We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel has A top location and excellent pool area,water slides and lazy river.The kids club is great as is the Italian restaurant Mare.The staff try very hard to please,although seem to be under pressure due to number of guests staying.The breakfast area "The Cove" was the busiest eating area I've encountered in my life and anywhere trying to pass as a 4 or 5 star resort needs to address this.The resort at first encounter is Pleasing but on closer inspection needs major maintenance and upgrading.Fandango shower that leaked like a sieve.Sliding doors to bathroom needed fixing twice etc.This was extremely perplexing the second time as it took 3 days and the four of us had to use the toilet in full view of each other whilst all suffering diahorrea and vomitting.This was not as a result of the Food.I have no doubt it was from the pool water as I never saw anyone doing any cleaning or vacuuming in the pool the whole 7 days of our stay.When you have young kids you are by the pool early till late you notice these things. Water pumps in the lazy river seemed to be off more than on.No doubt a staffing issue.I own a pool and water quality is paramount.We left early for a new start to our holiday and I have to say the help of the cleaning staff and especially the resident Manager was fantastic ie Doctors and Nursesin the last 2 days.However the damage had been done.4 or 5 star means current conditions of amenities.Not the start of the season with 25 percent capacity. Rated 3.5star with current capacity.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bathroom door that closes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mhrockstar

Thank you for your time on placing this review.
We are glad that you liked our location and facilities including water slides and Kids club.

The breakfast could be very busy when the hotel is running full house, we are sorry for this convenience.

The pools are being cleaned daily either in the evening after closing time or in the early morning – weather permitted.

Regarding to the maintenance issue, we are pleased to let you know that our renovation plan for guest rooms has started, we therefore are confident that we will be able to provide you with a more satisfying stay should you consider to stay with us again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    630
    235
    87
    62
See reviews for
1,084
732
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The first thing you should ask yourself is: Should I stay at a resort or not? If huge resorts are not your thing, then you should obviously not stay here. This place is huge and very "non-boutique". However, if a resort is what you are looking for, I can highly recommend the Centara Grand Beach (make sure you pick the right Centara; there are 3 in Karon Beach...).

Absolutely great for children with lots of things to do in the pool area (e.g. water slides, diving, and "Lazy river"), and also a large playroom if they need to get out of the sun.

Rooms are excellent, but beware some are in the hillsides about 100 meters from the beach front.

The two main restaurants are very good. One has Asian cuisine with special themes for dinner (e.g. seafood buffet, barbecue buffet), but you can alsways choose a la carte as well. The other restaurant is Italian. and the head chef is actually Italian, so this is the real thing. We celebrated a birthday one night in a chambre separee, and both the food and service level were fantastic.

Due to the large number of Russian guests, we noticed that some of the staff members where people who spoke Russian. Probably good if you come from Russia, but for us it took away some of the "superb Thai service feel", which is why we chose Thailand in the first place.

What impressed me the most though, is despite the size, the service we got was personal and outstanding.

Recommend trying the spa!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the rooms with a private pool, but we do recommend to og for the corner rooms, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AceF1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear AceF1969

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket.

We are extremely delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed our facilities during your stay. Your feedback is highly appreciated and has been passed on to the team.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having just returned from our Thailand holiday (April 2013) we were quite disappointed with our stay at Centara Grand, we split our stay between two resorts, the first in Patong and this, the second. We wanted to leave Thailand having stayed at a 5 star resort with all the perks, needless to say we did not find that here.

On first impressions, the reort is simply stunning, and although we knew in advance the sheer size of the resort, there was alot more stairs than we expected, which prooved quite difficult for one of our group members. As we arrived just prior to regular check-in there was some wait for one of our rooms and an even longer wait for our luggage once we gained entry.

Within 24 hours, both of our rooms had to be changed. The bathroom ceiling above the toilet leaked from the room above and after waiting quite a few hours for maintenance to arrive, the Duty Manager relocated us (with much discussion and refusal to go to buildings on the other side of the resort). We were placed in a smaller upgraded room with a pool, although this continued to still have problems. Yes, the mould and condition of the linen, but generally we must say besides the maintenace and one safety issue, the lack of housekeeping was extremely disappointing. One particular morning, all of our towells were taken, but not replaced and the bins and floors had not even been attended to. We received far better housekeeping in our 3 star resort in Patong than this resort.

Besides these few things which Im sure could be addressed in a short amount of time, the most concerning is the walkways, they are extremely slippery when it rains and very dangerous, most people that we spoke to had had either a near fall or witnessed people falling; again this could easily be corrected with non-slip matting along the many walkways. With all the seperate buildings, you cannot walk from your room to a dining area undercover.

As I mentioned, the issues which we experienced, could all be addressed and corrected quickly, should that occur, then the reort would be a fabulous resort to visit. The facilities for children are fabulous (just ensure they eat prior to attending kids club), the choices in restaurants although pricing are also fabulous. The grounds are beautiful and well kept, and the lazy river is simply gorgeous. Our concerns were addressed and replied to in a very prompt manner - but sadly it just should have been far better.

Room Tip: Buildings 2 and 3 seemed a good location and close to elevator - choose these if you want to try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear TravelBug6572

We are very sorry that you did not have entirely favourable impression of the resort. We apologise for the inconvenience of room move.

In regards to the lack of house keeping, we have brought this up to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper and the retraining programme is on process.
Thank you for your feedback and also for the positive note on the hotel facilities, foods and the grounds.

We are pleased to inform you that the maintenance renovation for the guest rooms has started. We look forward to having you back to experience these changes.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 nights as a group of four adults and two children aged 6 & 4yrs.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and in general this is a really lovely resort, it's at the end of Karon Beach which is lovely and quiet, the rooms are a good size with fab shower cleaned every day with a daily change of bedding unless you ask just for the bed to be made. The breakfast was really good and there was something for everyone from sweet to savoury and everything in between. The pools are fantastic along with the watersides and the staff working there can't be faulted. The grounds are beautifully planted and a pleasure to walk around.

There are some good restaurants in Karon and as mentioned by others you can get a tuk tuk for 200bht which is great fun, our favourites were Ging, Bai Toey and Papaya.

If I had any negatives to say it would be that the hotel is showing small signs of wear and tear, for example the jacuzzis in one of the pool don't work, there are wooden planks that need repairing & varnishing, it took one week to repair the children's pool for use (although there was an alternative so not the end of the world) and I just feel if these matters are not dealt with soon the hotel will become more run down as other problems crop up. This is the reason I've not given this a five rating.

Did the negatives spoil our holiday ...... Definitely not!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Jo S

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your comments regarding the hotel location, room, breakfast, facilities and our team members.

Your concern regarding maintenance will be resolved with our renovations programmes starting next week.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

A large resort ,more suitable for families with children.the resort is fairly spread out ,the block nearest the sea is No9 and is furthest from reception,blockNo1 is also near the sea and reception,but you may have road noise.The breakfast dining is not a relaxing affair,very large and busy room,thought food quality average to poor.On the plus side the club lounge was excellent,with good food selections throughout the day good friendly staff and comfortable surroundings.Did not use the pool area as to noisy,the beach was fine but some sun parasols were torn and looked tatty.Summing up 3star!!

Room Tip: Choose top floor block 9,nearest the sea and no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear VictorMidlands

Thank you for your review. We are glad that enjoyed the service and food at our Club Lounge.

However, we are sorry that you felt the quality of the breakfast was not good enough while the majority of our guests give positive feedback on its quality and variety, but it could be very busy during high occupancy level.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syd
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Firstly please be careful that you are reviewing the right resort as there are 3 centaras in the area. We stayed at the grand centara at the quiet end of karon beach for 12 nights with 2 children and had an amazing time. The pools are plentiful and the lazy river, slides and jumping rock are fun. We got a taxi from the top of the driveway into karon each night for 200bht and a tuk tuk back. It wouldn't take long to walk but my kids would moan and it was hot and humid. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The staff are kind and welcoming, we saw one of the wait staff out in kata beach one day and he invited us to join him and his friends for a pic nic beside the beach. The room was spotless and cleaned everyday. Kids club is a cool retreat for kids (need to be over 4yrs to stay without adult) and well stocked with books, ball pit, Lego, kitchen play and several wii's and ps3, staff are very friendly. The gym is good and kids muay thai lessons was fun. Food in the resort is a bit pricy but convenient. Happy hour is wel deserved at the end of the day. We would recommend this resort for couples and families

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Lesley M

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our team members, the cleanliness of the rooms, Kids Club, activities and recommending the hotel.

We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd hotel on our friends 50th birthday trip to Thailand. It should have been the best but we actually moved to another hotel after 2 days as it was so very disappointing. We arrived at 5pm on Saturday 13 April, it took over 3 hours and 8 rooms later to find one clean enough and even then we just took it because we were so tired. Mouldy lamp shades, mouldy showers, stained baths and bedding, stained walls, broken taps and towel rails, just a few of the problems (I have pictures)
The worst was black mould on the air con vents, as an asthma sufferer this was very concerning. The resort has an amazing location and grounds but all so run down and in need of refurbishment it should have a 3 star at most. We met with the manager Dennis as soon as we could and must say he was very helpful and apologetic but was unable help and so offered us a relocation to Le Meridian resort next door. This is definitely a 5 star resort, we loved it! The Centara need to spend some serious cash on their resort!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centara_Grand_Karon, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Janice W

Thank you for posting this review.

We are pleased that you eventually enjoyed your holiday in Phuket, we are just sorry that we were unable to provide that memorable holiday experience in our hotel. We did provide you with extensive compensation in respect of your room before you decided to move hotels but this was obviously not sufficient.

We are undertaking an extensive renovation programme, following a prolonged period of maximum occupancy, which will return our hotel to its previous splendour.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to show you the results.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is a modern five-star luxury resort built directly on the foreshores of Karon Beach. Designed with distinct Phuket colonial Sino-Portuguese architecture, the luxury accommodation comprises of 262 guestrooms and villas. All guestrooms have a balcony and are ocean facing. Room types consist of spa suites, pool suites, deluxe suites and one and two bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing