We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #14 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Anyone who says this is the best hotel they have ever seen has not been to a proper 5 star hotel. We were meant to stay at the hotel for 6 nights, having spent the first 2 weeks of our stay in another part of Phuket. We stayed roughly 3 hours before checking out! Our first impression was the lobby, which was dated and not at all grand. The staff were unfriendly and the corridors seemed more suited to a hospital than an apparently luxury hotel. The room which was sold as a Deluxe Ocean View Room had absolutely nothing deluxe about it. In fact, it was filthy! There were dead insects lying around the floors and skirting boards. The skirting boards also had months worth of dust and hairs. The glass toilet door was smeared with dirty fingerprints and there was an awful stench throughout the room. There were also wires sticking out of the wall where some of the light-fittings were. Having a three year old with us; this was a serious safety concern, since they were within reach. On complaining; I was told I had "only booked a standard room'! On taking the complaint further with a manager, I was informed that we should go for a complimentary lunch, while they tried to come up with something better. The lunch didn't lift our mood any. It was extremely greasy with sloppy presentation. The restaurant did not up the stakes on cleanliness either. After seeing this and having a quick walk around the pool area, which looked like something from a 3 star 1980s hotel in Tenerife, we decided to leave. The best part of the short stay was the air conditioned departure in one of the hotels taxis. I can honestly say that the manager genuinely did seem concerned and tried to help us and avoid us leaving, but he could not have fixed the problems that were there. This hotel needs a major renovation to even be in with a chance of becoming a 5 star resort. The rooms look to be modern enough, but the luxury details are missing and I believe that cleanliness should never be an issue, whether you stay in 3,4 or 5 star hotels. I would never have imagined walking out of a 5 star hotel, but in this case it just was not an option to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fongfa, Guest Relations Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very for taking the time to place a review.

It is disappointing to read of your unhappy experience at our hotel, but perhaps it is a shame that you did not spend more time with us, so that the issues you raise could have been more properly addressed. If, as you said the room was in an unclean state and is need of repair, then I must apologise and assure you that this is not our normal standard.

Our staff are rewarded for their friendly and courteous approach to guests, so I am somewhat puzzled by the comment concerning “unfriendly staff”.

I agree that the lobby area is more functional than grand but the normal quality of service more than compensates for the lack of splendid decor.

Again it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your complimentary meal.

I agree that the cleanliness should not be an issue in any hotel but all the tropical locations the occasional insect or small lizard cannot be avoided.

It is unfortunate that our manager could not persuade you to stay to allow us to show you a true picture of the hotel.

Warm regards
Fongfa Eadjongdee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,504
    721
    268
    98
    73
See reviews for
1,284
853
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had 8 nights at the hotel and I never wanted to leave. Room was perfect food was great and the service was fantastic. Great pool area for all the family. Would stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone who is looking to have a great holiday. Thanks Grand Centara.

Room Tip: Block 8 or 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sherron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Centara Grand Resort at Karon Beach for 9 nights. This was our first time to visit Thailand and also our first visit to any of the Centara group of resorts.

The resort is located in a very nice location with a private beach in Karon which is 10 min drive from Patong. There are taxi services at the front of the resort. Also, car rentals are offered via the resort. Our room was number 621, The Premium Deluxe Ocean Facing room had pool views and (partly) ocean view.

Cleanliness & service is great in this resort. Our room was cleaned twice a day. In the morning, we had clean sheets, clean towels, clean bathroom & 4 sealed bottles of water (drinking and brushing teeth) & fruit plate. In the afternoon, service will come to turn down the bed, sometimes they leave a lovely note or a flower on the bed, we also get little cheese platter or dessert in the afternoon.

"Swatee Ka or Swatee Kub" ( thats Hello in Thai ) from every staff who will greet you with a lovely smile and very polite attitude.

I had a Spa credit which I have used. It was a bit dearer compared to outside prices however the great service & professional massage skills they offer in the spa club were worth the extra money.

We had breakfast everyday in the resort and the food is amazing ... enough to fill you to dinner! You name it , it was on the morning buffet. We also tried the Italian restuarant and it was a great meal.

I have to mention that we both got sick from eating at a local night market. Although this was not the fault of the resort, when they knew, they provided us with access to an in-house nurse and a doctor to the room . The staff were very caring. They provided us with a room service meal (at no cost). They continually called us to ask about us and we had flowers and a "get well soon" card from them. How lovely !!!

Overall, we would rate this resort as excellent. Great location, service and facilities. Just a couple of suggestion...free wi-fi in the rooms would be good. Softer mattresses would also be good and fresh milk in the room each day would help.

Thank you for a fantastic holiday and for all your care and attention to detail. We would love to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its a hotel that you can easily see yourself staying in for a few weeks and not realising where time went. There is so much to do if you can get yourself out of the pool. The kids, ours was only 2 yrs old, loved the pool and the kids club. The staff are great and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, although we would have liked to have got one slightly closer to the pool rather than the one farthest away. Moving around with a stroller did get a little challenging at times. I have to say that the breakfast is one of the most amazing that i have come across. Such a vast selection of food, something for everyone. The only negative point that i would make is the lack of vegetarian options on their menus. The also need to also be more flexible with being able to make meals for kids. They are unable to make a half sized portion at half the price for a child but instead were ok to see the remaining half go to waste. Club benefits are great, no vegetarian options here either but they fixed that after the first day or so. This could be looked at and improved. These are minor things but overall, we had a great time and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vish1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

i was a bit worried when i read some of the comments , but i can only think they were mixing up hotels as there are a lot of Centaras in Thailand. This resort is stunning.

The rooms are spotless, modern and well designed. The resort itself is beautiful, with so many pools you can share yourself around. The lazy river a real bonus . Plenty for kids of all ages to do. Even an adults only pool and bar if you feel like a quiet drink/swim.

The restaurant was a real bonus too. The food varied , tasty and very reasonable. I was eating lobster for equivalent $12 aussie dollars. Buffet breakfast, well ,you had to see it for yourself. Every taste is catered for, i have never seen a buffet to rival it for choice.

Lovely roof top bar, great for watching sunsets, sipping a cocktail.

Great location right on the beach (only two hotels in Karon can boast this) and only a short walk to shops or some great restaurants. 10 mins from Patong, 2 mins from Karon.

The staff were very friendly, the Thai people in general are just lovely.

Room Tip: rooms all have water/pool view, it is an option to have your own pool for some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suemettam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket during 2 years time! We spent 7 days (from Oct 14 to 20) at the hotel & just didn't want to leave... ! Friendly staff : Front Office Manager (Roong), Sales Manager (Fongfa), (Front Office staff) Beedee & Oil, (The Cove) Jaeb , Transportation booking staff (the gentleman, I'm not sure his name but we've met him during the previous trips in the hotel) & House Keeping staff have been helpful & efficiency! Food & beverage just excellent especially the breakfast buffet! We never miss it during our stay! Those comfortable rooms are facing Andaman sea with lovely view makes you feel good! We saw fire works on the beach few nights during our stay & that's totally awesome! We went to Kata by taxi then walked back on foot afterwards & we're really enjoying the experience! The hotel is suitable for all sorts of visitors with expanding facilities & perfect environment! Actually, we're planning for our 4th visit at Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket next month! Told you already, just can't resist to keep going back!

Room Tip: Block 6, 7 or 8 on higher floors would have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wai Kit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just got home after spending 10 days at Centara and we want to jump on a plane and go back! We have a 2 yr old and booked the Deluxe Spa Room, we had problems with our room at check in as they only gave us 1 bed but this got sorted in a matter of minutes and before we knew it we had 2 beds. The room was great and had an amazing view, they also got cleaned and serviced daily. My son loved the daily top up of the fruit bowl, plus all the other little gifts they left for us. The beach was beautiful and so clean, and the pools are just great. At the start we ate at the resort, but I would recommend venturing down to Karon as they have cheap yummy restaurants, you can walk otherwise it's only 200 baht taxi and 2 mins down the road.
I read alot of reviews before we left and was worried and didn't know what to expect as alot of people have whinged about discoloured water, hard beds, smells etc. Honestly the beds are firm but absolutely fine, the water was clear, and yes there is a smell sometimes but you are in Thailand and this comes with the territory, seriously you need to try this place... it is really high quality and the staff and people are just so lovely. Oh and I must mention the Breakfast, it is to die for, such an extensive choice of food, make sure you get this included in your package, it is so worth it. We loved this resort so much we have already gotten prices from our travel agent for next year, we'll be back for sure! Thank you Centara for a wonderful holiday!!!

Room Tip: Even though our room was great with the spa on the balcony, it is really too hot to be sitting it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
20.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#7 Spa Hotel in Karon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#22 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the classic Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is set directly on the sands at Karon Beach, backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own water park. The resort offers a memorable holiday experience for everyone: couples and families will love the exhilarating leisure activities, the water sports, and of course the water park, and corporate and incentive groups have fine meeting facilities. The accommodation offers a comforting and relaxing ambience for all, and for guests preferring seclusion, the villas provide exclusivity along with great views, and come with the Club category benefits. The award-winning spa, SPA Cenvaree, is a luxurious treat that everyone will enjoy, and has suites for singles and couples. The drive to and from Phuket International Airport is easy and convenient, and takes less than one hour by road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing