We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,906)
Filter reviews
3,906 results
Traveler rating
2,311
1,029
351
126
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,311
1,029
351
126
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river luna bar kids club deluxe pool suite water slides mare restaurant cliff jump jumping rock adult pool the club lounge karon town ocean facing entertainment team carpe diem main pool family holiday private beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 3,906 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

I think her name was Gift, not sure, there were 2 reservations made by me because of a problem at the hotels webpage, so they charged money 2 times and one of the supervisors at reception was perfectly helpful, thanks!
Hotel has a very nice beach and it was like private beach, only hotel in karon with that oportunity.
Nearby cheap restaurants at walking distance.
Spa was perfect.
I would stay again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank nitinol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019

A rare hotel on Karon beach without having to cross the street to get to the beach. This hotel is situated on a hill on the North side of Karon beach. We booked two ocean view rooms for our family of 4 for three nights.
Good:
- Taxi from the airport is by metered costing about 700B. The duration of the ride is about 45-60 mins with some traffic. Be sure to take the metered taxi from the airport.
- Checkin was easy and staff at reception and concierge speaks adequate English.
- Staff throughout the hotel is pleasant and always willing to help make your stay enjoyable.
- The fitness room is the best I have ever seen at any hotels that I have stayed at. This fitness room would be satisfactory for the advanced weight lifters.
- The rooms were spacious for 2 people with a large bathroom separate stand up shower, tub, and an enclosed toilet. The rainfall showerhead in the shower was a nice touch. Our two rooms were linked by balcony allowing us to spend time together easier. All amenities such as safe, hairdryer, bathrobes, slippers and toiletries were provided, except iron and board requires a request. It was great the hotel provided a beach bag for each room to borrow during the stay.
- The room was very clean, good drawers for clothing storage, and the air conditioning was great.
- The main attraction for this hotel is the pool and beach. The pool has two water slides and cliff jumping. There is a lazy river to float around. The lazy river is good but can use more current. The white and powdery sand beach is connected to the hotel property, so very easy access.
- The entertainment schedule is good and we particularly enjoyed the games by the pool and beach volleyball.
- Breakfast buffet has a nice variety of food making our three breakfast at the hotel enjoyable.
- Security around the hotel providing a safe environment and looking out for non-guests of the hotel using the facility is good. However, there seems to be some discrimination on who they confront to ask if they are a guest of the hotel. A suggestion is for security to ask everyone coming to the hotel from the beach or provide each guest with a wrist band.
- It was nice to check out and still be able to use the facility for the day and good shower facility to clean up before heading to the airport.

Not so good:
- Although the location by the beach is good, there is not a lot of restaurants surrounding the hotel. Your meal option, if you do not want to walk 15-20 mins from the hotel, are the two restaurants in the hotel. Due to construction in front of the hotel, walking to the main part of Karon is a little bit difficult and your best option is likely through the beach.
- There is almost no option to take a regular taxi from the hotel unless you call them for pick up. There is no taxi stands within the vicinity of the hotel. Taxis provided by the hotel is about 2x more expensive than the regular taxi.
- Due to the direct sewage water runoffs next to the hotel to the beach, the cleanliness of the water directly in front of the hotel is questionable. This is no fault of the hotel though.
- Value is not so good for us due to having to book two rooms for our stay.

Overall, the hotel is good and our stay was enjoyable.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sis_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

This is a lovely resort. What makes it exceptional is the caring staff. Would like to acknowledge the following employees who made our vacation amazing. In no particular order:
Aum - receptionist
Nuy - refreshment receptionist
Julian - MARE manager
Naan - MARE server
Pech - MARE server
Mui. - pool server
Chen - pool server
Housekeeping- excellent

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ronsharhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

I stayed at the Centara Grand for 9 nights in February with my husband and two young children (4 and 2). We stayed in a Deluxe Ocean Facing room which had quite a large bathroom and a balcony as well air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The resort was fantastic! It was clean and very well maintained. The staff were so attentive, kind and friendly and were great with our kids. The resort is right on the Karon beach. It was nice to have the option of walking a few extra metres to go to the beach for a swim. The facilities in the resort are amazing - several swimming pools, a lazy river you can float down, 2 water slides and a jumping rock. There is a kids club which offer different activities throughout the week. The Carpe Diem Entertainment Team also put on activities for both adults and children. Thanks to Lada, Edi, Ivana and David who got to know our kids and encouraged them to get involved in crafts, pool parties and evening shows, and giving parents a bit of a break!
We ate all of our meals in the resort and the food and service was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this resort.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Area Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Dear Lindsay W,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent holiday in the Land of Smiles.
It is a pleasure to read that you and your family have had an excellent time in our resort. The comments about our accommodating staff, entertainment team (Lada, Edi, Ivana and David), Kids Club and waterpark are very much appreciated and we will pass on these special remarks to them so that they are encouraged!
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back during a holiday in the near future.
Safe Travels,
Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

Stayed here for just 3 days in a deluxe pool room, it was fabulous. The view was awesome both during the day and at sunset. The bed faces the view which is lovely (although I'm not keen on a bed without a wall behind it - I think I'd redesign the walls!). The hotel is set on beautiful Karon beach with its white sand but there are no beach beds - fine as the hotel pools are lovely (happy cocktail hour at the adults pool :)). The hotel grounds are gorgeous and the breakfasts were fab - amazing choices and the pastries - wow! All staff were pleasant and happy. We walked into Karon and had a couple of really nice meals at unassuming restaurants. A trip on the shuttle bus to Patong didn't quite go as planned - if you go to anywhere in this area of Thailand be prepared for the traffic - the volume was a real shock to me and going into Patong should take about 10 mins but traffic meant it took much much longer - not the hotel's fault at all but just something for people to factor into their plans. I'd recommend the hotel - a bit of a walk out of town but worth it.

Room tip: Deluxe Pool Room
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank alyfenSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Area Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Dear alyfenSheffieldUK from Great Britain (UK),

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for having shared your satisfactory experience on Tripadvisor.

Every feedback from our guests are crucial to us and we always strive forward for further improvements.

I'm very glad to read that overall you enjoyed a stay and intended to come back!

We look forward for a pleasure of welcoming you back at Centara Grand Beach Resort Karon!

Safe travels,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews