We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
On the Hill Karon Resort
Ranked #60 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

i found this resort between patong and karon beach. this place is just what you need if you want a nice welcoming, clean room and outstanding sea view. the restaurant is good as well and the tour advices too. they can plan everything for you and for a wise price. i recommend On the Hill resort

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for On the Hill Karon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 75 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

i highly recommend this hotel because for a wise price you get a nice room with a sea view, you are at 5 minutes from the beach and moreover the food is excellent there. they give you some good advices for the tours, i spend a really great time there.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank vince t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Have stayed here several times (each time planing 2 stay a week but stayed a month). Leaving koh chang 2morrow 2 stay again for a month. That itself says it all! The staff is always friendly & accomodating. Our favourite room is always ready w/ a flowers on the table. Always felt like part of the family. Lot of history behind ownership of this property in the family as Joe (the owner) also has his sister, Pung owning the nearby restaurant. Beautiful family run business/property

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have best views of the ocean but more romantic views from Pung's restaurant w...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edgeoftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights while training in Muay Thai at the nearby Patong Boxing Gym (also highly recommended). As other reviewers mentioned, the owners Joe and Noo really treat the guests like family and go out of their way to make sure guests are comfortable. The hotel is located away from the craziness of Patong and just outside of Karon, but consider that if you want something for dinner generally you have to commute to one of those areas as there are no restaurants in walking distance, other than one restaurant down the hill towards the beach which is part of another hotel.

The room was fairly large and clean; wifi connection is free but was spotty at times. Motorbikes are available for rent at about $6 USD per day - also recommended to get around since taxis in Phuket overcharge compared to the rest of Thailand. They can also arrange airport transfers and other tours.

All in all, for the price, location, and experience this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velocity321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

On-The-Hill Karon Resort is a family run gem located a hill overlooking Karon Beach (Phuket). I stayed here for several weeks and I can honestly say that I felt like I was treated as part of the family. I travel frequently for both business & pleasure and this hotel had the most friendly and helpful staff that I have ever encountered.

Reasons to stay here:
- Great location overlooking Karon beach (beach views from most, if not all, rooms) as well as the restaurant. Short (steep) walk down to the beach.
- Also close to Patong (5-10 minutes cab ride) and Kata Beach (about the same)
- Owners & staff will always great you with a smile and help you with anything that you need. (Example #1: pretty much any hotel in Phuket will rent you a scooter to get around. At On-The-Hill the owner gave me free lessons to make sure that I was going to be safe on the road. Example #2: I was leaving very early in the morning for a trip to a nearby island and was pleasantly surprised to have breakfast waiting for me before I left. The owner had gotten up before 6 AM to cook me breakfast without any request on my part).
- Owners will assist with any tour bookings that you are interested in and will generally get sizable discounts from the listed price (this is Thailand after all).
- Great restaurant next door which serves Thai and Western food at very reasonable prices. I only ate Thai dishes and they were all excellent. The owner took pride in having me try different dishes representative of different regions in Thailand.
- Comfortable rooms with great views and the usual amenities (Wi-Fi, dvd player, pool, etc) at a very reasonable price

This hotel is perfect for:
- people visiting Phuket for diving, other watersports, or Muay Thai (Patong Boxing Gym is 500m down the road)
- anyone traveling on a budget who wants great value for their money and wants to be close to some of the best beaches in Phuket

Tips:
- While you can book online, I highly recommend that you email the owners directly (email located on their website). You will likely get a better price and they will make sure to have a room that best fits your requirements.
- If you are traveling by taxi from the airport, some drivers will not be sure of the location. All the drivers seem to know the 'Secret Cliff Resort" which is about 500m away and you can use that as a reference point. Better yet, ask the hotel to arrange a pick up for you and you will likely get a better price.

Room Tip: There are about 40 rooms and I am pretty sure that they all have great views of the beach. I stayed...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patrick_s7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthehillkaron, Owner at On the Hill Karon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Hello Patrick,

How are you ? My family are think of you. But we can't contract you , because I lost my old email address (uthensa@hotmail.com) , someone steal it. I had change my new e-mail address
to "joeonthehillkaron@gmail.com".

We hope to get back your e-mail
Best Regards,

Joe/Noo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I moved to this hotel after staying at a luxury resort further from Karon. I loved it, it had everything the luxury resort was lacking - extremely friendly and helpful staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, free wifi with good connection, books and dvd selection and beach access via many steps. The view from the balcony was amazing. The rooms are not flash but fine for the price (800 baht low season), clean and bed very comfortable. Shower was surprisingly good. This is something many luxury places get wrong but On the Hill's was heaven, large with lots of water pressure and hot water. Would definitely recommend to any travellers not expecting 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rebeccafromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.3 mi away
Karon Phunaka Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#98 of 134 in Karon
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#112 of 134 in Karon
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
1.7 mi away
OneLoft Hotel
OneLoft Hotel
#6 of 8 in Karon Beach
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterfront Suites Phuket by Centara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Hill Karon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Hill Karon Resort

Address: 693 Patak road | Tunbon Karon , Muang Distrct , Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $38 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Resort is located on the hillside overlooking the Karon Beach, just only a few minutes walk down to the beach, "On The Hill Karon Resort" is a perfect location for vacation destination that fit your budget for a long term stay. The resort is situated on the mountain over looking the Karon bay in the west side of Phuket Island only few minutes away from noisy Patong and Karon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Hill Karon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Hill Karon Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing