We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Nearby Hotels
$119
$107
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa(Karon)(Great Value!)
$137
$115
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beyond Resort Kata(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mom Tri's Villa Royale(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$195
$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort(Kata Noi Beach)(Great Value!)
$292
$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
$252
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,141)
Filter reviews
3,141 results
Traveler rating
1,800
851
301
108
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,800
851
301
108
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverluna barcove restaurantkids clubdeluxe pool suitewater slidesjumping rockcliff jumpadult poolthe club loungekaron townocean facingentertainment teampool facilitiescarpe diemseafood buffetmain pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,061 - 2,066 of 3,141 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is set right at the Northern tip of Karon beach, slightly away from the bustling town centre. Great views over the sea. Hotel clean and tidy and away from main roads.

Lovely room (was in black 8) with a fantastic bathroom.

Staff were happy to help with anything. Lazy river and pools were excellent. Breakfast was as would be expected - a large buffet catering to all tastes.

Downsides - Water from the taps not always the cleanest, sometimes did come out a bit yellow, not a huge problem for me, just used the bottled water (hotel provided 2 bottles each day). Apparently this is an issue with the local supply so not a lot the hotel can do about it. There is a large sewage pipe entering the sea next to the hotel, apparently this is safe treated water, but a little unnerving all the same. The pool/beach bars and the hotel restaurants were very expensive compared to everywhere else (even the other hotels restaurants/bars).

The hotel ran a shuttle into the town, but this was only once or twice a day and could have been more frequent (the walk to Karon town is not a particularly nice one! - either down a busy unlit road, or along the beach where you had to cross a stream so would get your feet wet!!)

Sounds like a lot of downsides compared to upsides but this really is a great hotel and I am just picking holes. I really enjoyed my two weeks here and would definetly go back. From what I saw of the other hotels in Karon this was is definetly the best.

Room Tip: Blocks 8+9 are apparently newer so should be better quality. All rooms have a sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Andrew R

Thank you for your very positive review. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and our facilities.

We do try and ensure that our prices are comparable to other similar hotels but obviously cheaper food can be found at local outlets.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We travelled as a family over New Year and had a fantastic experience from start to finish. The team of staff at this resort are a credit to the hotel from the restaurant staff to the fabulous life guards who knew our kids names within the first two hours of being at the pool and were great fun.

We stayed in a premium spa deluxe room above the pool which was very well positioned and nicely appointed. The restaurants were very good, especially the Italian restaurant which was superb and brought the children's meals out early as they were really hungry and getting tired.

The New Year's Eve party was a great event which took days for the hotel to pull together and involved many of the staff who has worked all day in other areas of the hotel but continued to give a smiling service right through to the early hours.

The water park kept the kids entertained every day, but it was the life guards down there that really made the experience at the pool. Ton, Boy and Nok keep the pool safe while making sure that those kids have fun, a big thank you to them from all of us.

Please don't be put off by some of the recent negative reviews especially about the staff here, we witnessed several fantastic members of staff being treated very disrespectfully by a couple of the guests, those members of staff were very professional in the way they handled these unacceptable out bursts. We found the staff here to be great and had no cause for complaint as they often went the extra mile.

One of many examples of the team going the extra mile:

One of the waiters at the pool restaurant noticed that my daughter had scraped her foot. He called over one of the managers who offered to take her over to the health centre for first aid, as she was just about to eat her lunch he called over one of the life guards instead who gave her first aid at the table so that she was ready to go back to enjoy the pool straight away.


Great atmosphere, great team and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool are fun for families.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 40trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear 40trip

Thank you for your tremendous review. Your wonderful comments regarding our hardworking and dedicated staff are very much appreciated and warmly welcomed by the staff.

Our Lifeguards are often the key to enjoying a safe but fun time for families and I will ensure your comments are passed on.

We are delighted you enjoyed your New Year stay with us. Come back soon!

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staying at Centara Grand was the best holiday my family has ever had. The hotel is fantastic and in a great area. We are trying to get back, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and especially families with children that are old enough to use the lazy river, cliff dive and water slides!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gjv12474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear gjv2474

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable time. Perhaps it wasn’t just the children who enjoyed the lazy river, cliff dive and slides?!!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having just stayed at this resort for 10 days, I have the following comments: while the rooms are beautiful, staff friendly and wonderful for kids, the service is really not good. The main problem with the service is the lack of English spoken by staff. This is portrayed as 5 star international hotel and as such staff need to be able to understand what guests are saying and requesting in order to provide good service. It was really frustrating when you asked for something and staff did not understand. Also, the hotel didn't have enough pool towels which is unacceptable and also ran out of chicken the one day, sweetener for coffee, diet coke at the pool bar and pizzas, also unacceptable for a 5 star hotel . The air conditioning seemed to be set on one temperature and was freezing and there is also an unpleasant smell in some areas of the hotel, especially outside the kids club. We are now at the centara in koh Samui and while the rooms are not great, the service and ambience is fantastic. If we return to Phuket, I don't think it will be to the centara.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Ian L

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the friendliness of the staff, the quality of our rooms and the excellent children’s facilities.

We apologise for the numerous supply issues. While delivery delays can occur, this should not occur so regularly in a 5 star resort and is a matter that is being addressed.

While there is room for improvement, the majority of our staff speak English to a sufficient level to carry out their role and this ability is reflected in the usual positive reviews. The staff are mainly exposed to English, Australian and American accents and can often find other accents difficult to understand. This is being addressed through training.

We are sorry you are not considering a return as a future visit would undoubtedly show many of your concerns had been addressed.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently spent 12 nights at this wonderful hotel. I would by no means call it a 5 star resort, as it by no means measures up to other 5 star resorts we have stayed in previously. A decent 4 star would be appropriate. We stayed in a deluxe pool room overlooking the "lazy river". Kids absolutely loved the hotels pool facilities, and the restaurants were all good, although much better value is to be enjoyed out in the streets. Hotel staff not up to 5 star standard though, but overall experience was good. Great situation on Karon beach, and close to all the best beaches, Kata being our favorite, and to Patong for a little nightlife and shopping. All round a fantastic holiday in Phuket.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Tony R

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt the resort was not up to your expectations of a 5 star hotel. We are however, delighted that you found your overall experience an enjoyable one.

Please visit us again and perhaps we can show you many of the improvements we are trying to implement.

Warm regards

Fongfa Eadjongdee
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews