OUT FOR THIS RESORT<<<<<<< THIEFES
I stayed there for nine nights, fantastic resort, great service from the staff, left at 5.00am to catch a plane home to australia. I left five staff members a sealed envelope with a card inside with personal message, also a tip for each staff member, some as high as 1000.00 BAAT. which I thought was acceptable for the service they provided,
I have since spoken to all five staff who have informed me that they received the card- not in a closed envelope, and not with the tip given to them, I have sent three emails to the front office and motel management asking that this be investigated, answered and corected, _ I SEE THIS AS A THEFT FROM MY SELF AS WELL AS THE STAFF_ to date all i have received is a email from front office saying they are invesigating,
EITHER THEY HAVE STAFF THAT ARE STEALING< OR MANAGEMENT STEALS THE STAFF TIPS - HORRIBLE- DISGUSTING, AND WOULD RECOMMENMD OTHERS LOOKING FOR A HOLIDAY TO LOOK AT A RESORT THAT LOOKS AFTER ITS STAFF. THIS HJAS RUINED MY HOLIDAY, - THEFT FROM THE STAFF AND THE CUSTOMERS

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Jenni W.

Thank you for spending sometime to review Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa. The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our management .

While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a lackadaisical attitude on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.

There is no excuse for what has happened as we check all our staff to be honest people and obedient to the law. Never the less there is a human factor and sometimes we just cannot expect some things to be done.

It was a serious consequences for the theft and a strong warning to all hotel staff not to ever follow theft's example.

We will try to do everything possible to prevent this situation to happened ever again and sincerely hope you to choose our hotel for future visits accommodation.

Best Regards to you and your family,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days over my birthday. The staff were brilliant and even brought a cake to our room and sung happy birthday. The room was lovely and the balcony had a great view of the sunset in the evening. There was a sliding door in the bathroom so you could watch the tv whilst taking a bath or shower. The location on the hillside means it is quieter than a lot of the other hotels around Karon and it is only a short walk to the beach or there were free shuttles to the beach.
A live band played during dinner which was reasonably priced and the presentation and taste was great. The breakfast buffet had lots of choice and plenty of staff on hand to assist.
A swim up pool bar is always great and the bar man very friendly and would give you a hand towel to dry
Your hands when you wre at the bar. The view from the pool overlooked the ocean and was very tranquil compared to the hustle and bustle of the beach which drew big crowds.
Riding the hill lift to the room was a novelty and allowed one to overlook the town and beach.
A great resort to lounge by the pool and enjoy good food well cooked. I wouldn't choose to go back to Phuket or Karon but if I did I would gladly stay at the Phunaka resort again.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It seemed quite tranquil the first day and night however the next night we were woken up by a noisy tour group moving into their rooms. The following morning the hotel restaurant was so packed there was no space for us.

The rooms and balcony are nice. The staff were not very competent despite being very friendly. They do their best but its pretty obvious they are not well trained and have little ability to think or act outside the rules they are given by management.

The restaurant is over-priced and the portions small with the quality of food only average. The breakfast was fine - as you would expect.

The beach is only about a 15 minute walk away (not a steep uphill walk back despite appearances) you don't feel like you are at a beach-side destination. Next time I would stay closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an Oceanview room right by the pool. The rooms higher up are a pain to get to for no better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lurve2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear lurve2travelmore.

Thank you for the review left and thank you very much for the room tips left for other guests. It's very pleasant that you've appreciated our unique landscape and spectacular view.

It's been many changes over passed year. We truly understand your position that is why now Room Service provide breakfast as well. You can choose between American or Asian breakfast, that would be kindly delivered to your room.

We are cheering the hope that you choose our hotel for your accommodation once again.

Best regards,
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the very impressive entrance to the wonderful staff waving to us as we left this is the ultimate Thai accomadation . All of the rooms have wonderful views over the sea the rooms are very large with comfortable beds and beautiful luxurious linen on the beds and luxury items in the lovely bathroom. Very large deep bath you can lay back and look over the view with a sliding door through a window The boutique style property is quite new with the most amazing infinity pool complete with seabed style seats overlooking the view. With a bar you can swim up to . The breakfast buffet was extremely high standard with fresh fruits and a chef ready to cook omelettes or eggs and bacon ect cereal hot and cold food and drinks in a lovely room with bifold windows with huge waterfall at the side. To get to the higher rooms,we were up the top there is a lift that glides up the side of the resort air conditioned with views all the way . The staff could not have been more helpful there English is good and we felt totally pampered. Don't look any further this is the best hotel in Phuket definitely I will come back and recommend it to all my friends

Room Tip: You need to be fairly fit to be on level7. As you have to climb up a few steps but the views are ult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Poor service. staff not so helpful. staff refused to send spoon to rooms. Wanted to charge 50 bahts for spoon. also asked to pay for pool drink not incurred by us. refused listen and told us that we could not leave if we did not pay. hotelw as to far from main road and beach. shuttle bus limited.

Room Tip: rooms on third floor seem better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thangam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, Public Relations Manager at Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear thangam a.

We thank you for the review left. It is very important for us to know what to improve in our work.

It's been many changes during the time passed. The staff hire policy has been changed to improve the service and communication skills of Phunaka Team. Moreover, we improved the pool service so now you can enjoy pool drinks for 100 THB only from 1 to 3 pm (Happy Hours Promotion).

We cherish the hope that you'll be back here to enjoy our improved service and beneficial promotions.

Best Regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

nice hotel for good prices! got a nice view but the "escalator" was quite slow ... and while waiting for it there was lots of bugs... and they were HUGE ..so it was quite scary

the location is alright.. right outside the hotel there is this family that rents motorbikes, so we rented from there ... the slope to go up the hotel was too steep, so we park our motorbike at the place we rented that is just outside the hotel...

this hotel has nice view overall... services was ok ... didn't use much of the hotel facilities this time... o .. btw the food was alright.. but better if you go out to the streets...

value was good for the price we paid though ... still recommended :)

Room Tip: higher "floors" ... longer the "escalator" ride ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.5 mi away
Phunawa Resort
Phunawa Resort
#75 of 133 in Karon
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Front Village Hotel
The Front Village Hotel
#78 of 133 in Karon
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
On the Hill Karon Resort
On the Hill Karon Resort
#61 of 133 in Karon
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa

Property: Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
Address: 22/1 Soi 22 Thanon Patak, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#33 Spa Hotel in Karon
#34 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#50 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide yourself away from the world in a hillside paradise in Phuket, Thailand. The individual villa-style buildings of the Karon Phunaka resort and spa are set amidst a lush forest and scattered down Naka Mountain in true tiered wedding-cake style. From every almost every point in the resort, you'll have sea views to die for, floor-to-ceiling windows in your Deluxe bedroom that bathe the room in natural sunlight and a balcony with your own private Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karon Phunaka Hotel Karon
Karon Phunaka Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing