We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm & nice family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
On the Hill Karon Resort
Ranked #64 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very nice to meet Joe' family.If you go to Thailand Karon Beach to play, highly recommended live in this hotel. Furniture, although a bit old, but the boss is very nice, very attention to detail. There is a gym, swimming pool, unrivaled views, free wifi, free breakfast. Price is also cost-effective.So wonderful to play table tennis with his handsome son . Miss mama cooked dishes, Miss their dog named nensa.Very nice with your family stay for a short time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 77 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Since our last stay here in APR2012, 5 more rooms were added to the complex (making a total of 15 total on the complex) and Mr. Joe was also adding a recreation room (stair master, ping pong table & dart board) adjoining to the gazebo close to the pool. Stayed in our favorite room close to the pool. Even though there was noise from the construction, we still enjoyed ourselves. The staff is always friendly and ready to meet every need. Especially enjoyed meeting Nam-cha(the resort "guard dog"). Anticipating the unveiling of the monument that is being built on the property.

Room Tip: Email reservation requests, there is one set of rooms that have adjoining doors suitable for a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgeoftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthehillkaron, Owner at On the Hill Karon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Hello...Bruce & Marry,

How are you ? .My family think of you and we can not contact you long time ,we lose your
e-mail address because we have problem with my old e-mail address and now we have
new e-mail address "joeonthehillkaron@gmail.com"

We are looking forward to hear from you .

Best Regards,

Joe/Noo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and me had a 10 days in this place. The owner Mr. Joe and his wife Mrs Noo have been so kind with us booking for us their best room. From the balcon we can had a beautiful view: the swimming pool, Karon beach along 3 km of coast and the Ocean. The location is on the hill between Karon and Patong. From here to each of these places just 5 minutes by tuk tuk but you also can ask help from Noi, a nice guy, chef of the Restaurant 50 mt. below the resort.
The room is spacious and clean and quiet. In the morning they serve a simple preakfast with fresh fruit, toast and coffe or tea, but you also can ask something else. From here to the beach you have to walk a bit by 200 steps, but.... what a good thing for fit. The only bad remind is the weather we found: raining, raining and raining. Only a few days of sun. I suggest do not go the first 15 days of October! I recommend this place to those who want to spend a holiday out of noise and traffic. Shopping and food are very close and cheap.

Room Tip: Number 27 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We recently returned from a trip to Phuket where we had the honour to stay at On the Hill. I recommend this hotel which charged a reasonable rate. The rooms were spacious and spotless with a view of the sea. We were made to feel like part of the family by the owners Joe and Noo and nothing was too much for them. They also assisted with arranging tours at a reasonable rate. The hotel is situated between karon and patong and taxis were always on hand to go to both places and they arranged taxis to and from the airport in phuket at a reasonable rate. I would highly recommend this hotel as a good place to stay in, in Karon with caring and courteous Thai hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yonag55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

i found this resort between patong and karon beach. this place is just what you need if you want a nice welcoming, clean room and outstanding sea view. the restaurant is good as well and the tour advices too. they can plan everything for you and for a wise price. i recommend On the Hill resort

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

i highly recommend this hotel because for a wise price you get a nice room with a sea view, you are at 5 minutes from the beach and moreover the food is excellent there. they give you some good advices for the tours, i spend a really great time there.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank vince t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Have stayed here several times (each time planing 2 stay a week but stayed a month). Leaving koh chang 2morrow 2 stay again for a month. That itself says it all! The staff is always friendly & accomodating. Our favourite room is always ready w/ a flowers on the table. Always felt like part of the family. Lot of history behind ownership of this property in the family as Joe (the owner) also has his sister, Pung owning the nearby restaurant. Beautiful family run business/property

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have best views of the ocean but more romantic views from Pung's restaurant w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edgeoftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
6.4 mi away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
0.9 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort
Karon Phunaka Resort
#72 of 137 in Karon
183 reviews
7.2 mi away
By The Sea
By The Sea
#9 of 13 in Cape Panwa
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#67 of 137 in Karon
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secret Cliff Resort
Secret Cliff Resort
#103 of 137 in Karon
677 reviews
2.1 mi away
Karona Resort & Spa
Karona Resort & Spa
#81 of 137 in Karon
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Hill Karon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Hill Karon Resort

Address: 693 Patak road | Tunbon Karon , Muang Distrct , Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $42 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Resort is located on the hillside overlooking the Karon Beach, just only a few minutes walk down to the beach, "On The Hill Karon Resort" is a perfect location for vacation destination that fit your budget for a long term stay. The resort is situated on the mountain over looking the Karon bay in the west side of Phuket Island only few minutes away from noisy Patong and Karon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your On the Hill Karon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Hill Karon Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing