We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!! a dream vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #16 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

After a disappointing experience elsewhere in Phuket, we arrived at this hotel and were received by the most welcoming staff. Dee at the reception went out of his way to settle my family and made a concerted effort to check on us during our stay. Facilities at resort were good, we enjoyed the restaurants, kids loved the pools & slides. Private pool in family suite was lovely to cool off late afternoons, out of the sun! the SPA is absolutely amazing - family promotions allowed kids to enjoy massages - everyone enjoyed the spa, including Granny & Grandad.
Corner balcony premium ocean view was well worth the extra cost, views were amazing and space was lovely for lazy in- room dining.
A lovely family holiday.

Room Tip: i cant imagine that there is any room that one could complain about??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FayeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Sawasdee FayeDC,
Thank you for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for sharing your lovely review.

It is a delight to read to read that you had a nice family holiday and enjoyed our facilities. I am glad Dee at reception took good care of you.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Centara grand phuket is a well run and managed resort nestled away at the northern tip of Karon. Staff are generally friendly, and most facilities are well maintained. The location is a double edged sword as its fantastic for anyone looking to stay away from the hustle and bustle of phuket, but its remote location means there is little to explore by foot.

As a family of 4 with 2 young children, we dined in the resort alot, sampling most of their menu. Food is a hit and miss at this resort as most western food here are at best average, while the Thai food here are generally well prepared and tasty.

As this is a large resort, be prepared for a fair bit of walking, depending on where your rooms are placed.

If you would like to travel further away from the resort, a shuttle service is provided to both karon and patong town. The in-house taxi service is relatively costly, compared to the taxis you get out on the street. If you would like to travel at a more reasonable rate, just befriend any of the public taxis who would gladly provide pickup services just a phone call away.

For all intents and purpose a fantastic resort to chill and unwind at with plenty of activities for everyone, but if you are looking to explore phuket, a more centralised and easilymaccessible location would be recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank cinemaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear cinemaxed,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.

Thank you for your kind feedback on staff and facilities. I am glad you found the Thai food well prepared and tasty and I will share your feedback on the western food with the kitchen.

Our location is secluded and perfect for families and couples aiming to relax at a resort with great facilities and direct access to the beach. At the same time our hotel is near the centre of Karon as well as Patong. However, as you mention, it all depends on what you are looking for. Some might prefer having the hustle and bustle directly at their doorstep.

Hopefully we can welcome you back at one of our hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 9 nights and we wish it would have been more. The hotel staff is excellent especially Mathiou (from Holland). Thanks for all the tips : ) . Their profecionalism gets 10/10. The hotel is well maintained and extremely beautiful. The gardens and the location are gorgeous. During our stay we felt continuously safe due to the presence of the very polite security guards. The chief security Mr Karn is a true profecional ... he even sent as personal photos of one of the events we participated. Though we traveled as a couple we noticed that the hotel culture is kids friendly.

Congratulations and many thanks to everyone that made our holidays unforgettable. Hope we will be back soon!

Room Tip: Premium deluxe ocean facing rooms have large corner balconies and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOTIRIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Sawasdee SOTIRIS P,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for sharing your holiday experience.

It is a delight to read your lovely comments about our staff. I will be sure to share your review with Karn, Mathiou and the Management team.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Recently stayed here for 9 nights and really enjoyed our stay in a deluxe premium ocean view room. Views were amazing and the spa on the balcony was wonderful! Be sure to request one of these rooms in block 9 which is directly in front of the beach and next to the pool. Service was pretty good everywhere except for the pool area where we felt they could have been more efficient and friendlier. All in al I would rate the service 4 star, not 5! I agree with some of the other reviews with regards to the food in the main restaurant... average. They had different theme night buffets every night and the food was generally okay but nothing to rave about. The Italian restaurant however was great and once we discovered this one we only ate here. Great service too!
The best thing about this resort was the kids facilities....the water slides amazing and best of all there was a life guard on duty at all times so we could leave the kids to it! The kids club offered wonderful arts and craft activities for a small fee and they also had a games room for the older kids. My boys, 7 and 9 had a fabulous time and for my husband and it was a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Andrea J,
Thank you for staying with us and for providing a review of your stay.

It is pleasing to read that food and service was great in Mare, our Italian restaurant. I am glad your children enjoyed the kids facilities and that you and your husband had a lovely relaxing holiday. I have also noted your feedback on service in the pool area and will address it with the food and beverage team.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We came here for our honeymoon and the majority of our stay was wonderful.
Check in was a breeze and staff were friendly and very helpful.
We stayed one night in the room we booked, as it had been set up beautifully to welcome us for our honeymoon. However, after a string of bad experiences (obvious water damage left an musty wet smell, cockroaches and electric blinds not working) we asked if it would be possible to move.
The staff were more than helpful and had us in an upgraded room within half an hour.
The grounds of the hotel are well kept. Breakfast was good (not spectacular but there were lots of options) and the pools were mainly clean (i'll get to that bit soon)
The only real let down for the hotel were other guests. Loud aggressive children running around at all times of the night. My husband and I were up at the luna bar playing pool when a boy, no more than 10 years old, attempted to muscle us off the table..really?! parents were no where to be found.
If you happen to grab a good sun chair at the main pool, people attempt to intimate you to leave. If you are a couple, just stick to the adults only pool.
The lazy river was fun right up until our last day. While sitting in one of the cabanas we noticed a rather large poo (for lack of a better word) floating by. Trying to communicate this to the staff was a little difficult, and when they did understand they just scooped it out after they spent 20 mins trying to locate it. No one was prevented from entering the river.

We'd probably come back to this hotel. over all we had a really lovely time. It's just a shame that other guests can be so entitled and rude.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lozza_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear lozza_3,
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay.

We are pleased to read that you had a lovely honeymoon with us in February and that our staff were friendly and helpful.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights with our three teenage kids and enjoyed it very much.

The view from the rooms was amazing. We enjoyed the various pool facilities a lot. The rooms were nice and the bathroom amazing. Breakfast was extremely rich and the best we had during our trip. The beach is nice, but we ended up being only at the pool which had so much to offer. My kids loved especially the jumping from the cliffs. The lazy river is very nice with many pleasant spots. The staff was very nice. We could have stayed for much longer.

Unfortunately the pool's main attractions were out of order during one of the two full days we had during our stay. Though we enjoyed this day as well, it was a pity. Do not know how common this problem is.

Another downside is the location which makes it a bit complicated to get to cheaper meals. You have to go either along the beach which the staff did not recommend during evening hours. We also had to pass through some water which might be sewage. The other option is to go along a central road with no sidewalk, which was very dangerous and got me nervous each time. Apart from that it was a 10 minutes walk to many restaurants.

I very much recommend this hotel to get some days of complete rest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inbal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Inbal R,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I am glad you liked the breakfast, the rooms and the pool facilities. I apologise for some facilities being out of order during one of your days. Procedures and routines are being reviewed to ensure that we can deliver an excellent holiday experience without inconveniencing our guests.

Thank you for recommending us. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel while we were in Phuket. Our room was amazing and the service of the staff was excellent. Buffet breakfast was so good however the other meals at the main restaurant were not that great. There is also an Italian restaurant there which had great food for lunch and dinner. The facilities of the resort were also great and it was only a short walk along in the beach into Karon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bonni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Bonni M,
Thank you for staying with us for your first holiday in Thailand and for providing a review of your stay.

I am pleased to read that you found the room amazing, the service excellent, the buffet breakfast good and Mare, our Italian restaurant, great for lunch as well as dinner.

Hopefully we can welcome you back for your next visit to Thailand.

Best wishes,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,197 reviews
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 334 in Patong
6,403 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $145 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, the five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is right on the sands at Karon Beach. The resort is backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own landscaped water park which features a meandering lazy river, waterslides, a kids’ pool with a waterslide, a cliff jumping platform, and an adults-only pool with its own pool bar. You will love the other exhilarating leisure activities on offer, including water sports (kayaking, windsurfing and sailing), snorkelling, tennis, and Muay Thai (Thai boxing). Diving can also be arranged, and there’s a fully-equipped fitness centre. Relaxation seekers will head to the award-winning Spa Cenvaree, a refuge for the senses which combines ancient healing practices that reflects Thailand’s wellbeing heritage with modern rejuvenation techniques to nurture and rebalance the body. The resort also has age-specific kids clubs, free Wi-Fi, and seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Each of the spacious rooms, suites and pool villas (49 to 209 square metres of total living space) is designed in a Sino-Portuguese décor and features a balcony or terrace with soothing views of the pools, the gardens or the sea. A number of rooms come equipped with an outdoor Jacuzzi while the suites comprise a plunge pool. Phuket International Airport is less than one hour by road from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing