We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manohra Cozy Resort
Ranked #55 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in Phuket having booked Manohra Cozy Resort (do not confuse with Manohra Cozy Village) for 2 nights. Hotel owners really helpful and polite, shown to our room personally and around the hotel.

Hotel clean and tidy (cleaners working at the time but dont let this put you off) and room spacious and comfortable. Pool area clean and tidy, good place to relax. Nice hotel bar with happy hour!

Karon Beach area is ok, quite commercial and full of Scandanavian/Russian restaurants but hotel is really well positioned to explore Kata Beach (much better in our opinion) with many tuk-tuks operating throughout the night for around 200baht.
Hotel is a leisurely 15 minute walk from beach and shops.

Breakfast at hotel pretty standard, as long as you're not a princess there is something you'd eat to start the day!

Only real reason for not rating 5* is that it's slightly more expensive than it could be, purely for its location in relation to Karon, but it is quiet!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bradclark84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 300 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

I checked into the Manohra Cozy Resort in late December after nearly two months of traveling throughout Southeast Asia. The trip had proven to be somewhat more exhausting than I had anticipated, thus changed the itinerary by dropping two of the countries on the agenda and substituting this Beach Holiday near the end. The cab. which was arranged by the hotel, was a decent bargain and great choice as there was obviously no problem finding the property when I arrived late. Was greeted cordially, night desk clerk told me about time and location of free breakfast - just opposite desk. Got down to eat shortly after the 11:00 AM closing time and requested tea and toast one of the owners noticing my plight - instructed the chef to cook whatever I wanted and came to my table to introduce himself. We became fast friends as he recounted this adventures throughout southeast Asia - which were so memorable that he and an acquaintance moved there from Italy a few years ago to open two hotels on Phuket Island aiming for local charm and understated elegance. They hit the mark and are running smoothly,Dario and Marhomt, thank you again for your hospitality. You made me feel at home and never seemed too busy to offer a new tidbit of information nor did they make me feel that any of my requests (for help with problematic long distance telephone (especially international dialing) and finding local numbers that would work when U.S. ones were disabled. I plan to return on future trips to Southeast Asia specifically to blend some "down time into the journey",

Room Tip: Manohra Cozy is a great find. The hotel restaurant clearly reflects the owners Italian heritage. Sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed over Christmas 2013. We were in Phuket to meet up with my daughter who is traveling & stayed 10 nights. The room was very nice, large enough for the 3 of us. Cleaned everyday with fresh towells. The staff were all lovely. The food in the Restaurant was very good we had Thai & Italian meals. The breakfast was also very good. The pool was lovely but the sun loungers and umbrellas are all a bit tired and need replacing.
We had one problem with the shower which was sorted out quickly.
Reception arranged for a car and driver for us for an afternoon to have a look around - went to the Big Buddha, a temple which was close by and some view points. Also went elephant treking - amazing
We walked down to the beach and found a nice spot with a family run cafe who looked after us.
We always paid for a Tuktuk back to the Hotel which cost 200thb.
All in all a very nice holiday - a bit strange spending Christmas in the sun - but i'm sure we could get use to it

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CardiffJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights only.

Bit of a struggle to find the hotel as there is a sign up with the name Pratumwan Resort at the front of the building.

The room was nice, very spacious, great air con and the bathroom was excellent. The cleaners do a great job and freshen the rooms up daily.

Food and drinks are over priced which is a shame, 60 TBH for a can of soft drink is steep compared to other hotels we've stayed in (which have been of a higher calibre) We popped down the road and bought drinks/food as it's 1/3 of the price.

The breakfast was included in the deal and I thought it was to a poor quality. The bread was kept in baskets and towels were placed over the top, when I lifted the towels there was tiny black flies on the bread. The restaurant needs to upgrade the storage for certain items as it just isn't good enough. The fruit and pancakes were fine as they were stored in plastic containers with lids. Would be a good idea to have someone cooking fried eggs to order, instead of having the eggs sit in these cold tin trays for hours on end. The scrambled eggs and omelettes were loaded with egg shell! There just seems to be a lack of effort which is a real shame.

After the breakfast experience I decided not to eat lunch or evening meals here.

The swimming pool area is great, clean pool, plenty of good loungers and service from the bar staff were friendly and attentive.

The internet service is excellent, pick up signal from anywhere in the hotel complex.

The reception were very helpful, they would order you cabs when you needed them. This was a regular service as the hotel is located about 8/10 minutes from the town centre.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JimmyCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very traveller and tourist friendly hotel. Since we were only passing through Phuket on the way to Koh Lanta, we only stayed there for 1 night but we had an enjoyable stay. Hotel was understanding of the need to change our double room to a room with twin beds since we were cousins traveling together. Our room was relatively standard and a large buffet breakfast included in rate. Nice outdoor pool on large patio with great views. Resort is a 10-15 minute walk to Karin beach so it a bit of a hike to the beach but it was pleasant to wake up in a quiet, remote environment in what felt like the jungle.

Dinner at the restaurant was tasty but generous portions and spicy Thai dishes might have been the cause of my cousins sickness the following day. I found the food and cocktails to be delicious but I'm not certain he would agree with me. The restaurant also offers numerous Italian dishes so there might be some safer choices for everyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Denelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked this hotel for 3 nights after reading great reviews. We realised at the Airport itself that this may not be a very famous hotel when none of the local travel agents for taxi/mini van were aware about this hotel. Upon arrival at this hotel we realised that hotel do not have staff to transfer the baggage to the rooms which we had to carry ourselves. However when we checked into our rooms we found that the standard rooms which we booked were separated from the main hotel building. Rooms were Okay type, cleanliness in the bathroom needs improvement. Hotel was far away from the beach and the market and we had to walk every time for about 30 minutes we wanted to go to beach. Morning breakfast was great with enough varieties even for vegetarians like us. The hotel manager Tom was very helpful, always ready to help you with smile. He personally packed sandwiches and fruits for us when we wanted to go for day trips as in Thailand vegetarian food is difficult to get.

Room Tip: Do not choose standard room unless you want to stay separated from the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tushar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival at the resort we were greeted personally by Matteo, the owner of the resort. He personally saw to it that our room was ready and while waiting, he took us on a personal tour of the resort showing us all the amenities.

The room we stayed in was really big and clean. The staff were really friendly, always smiling and greeting us when we met them. Breakfast was simple and nice. If you want a place that is quiet and peaceful, this would be the place you want to stay at.

The Karon and Kata beaches are not very far away. They have a taxi service available or you can rent a motorbike to zip around. Well done Matteo and staff! Thank you for making our stay a memorable one!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Leon Chester S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.2 mi away
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
1.7 mi away
Phuket InterHouse
Phuket InterHouse
#105 of 135 in Karon
26 reviews
4.0 mi away
Silver Resortel
Silver Resortel
#67 of 331 in Patong
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 135 in Karon
642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
0.8 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#4 of 135 in Karon
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manohra Cozy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manohra Cozy Resort

Address: 10 Soi Patak 16, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Karon Hillside Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Karon
#36 Family Hotel in Karon
#48 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $16 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manohra Cozy Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karon Hillside Hotel, Phuket comprises 29 luxury guestrooms in Two distinctive wings the Main Hotel Wing: which features spacious rooms with enclosed balconies, the Garden Wing: where each room has a patio where you can sit and enjoy a cold drink in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manohra Cozy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manohra Cozy Resort Phuket/Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing