We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Siam Divers

South Siam Divers
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to the boat crew, DM's and organisers. Great dives had, Koh Duc Mai, King Cruiser and Shark Rock. Thanks heaps to Josh my DM who I had for my 3 dives, and who took over photographing etc when mine died.
Thanks to Jim as well

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryll R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    52
    25
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi/vietnam
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“good for nice weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

we took this boat and have to seat on sun deck. We do not know what will happen if it rains since the covered room is very small and cold by aircon.
Next to the stair to the sun deck is also the compressor for compressed air which is hot.
Dive deck is small if the boat is full.
Food is okay, soft drink is a full diet coke with lots of calories.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved diving Similan with South Siam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Did 4 nights with South Siam divers and really loved it. They look after everything, all I did was dive, eat, read and sleep. You leave your rig on the same tank and they just keep refilling it for you, which may be common but it was the first time I had experienced it. We saw some Manta's, had a really great guide and spent a few hours on an island. Loved the food and the boat/room was clean. What more could you want?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Duxnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Had a blast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My partner and I booked in for the "Discover Scuba Diving'. We were picked up from our resort in Karon beach and transferred to the pier. Our personal Scuba instructor greeted us within seconds of stepping off the mini bus. We were pleased that our scuba instructor, Adam, could speak English very well, as we were worried that we would end up with a Thai instructor and not be able to understand his instructions. On the boat we were shown how to use our scuba gear and were fitted accordingly. We had no previous scuba experience but were shown the basic hand signals and movements required to dive. Adam was really patient, we practiced these at the start of our first dive in the water until Adam thought we were capable. Adam ensured that we were both comfortable and confident during our first dive. We did two dives throughout the day, separated by lunch. Lunch was fantastic with a mix of thai and western food. The second dive was more enjoyable than the first, only because the boat boys gave the left overs from lunch to the fish. This was awesome so see as fish swarmed from every direction. My partner and I followed Adam around on the sea floor, as he showed us all the different fish and coral around Racha Island. He also had a proffesional underwater camera which he used to take photos and videos of us and the sea life that we saw. We were able to purchase a DVD with all of the photography on it for 1000 baht. We had such an awesome experience scuba diving and it was the highlight of our holiday. We plan to return to Thailand to complete the Open Water Course in the near future. Would highly recommend scuba diving to anyone!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brooke359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would not go back to this ship”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Review for South Siam Divers live aboard. We've just returned from this 3 day dive on the SS3 boat. We were not impressed! The boat is pretty dirty, hairs all over the floor and you must walk barefoot, they don't even like you wearing your flip flops into the bathroom. The crew is friendly enough but not really interactive and between dives they blast Thai music and on another deck blast the volume on Thai tv channels. They aren't really there to cater to the guest, we sort of felt like sheep, just another bunch of tourists to get in and get out. Also there is no where comfortable to sit except on small lounge room and it tends to be filled with the staff! So the guests are stuck outside on hard wooden benches listening to blasting Thai music. The cleanness of the food prep and coffee area is below par, the sponges to wash the dishes look like they've been used for months straight. The only free beverage is full fat coke rip off product or water. Beer 50 baht. The food is ok, I would say 3/10. The rooms have an odd goat cheese smell. I would not use this boat again, definitely worth paying more for an upscale boat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank liza c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Siam Divers also viewed

 

Been to South Siam Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing