We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talay

Talay
Ranked #200 of 355 Restaurants in Karon
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cromwell, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb service and food!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice on a recent visit. The staff were really friendly, food was great and great value for money. We would definitely recommend to others and would definitely return again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ate here many times and always the food was excellent. very tasty and well catered for, even the kids thoroughly enjoyed it. No trouble accommodating the 12 of us, on various occasions. I found one dish a bit too spicy for me but I was going to tolerate it but the staff insisted on making me a new dish not spicy at all, add that to excellent service as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank generaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just Delicious”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Well what can you say about this great little restaurant. The food was "just delicious". My husband and I did not have one bad meal. The staff were "just fabulous" they were friendly, courteous and so accommodating. I can highly recommend there lobster done with a thai herb style sauce. I really don't think I have eaten a more delicious lobster. Oh and the prices are very reasonable. The lobster cost us $30.00 Australian. We didn't have the real big one just because we had other dishes. And may I also add many thanks to Sammee for making our dinners there so very pleasant, he is just a great guy who just makes you smile.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food in Karon Beach Area”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We don't use 'best' lightly here. We happened upon this restaurant in an effort to dodge tailors. It's a little out of the way (in small shopping centre on the beach road going toward south Kata from Karon). Go down main alley next to a purple bank/ATM and it's next to massage place. It was our first restaurant in Karon and were so amazed by the cheap prices (at least compared to Australia!), we way over-ordered too much food.

Every single dish was fabulous. We eat a lot of Thai food all over the world, and this was hands down the best. We are nearing our end of our Phuket stay, and Talay is still our very favorite. Staff is very friendly and speak reasonable English. This is the authentic Thai food we heard so much about.... nothing fancy about restaurant but food is amazing.

We particularly like the red curry chicken, massaman chicken, pad thai, morning glory greens, tom kah kai soup, and iced tea with milk. And do not miss the mango sticky rice! Each dish is about 120 baht ($4 AUD). Even with two extra bottled waters and an appetizer, the total bill was $27 AUD! Fantastic food for an unbeatable price. Will try to squeeze in another visit before we leave.

Talay Restaurant at Luangphochuain Road/ Beach Road intersection, Karon‎. (FYI: They have free Wifi but I never could get it to connect.)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Thai food and western”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have eat here a lot, the food is wonderful, its a very friendly and welcoming place and as a guest you are treated like one of the family. There are pizzas if you want but if you want some great thai food this is a place to visit. The lobster and grilled fish is fab.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talay also viewed

 
Phuket, Thailand
 

Been to Talay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing