We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Nearby Hotels
$90
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$165
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$190
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort(Kata Noi Beach)(Great Value!)
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Beyond Resort Karon(Karon)(Great Value!)
$149
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$257
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$37
$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,087)
Filter reviews
3,087 results
Traveler rating
1,766
839
295
106
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,766
839
295
106
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverluna barcove restaurantkids clubdeluxe pool suitewater slidesjumping rockcliff jumpadult poolthe club loungekaron townocean facingentertainment teampool facilitiescarpe diemseafood buffetmain pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,726 - 1,731 of 3,087 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are now ready to depart after a nice week on a top hotel/resort. Very good room,good restaurants,the nicest staff all over. We had one mistake with a meal,but it was solved to our satisfaction 110%.Staff always smiling and 100% concerned about our wellbeing.
Excellent hotel for families. Very nice pool area. Having a nice danceshow every night. Close to Karon city, a little bit longer to Patong (thats ok). Couples wanting romance will also love it.
Everything always clean,security was always taken care of. We recomend this Resort and hope to be back soon.
Best regards Egil Sørvær, Norway

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3 and 4 floor in building 6 will have a nice wiev to the sea and pools,but still be very quiet (637-647)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank egil_sorvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Sawasdee egil_sorvar,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience.

It is a great pleasure to read that the room and the restaurants were very good, and we appreciate your comments about nicest staff. I am delighted that you liked the pool and think that our resort is excellent for families.

Thank you for recommending us. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

After finally getting through Phuket immigration we were met by our pre arranged taxi from the hotel. He was very courteous, telling us how much longer we had to go and dishing out bottles of water - very welcome after being in the unairconditioned immigration hall!
When we got to the hotel we were given welcome drinks whilst we checked in. We were then showed to our rooms. We had booked 2 rooms which connect on the balcony so split ourselves up into 1 adult and 1 child in each room. The furniture on the balcony ( 2 wooden lounge chairs for each room) is very comfy but far too large for the space so there were many bruised legs by the end of the week! The view from the room was beautiful and the sunset amazing.
The rooms are a little tired and could do with a bit of sprucing up, for example the lampshades had mould spots on and the paint on the walls could do with redoing but it was clean and cleaned daily.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant each day, sitting outside. The choice was great and catered for all nationalities.
We also ate in the Italian restaurant and The Cove in the evening. The Italian was great and the different themed buffets in the Cove were also very tasty. My two boys loved the buffet, especially the desserts!
I read with interest an earlier review about the stone throwing during the evening performance. It was still going on. Having 2 children myself I have always made sure that they are respectful of others, but many children seemed to just be allowed to do whatever they wanted which then spoilt the performance for others. At one point a young Russian girl went on the stage area, stood behind one of the dancers and mimicked her. Her parents on the next table started laughing and thought it was highly amusing and only after someone else went over to move her got up from their seats to fetch her.
The location right on the beach is great, the only resort on this beach which is.
Taxis from the top of the road are easy to get. The hotel taxi desk was helpful, but the taxi back to the airport wasn't great as the driver thought he was Lewis Hamilton, took us not on the main road and one of my children ended up being sick.
We booked a boat trip from the hotel travel desk to James Bond Island and whilst it was obviously very busy, it was a great day out and the boat crew were great.
I also did the Thai Cooking Class. It was interesting, but a little tricky as the chef's English wasn't great and my Thai is very very basic!
The pool area was busy but not too crowded. The lifeguards were brilliant and my children loved jumping in from the rocks into the jumping pool and also using the water slide and lazy river.
Just in front of the hotel on the beach you can get a Thai Massage for 500 Baht. Find Noi as she was great.
We had an early start to the airport so had settled the bill the night before but on giving back our key on departure had extra charges from the minibar. As we were in a rush we decided not to question, but we know that we were charged twice for a few items.
All of the staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and smiley. This made for an extremely happy stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pinkchampagne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear pinkchampagne07,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. Pleasing to read you found the "view from the room was beautiful and the sunset amazing". Pleasing also to note that you "ate breakfast in the restaurant each day, sitting outside. The choice was great and catered for all nationalities" Iam sorry to read that your legs were bruised by walking into the balcony chair, we do have Premium rooms with larger balconys or we can re arrange your chairs to create more space.
Im pleased you also loved dining with us especially t the Italian restaurant and The Cove in the evening. "The Italian was great and the different themed buffets in the Cove were also very tasty". I am sorry to read of your disappointment that some children misbehaved however we have changed the location of the nightly performance and there is no more stones decorating this area. Great to read that you found our "lifeguards were brilliant and my children loved jumping in from the rocks into the jumping pool and also using the water slide and lazy river." I am sorry that your transfer service was not too your liking and we have already shared with the transfer company. Your final comments, please do let us know if you were double charged for something and we will immediately fix (you have my contact details already). Im delighted you loved our staff and had a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in Dec last year.we love the various type pools -slides, wave pool.
It is located abit far from kata area it took us about 25 mins walk to kata.
Beach is just a stone throw away with a number of sunbeds provided by hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBR-QualityManager, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Sawasdee Andrew 4666,
Thank your staying at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and for providing feedback on your stay.

I am pleased to read that you liked the various pools and the slides. Our hotel is located in a quiet and tranquil area just outside Karon and near Patong, if guests would like to visit a larger city with a lot of opportunities when it comes to for example shopping and dining. It is really quite simple to find transportation, and it also possible to walk down the hill into Karon. Our resort is ideal for guests who would like to spend their holiday near the beach in idyllic surroundings for a relaxing holiday and at the same time would like to spend some time exploring Phuket.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed late January 2014 and loved it. 2 families with 3 teenage kids and 10 year old. Such a beautiful location right on the beach which is just picturesque especially watching the sunset. Found the staff very friendly especially reception always happy to help with any enquiry. Loved the relaxing lazy river. Teenage boys & my husband loved jumping off the cliff. Pools and property very clean and well maintained. Idyllic location loved our stay and the weather was perfect hovered around 30 for our 7 day stay, not even a drop of rain. What can I say about the beach perfect, beautiful.The water temp was like stepping into a warm bath and crystal clear, loved it. One night we even let fly lucky lantern just beautiful watching it rise against a beautiful back drop. Enjoyed a wide selection of food at The Cove Buffet Breakfast during our stay. Also enjoyed a few meals at Mare Restaurant. First time to Phuket and glad we stayed in Karon away from the hectic Patong. Would highlty recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner jacuzzi suite with an amazing view in building 3 level 4, it was beautiful waking up to a breath taking view every morning
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoranYag70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Sawasdee GoranYag70

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay and trust you and the family had a pleasant journey back home to Melbourne . Great to read how much enjoyment you and your family experienced during your time with us and especially about the lazy river, jumping station, Cove Restaurant breakfast and the meals in Mare our Italian restaurant.

Safe travels and see you next time
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at this resort directly after staying at the Dusit Thani Laguna Resort, also in Phuket. Both were rated as 5 star resorts & both were absolute beach front with impressive sea views from most rooms.
We had mixed feelings with Grand Centara. Upon arrival the reception / foyer was crowded, no air conditioning & we had to wait for a receptionist to become available. There weren't even enough seats for us to sit down. Then the room type we booked & paid for (Premium Spa Deluxe) about 4 months prior was not available. They said they would upgrade us instead to a suite, but we'd have to wait till 4:30pm before it was available (check in is supposed to be 2pm).
The first night at about 3am when we were sleeping a bathroom pipe burst & within minutes our room was flooded. We tried phoning 24 reception over a period of about 5 minutes but no answer. Eventually I ran down to the reception foyer and after shouting for a further 5 minutes someone eventually came out of the back office area. We were put in a small room at about 4am. The next day we were upgraded to pool villa for the rest of our stay & refunded for the first night. So not a good start but looked promising.
That said, it is a beautiful beach front resort with wonderful pools (including water park) for kids & adults) with breath taking views from most rooms (certainly all 3 rooms we stayed at & the 4th that we were supposed to stay at had great views. The vila's views were a little more distant & speckled but made up for this in size, privacy & level of luxury. The location is great on the beach & only a few minutes from Patong but quite private. For views & facilities you could not fault, the rooms are generally big & very pleasant & the many ocean view rooms had views to die for.
But the foyer entry (which looks nice when no one is there) is inadequate in size & hot. The most disappointing part was service standards. It was very variable. There were staff that were very good, but then others that were far from it. And a 5 star hotel is required to have 24hour service.
Centara Management could look at Dusit Thani Laguna for consistantly impeccable service standards, where we were made to feel special from the moment of arrival to departure & nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Premium Deluxe spa rooms & Pool suites have big rooms, huge balconies & wonderful ocean from rooms. Vila's are bigger but ocean views are more distant & interrupted.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCPBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Sawasdee Bryan J,

Thanks for your review and it was a pleasure meeting you during your stay with us. As mention first time, I am truly sorry to hear about the first 24 hours of your stay but was happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the remaining part of the stay with us. Thank you for the comments on our facilities and views.

Thank you for the comments about our Premium Deluxe spa rooms, Pool suites and villas in the "Room tip section"

Safe travels,

Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews