We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karon Phunaka Resort
Nearby Hotels
$145
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$105
$90
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort(Kata Noi Beach)(Great Value!)
$167
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$112
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyond Resort Karon(Karon)(Great Value!)
$168
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$257
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$163
$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$37
$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
88
72
15
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
72
15
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing infinity poolsteep hillprivate jacuzzisquash courtfantastic hotelmin walkeach morningelevatorbalconyinternettuks
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 187 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Ideal place for a weekend getaway. Relatively well-kept rooms. Great location (on the hillside away from the road noise and general hustle and bustle of Karon main street).

got the deluxe room with in built jacuzzi. jacuzzi could have been better maintained but otherwise works well. Warm water available which makes use of jacuzzi possible day or night.

lucky enough to get a room at building 8 (highest level - three tiers of rooms altogether) so views were not obstructed by the lower tier rooms. Nice view of Andaman sea. Rooms are sizeable enough and furnishings are quite new and in good condition.

Staff very friendly and able to speak English generally well (especially front desk staff). Restaurant / room service staff struggle at times with spoken English so keep orders simple.

Due to location (on hill side), might not be overly convenient for elderly or people with young children. Though shuttle service from resort to Karon main street / beach is available, this is only one way (i.e. from resort to beach). Coming back is either by foot (10-15 mins walk) or take a tuk-tuk (relatively expensive due to the short ride and min. amount charged).

Room Tip: get corner rooms (sea facing) if possible / available. Corner rooms have two sets of windows (more sea views!)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulat1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear bulat1030,


We very appreciate your review of your stay at Karon Phunaka and glad to know that you like Andaman Sea View widely visible from your room and terrace. Thank you very much. And your suggestions have been forwarded to the management and related units. We will find solution to make every guest's stay satisfy. Walking times from hotel to shopping street and beach depends. As we found from reviews, most of families had a good time with us. As we aware that our location is on the hill, we always take a special care of senior and family with kids. We will keep up our good works to make all guests have enjoyable stay.


Yours sincerely,


On behalf of Karon Phunaka management and staffs

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

From the minute we arrived in Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa the staff made us feel very welcome. They went above and beyond anything we expected. From the housekeepers, gardeners, maintenance, waiters, front desk staff, everyone was very friendly and wonderful people. The accomodation was very comfortable and clean. We were lucky enough to get the corner room at the top of the resort with amazing views. Although the resort is on a hill it offers a shuttle bus into Karon, however we walked up and down everyday as it was nice to see the sights and experience everyday Thai life. Food was good, breakfast offered everything we wanted and as it was a buffet there was definately plenty to eat. We had a massage in the hotel and was so relaxing and a lovely room in the day spa. The pool is great! and with a poolside cocktail bar it is a must to enjoy after a long day shopping. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Phuket. Thank you to everyone at Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa for contributing to our wonderful stay, we hope to return again next year :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Danny M,


Your review of your stay at our resort made us feel really happy. Your comfort and enjoyable stay is always our priority. It really proved that our hard working really worth it. Thank you very much. We appreciate that you liked your room, that you liked our services, infinity swimming pool, pool bar, spa and breakfast.

And I agreed that the walkway from the main road to our resort is good source for sightseeing and experience the true of local life. There are beautiful temple where local market taking place very Tuesday and Saturday that there are varieties of food and goods to buy, local school that you will see children line up to sing national anthem song at every 8 o’clock from Mon-Fri , village headman center and etc.- true community that you can see and touch the real of local. Thank you very much for your stay with us and we will be more than happy to welcome you to our resort again next year.


With Best Regards,



On behalf of Karon Phunaka management and staffs



Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

While I am writing this review we are having breakfast in Phunaka restaurant. The resort had arranged airport pick up for us which saved us from the hassle of traveling over an hour from airport to the resort on our own. We were cheerfully greeted and genuinely welcomed by the crew. My partner loved the welcome drink.
Our room turned out to be reasonably spacious with large bathroom, comfortable furnishing, balcony with big Jacuzzi and beautiful view. All service requests or issues have been addressed promptly, e.g. we had little problem with Jacuzzi and we reported that to front desk. When we reached our room in less than 5 minutes the service man was awaiting up there to fix the tub. Staff are friendly and very caring who remember you and proactively take care of your needs.
We had fun swimming and taking pictures in infinite pool which is easily accessible, along the hill with Andaman sea view. The pool is big and well maintained. The lift that transports guests up the steep hill perhaps operates 24 hours. If you do not prefer to use lift, walk down the stairs as slopes, which are almost vertical, can cause injury. Complimentary breakfast in the restaurant has varied choices for you if you have time to enjoy it since tours usually start early morning. We did not have a chance to peep into gym and spa.
Mostly good things to talk about this wonderful resort. It has its own share of pitfalls though and these are merely our opinion. Luncheon in the restaurant was average and pricy. We decided not to dine in the restaurant again. When we were rushed by travel agency’s driver while having breakfast, I requested maître d' to pack our untouched food so that it was not wasted. He refused and his colleague noted that it was “a lot of food that could not be packed”. We are not big eaters and it was just breakfast. Even a plastic bag could do well. And once we were stranded in the lift for 15 minutes due to technical failure. When emergency button did not work we had to shout and beat the door for help until we got noticed. A working emergency button would be just great in a lift which is not monitored and is located at a corner of the resort.
Almost forgot this, we got discount rates for our stay..true value per se. We came here with dollars in wallet, thus feel good factor, only to discover that Phuket is no cheaper than our state. Yet we have good time and a holiday to cherish. And Karon Phunaka resort has a big contribution to that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rabboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Rabboo,



We appreciate your review of Karon Phunaka and that you liked our Deluxe room with Jacuzzi on the terrace and that you liked the blue Andaman Sea view visible clearly from your private terrace. And as you said the swimming is a must to visit for Sea View lover and really nice that you were among them. Glad to hear that our team took good care of you and that you had good holiday overall.


And we are very sorry that our restaurant service did not live up to your expectations, also the short failure of our outdoor glass elevator which was not a norm of our operation. My team and I have reviewed your points to see what we can do to fix or improve the areas you mentioned. I understand your point that you felt there was not a good reason to refuse to unpack your breakfast. Please apologize for this. Normally we have packed breakfast box service which guest can order in advance so that we can well pack and store various kinds of food to suit your need. An urgent request may delay your time if you are on departure of a trip and may cause improper food pack which is not a norm that we do. A breakfast box pre-order is recommended in case that you may have to join a trip early morning. And we are very sorry for the short failure of our lift operation. We do maintenance it regularly; somehow unusual rain caused a problem. Our reception located on the lower area of the resort, it may take some times for them to reach the lift. Anyhow, as it is glass- outdoor- lift, escalating on the double iron tracks located on the ground open air area, passengers will be able to see surrounding outside and can be taken out in very short time comparing to lifts used in buildings which would be more complicated to help passengers out in case of technical failure. Anyhow, it was not what we expected to happen, our apologies for this.


Yours sincerely,


On behalf of Karon Phunaka management and staffs


Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great Resort!

AMAZING Staff, sometimes overally courteous! ;)
AMAZING food and AMAZING service, cleanliness was wonderful, It's on a hill, we walked up and down most times but there is a shuttle bus.
I really miss my time at the resort, and I definately recommened to anyone considering this resort.

Only negatives... Their elevator is slow, few times broke down and you had to take the stairs - which was painful... But Hey.... Great excercise! Service and professionalism makes up for it. And isn't that what we all are looking for?

Room Tip: If you are just after a room and not a fantastic view, get a room on the first level/garden room without a view, just incase the lift breaks down. But I still highly recommend this resort.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renaekates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear renaekates,


We really enjoy reading your review of your stay with us. Thank you very much for your review. And please apologizes for the discomfort cased by our elevator maintenance. After days of rain, we had to temporally close it and do maintenance. Anyhow, it seems that we were exactly what you were looking for in Karon beach, Phuket. And we really appreciate that you were happy on every moment with us. And it’s really nice to know that our staffs treated you very well and made your stay amazing.


Hope you have a wonderful time on every holiday and hope you come to stay with us if you come to Phuket again.


Regards,


On behalf of management and Karon Phunaka staffs

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 4 days during my recent trip to Phuket. The hotel is located in a quite neighbourhood and was only a 5 min walk from the shopping street near Karon Beach. The hotel is divided into several buildings and each room overlooks Karon as it is located along the hill side.

The room is quite big with a sofa that could comfortably be made into another bed. The bathroom is quite spacious. The shower was seperate from the bath tub. However, one of the downside is that there was no clothes line or place to hang wet clothes especially after a day at the beach or the swimming pool.

The pool also provides a wonderful view and the pool bar serves a range of drinks. I had dinner at the restaurant and the food was nice. The serving was quite large.

A wonderful hotel to stay in especially after a long day exploring Phuket, nothing beats staying in a hotel that is close the the action yet without the noise from traffic and the bars

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImranJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaronPhunaka, The Management at Karon Phunaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear ImranJ,


Thank you very much your review of our resort. We really enjoy reading it. And thank you very much about your suggestion. We will discuss over this seriously and I believe the management will move on for better service to our customers. Hope that we will have chance to welcome you back to our resort again when you come to visit Phuket.


Regards,


One behalf of the management and hotel staffs.

Pasara Puthamat
Executive Secretary
Karon Phunaka Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews